Emory University History: Administration/Board of Trustees

Andrew, Methodist bishop and author, was made a deacon (1814), an elder (1816), and a bishop (1832) in the Methodist Episcopal Church; was a trustee of the Manual Labor School in Covington, Georgia, (1836); and president of the board of trustees of Emory College (1838-1870). Southern pastors, who protested when Andrew was asked to resign his bishopric because his wife owned slaves, formed the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1845) with Andrew as a bishop. The collection consists of eleven letters from 1813-1848. The early letters (1813-1828) are between James Osgood Andrew and his parents, John and Mary Andrew. These letters contain information on the family as well as some insight into church matters. The rest of the letters were written by Andrew to Bishop William May Wrightman from 1844-1848. At the time Wrightman was director of the Southern Methodist printing concern. The letters tell of the publishing that Andrew did as well as give information on his activities immediately following the split of the Methodist Church.
Related collections in MARBL: Robert Watkins Lovett papers

The collection consists of correspondence, diaries and journals, account books, notebooks, record books and sermons, photographs, clippings, wills, and photographs produced or collected by the Burge and related families from 1832-1952. Dolly Sumner Lunt (1817-1891) married three times: Samuel Harding Brown Lewis (1838), Thomas Burge (1850), and William Justice Parks (1866). After marrying Parks, she moved to his home in Oxford, Georgia. Parks (1799-1873), known as “Uncle Billy,” was born in Franklin County, Georgia, and was licensed to preach in the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1821. He was a delegate to all General Conferences during his lifetime. For eight years, he served as financial agent of Emory College and was a charter member of the Board of Trustees. By early 1872, Parks was completely paralyzed, leading to his death in 1873 in Oxford, Georgia. Dolly’s daughter Sarah married Rev. John Davis Gray, who had graduated from Emory College in 1872. Correspondence in the collection includes discussions of education at Emory College. Dolly kept a diary during her time in Oxford. The collection also includes photographs of the family.

Callaway was president of Andrew Female College in Cuthbert, Georgia (1858-1862), served in the Confederate Army's Company B, 11th Battalion, Georgia Artillery as a first lieutenant and acting chaplain (1862-1865), became president of LaGrange Female College in LeGrange, Georgia (1869-1871), and was a professor and vice-president of Emory College (1871-1882). The papers do not contain any materials from his time at Emory.

After studying medicine, Candler (1878-1957) went into business with his father, Asa Griggs Candler, succeeding him as president of the Coca-Cola Company in 1916. He was again president (1920-1923) and a director of the company (1917-1957); a director of the bank Trust Company of Georgia; and chairman of the Board of Trustees of Emory University (1929-1957). He was an organizer of the Atlanta Summer Opera Association, and he and his wife, Flora Harper Glenn Candler, were active participants in the Atlanta Opera Guild, the Atlanta Music Festival Association, and the Emory University music community. He also wrote a biography of his father which was published in 1950. His papers include correspondence, publications, clippings, photographs, manuscript drafts, and memorabilia. Correspondence of Charles Howard Candler relates to opera in Atlanta; to his biography of his father, Asa Griggs Candler; and to the Candler family. Correspondence of Asa Griggs Candler (collected for the biography) is written to family members. Publications (brochures, programs, periodicals, pamphlets) and clippings relate to music in Atlanta and to Emory University. Drafts are of the biography of Asa Griggs Candler. Files of information about and photographs of Charles Howard Candler, his family, and their home Callanwolde are also included.
Related collections in MARBL: Asa Griggs Candler papers, the Walter Turner Candler papers, the Warren A. Candler papers, and the Candler Family collection.

