Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Emory University History: Administration

This guide includes descriptions of resources from Emory University Archives as well as manuscript collections related to the history of Emory University.

discoverE Search Terms for Emory University Archives

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections, and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Helpful search terms for Rose Library collections:

"Emory University--Faculty"

"Emory University--Students"

"Emory University--Students--Socities"

"Emory College--Administration"

Administrative Records

These collections pertain to the administration of Emory University and overarching organizations of potential interest to researchers studying Emory history as a whole.

Emory University Board of Trustee records, 1914-2010 (Series No. 39)
25.25 linear ft. (55 boxes), 1 oversized paper (OP), and 98 bound volumes (BV)
Records of the Emory University Board of Trustees include meeting minutes; reports to the Board of Trustees from the University President and working committees; and administrative materials including awards, bylaws and charters, clippings, public statements, and membership rosters. Records relate to university finances, campus planning, student life, faculty appointments, and other issues.

Emory University Office of the Registrar records, 1917-1972 (Series No. 120)
109 linear ft. (111 boxes)
The collection contains subject files from the Office of the Registrar, which is responsible for maintaing student academic and enrollment records.

Emory University faculty records, 1917-2002 (Series No. 21)
4 linear ft. (8 boxes) and 3 bound volumes (BV)
The records of the Emory University Faculty document the faculty's role in the administration of the University. The records consist of by-laws, handbooks, minutes, subject files, and committee records. There is also information concerning faculty awards and chairs.

Emory College of Arts and Sciences Office of the Dean records, 1919-1998 (Series No. 84)
11 linear ft. (23 boxes)
The collection contains records from the Office of the Dean of Emory College of Arts and Sciences, as well as materials related to Graduate School governance, such as annual reports, minutes, correspondence, faculty information, subject files, and visual materials. Notable topics and events represented in the collection include coeducation, racial integration, faculty member J. J. Altizer and his "God is Dead" theology, student protests and subsequent court trials in the 1970s, and departmental formations and reorganizations.

Emory University Woman's Club records, 1919-2009 (Series No. 34)
14 linear ft. (21 boxes), 16 bound volumes (BV), and 1 oversize paper folder (OP)
The Emory University Woman's Club records document the activities of the club beginning with Emory College's move to Atlanta. The records include administrative materials, financial records, minutes, subject files, publications, and scrapbooks.

Emory University General Libraries records, 1923-2011 (Series No. 22)
28.5 linear ft. (62 boxes), 9 bound volumes (BV), and 1 oversize paper folder (OP)
The collection consists of correspondence, administrative records, policies and procedures, publications, financial records, annual reports, statistics, and other items related to the Emory University General Libraries and to divisions, departments, committees and other entities thereof. Records relate to departments of acquisitions, circulation, reference, public programming and exhibits, special collections, serials, and development; the General Libraries Employee Advisory Committee (GLEAC); Friends of the Emory University Libraries; library publications including Ex Libris, produced by the Friends of Emory University Libraries, and Sources and Reprints; and the Lewis H. Beck Center for Electronic Collections.

Emory University President's Office Annual Reports to the President, 1925-2003 (Series No. 18)
45.75 linear ft. (98 boxes)
Contains annual reports of Emory University schools, offices, administrators, student organizations, and other bodies received by the Office of the President.

Emory University Senate records, 1927-2005 (bulk 1950-2005) (Series No. 29)
11.5 linear ft. (23 boxes) and web sites
Records of the University Senate, an advisory body to the University President comprised of faculty, staff and students at Emory University, include administrative records, subject files, financial records, correspondence, membership lists, by-laws, meeting minutes, and other items related to the work of the Senate. Records concern honorary degrees, athletics, student activities and conduct, transportation and parking, campus development, educational policy, and other campus issues. The collection also includes a few items from the Senate's institutional predecessors at Emory University, the Council of Deans and the University Council, and also the records of the Faculty Council.

Emory University Administrative Council records, 1928-1989 (Series No. 96)
.5 linear ft. (1 box) and 3 bound volumes (BV)
The Administrative Council has at times been both a legislative body and an advisory group to the President of Emory University. The records of the Administrative Council include minutes, memoranda, administrative organizational charts, and a committee report.

American Association of University Professors, Emory University chapter records, 1930-1980 (Series No. 41)
5 linear ft. (10 boxes)
Collection includes meeting minutes, financial documents, files related to academic freedom infringement cases presented to the American Association of University Professors, and other records of the Emory University chapter of the American Association of University Professors.

Emory University Office of the President records, 1930-1996 (Series No. 62)
127.75 linear ft. (129 boxes) and 1 oversize paper folder (OP)
This collection consists records and files from the Office of the President of Emory University.

Emory University Office of the Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration files, 1931-2002 (bulk 1989-2001) (Series No. 118) 
28.5 linear ft. (29 boxes) and web sites
The collection includes files of the Executive Vice President for Finance and Administrationat Emory University. Files relate to various financial committees, audits, budgets, endowment and investment funds, executive compensation, and other topics.

Emory University News Center records, 1934-2000 (Series No. 160)
11.75 linear ft. (25 boxes) and web sites
Records are chiefly subject files of press releases, promotional materials, photographs, and biographical information collected on Emory University topics, events, and people by the Emory News Center—previously called the News Bureau, Information Services office, and News Services office—a University office responsible for communications and public and media relations.

Emory University Employee Council records, 1969-2009 (Series No. 20)
12 linear ft. (19 boxes) and web sites
Collection contains the records of the Emory University Employee Council, an advisory group to the President of the University, and includes general records, minutes and agenda, committee and sub-committee materials, publications, and subject files.

Emory University Office of the Secretary records, 1980-2000 (Series No. 146)
82.75 linear ft. (90 boxes)
The collection includes correspondence, subject files, and other records of the Office of the Secretary of Emory University.

Emory University Office of the Provost records, 1990-2000 (Series No. 162)
54.5 linear ft. (56 boxes)
The collection contains administrative records and subject files of the Office of the Provost at Emory University and documents the Provost's responsibilities as principal academic officer of the University.

Contact Information

Profile Photo
John Bence
Contact:
Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-9123
jbence@emory.edu
Website
Contact: Twitter Page