Candler (1857-1941) graduated from Emory College (A.B., 1875; A.M., 1878); served various circuits in the North Georgia Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1875-1886); married Sarah Antoinette (Nettie) Curtright (1877); was appointed editor of the CHRISTIAN ADVOCATE (1886); was elected President of Emory College (1888); and was elected a Methodist bishop (1898). His papers include correspondence, subject files, writings, financial records, appointment books, notebooks, scrapbooks, clippings, photographs, miscellaneous papers and memorabilia produced or collected by Warren A. Candler, clergyman, editor, and educator. Most correspondence is official in nature and reflects the various positions Candler held, 1877-1934, related to the Methodist Church. Topics include the organization of Emory University in Atlanta; mission work in Cuba, Mexico, and Asia; rights for women and blacks, and anti-lynching campaigns, women's suffrage, prohibition, and the Democratic nomination of Alfred E. Smith in 1928. Also included are Emory College financial correspondence and records (1887-1915) and family letters. Correspondents include prominent members of the Methodist Church and the Atlanta business community.
Related collections in MARBL: Young John Allen papers; Asa Griggs Candler papers; Charles Howard Candler papers; Walter Turner Candler papers; Candler Family papers; Harvey Warren Cox papers; James Edward Dickey papers; Charles Betts Galloway papers; Corra Harris papers; Atticus Greene Haygood papers; and Harry Harlan Stone Pappers.
Related collections in Emory University Archives: The records of Candler's service as financial secretary of Emory College are with the EUA. See also the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Educational Commission records.

Clark was born in Savannah and educated in New England. He returned to Savannah, where he was admitted to the Georgia bar (1853) and was ordained in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1854). He became financial agent for Emory College (1867-1871). He and his family settled in Macon, Georgia, where he served as presiding elder of the South Georgia Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1875-1894). His papers include correspondence, photographs, clippings, sermons, poems, manuscripts and typescripts, construction drawings, biographies, sheet music, and reminiscences. Personal and official correspondence includes letters from Clark to his second wife Ella Anderson Clark, documenting his daily activities, travels, and work, including letters of Clark's ancestors (1807-1848) and letters related to Clark's employment at Emory College. Manuscripts are of Clark's writings, in holograph and in typescript.

Cox (1875-1944) was president of Emory University from 1920-1942. His papers chiefly consist of correspondence, reports, speeches, clippings, printed material, and photos, relating to Cox's tenure (1920-1942) as president of Emory University; together with correspondence, case files, and printed material relating to Atlanta Regional Labor Board, on which Cox served as vice-chairman (1934-1935), and National Labor Relations Board, and material relating to the Cox family and Civil War service of Christopher Columbus Cox in 34th Illinois Infantry Regiment. Correspondents include Martha Berry, Corra Harris, Herbert Hoover, John M. McCandless, Arthur J. Moore, Raymond B. Nixon, Franklin Nutting Palmer, and Richard B. Russell.

Dickey attended Emory College (B.A. 1891), and taught there (1891-1899); was pastor of Atlanta's Grace Methodist Church (1899), First Methodist Church of Atlanta (1915-1920), and First Methodist Church of Griffin, Georgia (1921); was president of Emory College (1902-1915); and was Bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1922-1928). The papers consist of correspondence, speeches and addresses, sermon notes (1915-1920), and testimonials. Most materials relate to Emory College. Correspondence dates from Dickey's college presidency; speeches were delivered by Dickey at commencement and baccalaureate services; two letters and testimonials concern the campaign to build the Related Allen Memorial Chapel (later became Allen Memorial United Methodist Church) in Oxford, Georgia.
Related collections in MARBL: Elam F. Dempsey papers, Warren A. Candler papers.

Durham (1873-1930) was a first lieutenant in the Spanish-American War, a founder of the Christian Council of Atlanta, a participant in several inter-racial committees in the South, first dean of the Candler School of Theology of Emory University (1914-1918), and the negotiator of a settlement between the Stone Mountain Confederate Monumental Association and the Venable family regarding the sculpting of Stone Mountain. The papers consist of correspondence and a resolution. Two letters to Durham concern his education at Union Theological Seminary; one letter pertains to a friend's army commission; a notice (1917) from Warren A. Candler to Emory University states that Durham acts as chancellor in his absence; the letter from Secretary of War Newton Diehl Baker mentions the Inter-Racial Commission and a proposed speaking tour of the South; one letter of sympathy is to Durham'w wife. The resolution was passed by Columbia Seminary upon Durham's death.
Related collections in MARBL: Stone Mountain Collection and the Emory University Archives (Biographical Files).

Harrell (1885-1971) became a bishop of the Southeastern Jurisdiction of the Methodist Church in 1944, was a visiting professor at Candler School of Theology, member of Emory University Board of Trustees (1931-1964), a member of the Methodist Uniting Conference (1939), and author of many articles and fourteen books related to Methodism and Christianity. Correspondence, newsclippings, articles, manuscripts, printed materials, photographs, notebooks, and family-related materials. Materials were produced by or collected by Harrell and concern his writings, his association with the Methodist Church and Emory University, his family, and race relations; notebooks contain his sermans, notes, addresses, and clippings; family materials include legal and financial papers, information on Julius Walden Harrell (son of C.J. and Amy Harrell), an autograph book belonging to Willie Olmsted (a Walden ancestor), and photographs. Printed materials include Harrell's writings, Methodist Church materials, book reviews, and newsclippings.

Ordained in 1858, Haygood (1839-1936) served as a chaplain for the Confederate army during the Civil War; was appointed editor of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South's Sunday school publications (1870); and served as president of Emory College (1875-1884), where he introduced the teaching of modern languages, law, and business courses. He edited the WESLEYAN CHRISTIAN ADVOCATE (1878-1884); was appointed the first agent for the John F. Slate Fund for Negro Education in the South (1882); was elected bishop (1890); served the Los Angeles Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South; wrote more than thirteen books (1872-1895); and was a chief spokesman for the "New South" doctrine. The papers include manuscripts, clippings, correspondence, notes, a diary-letter book, genealogies, photographs, and memorabilia. Manuscripts are of Haygood's sermons and addresses; clippings are news articles by or about Haygood or his writing; notes are by Dr. Marion Lofton Smith for his 1929 dissertation on Haygood; photographs are of Bishop Haygood, his family, and the Emory College faculty; correspondence (7 items) is to and from Haygood. A letter from Richard Malcolm Johnston concerns Johnston's friendship with Methodist Bishop George Foster Pierce. Other materials include Haygood's Bishop's seal, Bible, student composition book, and a Civil War pass; a diary-letter book (1864-1868) of Haygood's sister, Laura Askew Haygood, written prior to her service as a missionary; files regarding his daughter, Mamie Haygood Ardis; certificates; and genealogical information about the Haygood family.
Related collections in MARBL: Warren A. Candler papers and the Haygood Family Genealogical Collection. Records relating to Haygood's service as President of Emory College are in the Emory Archives.

Jones (1913-2001), president of the Robert W. Woodruff foundation, Emory University Vice President and professor of Political Science, and Emory University graduate. The collection contains the personal and professional papers of Boisfeuillet Jones. The papers include files relating to his work in the Health, Education, and Welfare Department of the United States, reading files and clippings, and subject files concerning his work at Emory University.

Longstreet’s sketches of late eighteenth cetury Georgia life, GEORGIA SCENES, appeared in Georgia newspapers (1833-1836), but later his writings were more political or religious. He was ordained a Methodist minister (1838) and became president of four Southern colleges: Emory College (1839-1848), Centenary College in Jackson, La. (1849), the University of Mississippi (1849-1856), and South Carolina College (1858-1861; now the University of South Carolina). The papers include a notebook (also on microfilm copy), letters, printed material, photocopied reports, a photograph, and a rubbing. The notebook contains writings by Longstreet on various subjects with Biblical references; printed materials include his Emory College inaugural address, another address about him, and articles about him or his book, GEORGIA SCENES. One letter is from John D. Wade concerning the notebook, others are from Longstreet to Julia P. Mann; reports are Longstreet's as president of South Carolina College; the rubbing is of Longstreet's tombstone; a color photograph is of Longstreet's home in Oxford, Mississippi.
Related materials in the Emory University Archives: records related to Longstreet's service as president of Emory College are in the Emory University Archives.

Robert C. Mizell was a graduate of Emory University who later held several administrative offices at the University, including director of development. Mizell was also a businessman and heavily involved in Atlanta civic organizations and commissions.
The collection consists of the office files of Robert C. Mizell, including correspondence, writings, and other items chiefly related to the administration of Emory University and few items related to civic matters in Atlanta, Ga.

The Lemuel Madison Park papers consist mainly of correspondence and business records of Lemuel and his brother, Robert Emory Park. Lemuel (1846-1916) was the son of Major John Park, the founder of LaGrange Female College and a charter member of the Emory College Board of Trustees. Robert (1843-1904) was an 1860 graduate of Emory College and a Civil War veteran. Following the war, Robert taught for a year at Tuskegee High School, became principal at Lucas Institute, Mount Meigs, Alabama, and then principal of LaGrange High School. In 1872, he moved to Macon, Georgia, to take a position with a publishing company. From 1886 on he was a Trustee of Emory College and from 1900 until his death he served as Georgia's State Treasurer. Series 2 includes personal papers of Robert Park concerning his term as Georgia State Treasurer, his book about the 12th Alabama Regiment of the Confederate States of America, his service on the finance committee of the Emory College Board of Trustees, and diplomas and certificates awarded to him.

Clyde "Doc" Partin, Sr. (1925-2009), served as Emory University's Athletic Director from 1966-1983. From 1986-2002, Partin taught physical education at the University. He is the author of Athletics for All: The History of Sports at Emory, a book on the history of Emory athletics, published in 2006. Partin also wrote articles and presented papers on the history of sports and important sports figures, such as baseball players Earle Combs, Hank Aaron and Babe Ruth. He was also particularly interested in the Atlanta Braves (baseball) and the Atlanta Chiefs (soccer).
The collection consists of the papers of Clyde Partin, Sr., including his correspondence, photographs, printed material, research material, audiovisual material, and writings. The research material includes clippings and other printed material concerning baseball stars Hank Aaron, Earle Combs, and Babe Ruth, and sports teams such as the Atlanta Braves and the Atlanta Chiefs.

Paty (1896-1957) established the Cumberland Mountains School (1921); was a professor of Bible and religious education (1929) and Dean of Men (1933-1935) at Emory University, president of Birmingham-Southern College (1938-1942) and the University of Alabama (1942-1946), Chancellor of the University System of Georgia (1947-1948), public relations director of Rich's, Inc. and executive director of the Rich Foundation (1948-1952); and was appointed to the board of directors of the Tennessee Valley Authority (1952-1957). The papers include newspaper clippings and articles, photographs, biographical material, and correspondence. Clippings and articles cover Paty's career (1930-1955); photographs are of Paty and his family; biographical material is on Paty; most correspondence pertains to the Emory University Alumni Association.

Pierce was a Methodist clergyman and physician and the son of Lovick Pierce (1785-1879), another noted Methodist leader. He was admitted into the Georgia Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church (1831); became president of Emory College (1848); and was elected bishop in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1854). The papers consist of a diary (1872) compiled by Dr. Lovick Pierce and a pocket record book (1873-1875) kept by his son, Bishop George F. Pierce.

Thomson (1867-1956) began his law career in his father's Atlanta, Georgia, firm, Candler and Thomson, and later became a partner in the firms Thomson and Hirsch (1906-1928; became Candler, Thomson, and Hirsch) and Tye, Thomson, and Tye (1928-1952). He was active in banking and served as president of Atlanta Title and Trust Company, and as board member of Citizens and Southern National Bank. Thomson was one of the founders of Emory University and was a member of the board of trustees (1915-1952) and dean of the law school (1916-1919, 1948-1949). He was also an organizer of Tate Educational Enterprises, which set up vocational, industrial, and academic training schools for boys and girls. His papers consist of clippings, speeches, articles, correspondence, minutes, bylaws, scrapbook. Most materials relate to Thomson's personal life and professional career, including his Emory University involvement. The scrapbook (1914-1936) includes letters, clippings, invitations, etc. and pertains to Emory University. Minutes, bylaws, and some correspondence are related to Tate Educational Enterprises.

Judson C. Ward (1912-2009), Emory University Executive Vice President. Ward received both a BA and a MA from Emory. He earned his doctorate in history from the University of North Carolina. He taught at Fitzgerald High School, Birmingham-Southern College, and the Georgia Teachers College (now Georgia Southern University), where he also served as the College President. At Emory, Ward was a professor of Georgia history, dean of the undergraduate liberal arts college, vice president and dean of faculties, and executive vice president.
The collection includes files, chiefly correspondence and memoranda, of Judson C. Ward kept during his tenure as both Emory University Vice President and Dean of Faculties. Files relate to Emory schools and departments various aspects of University administration and planning. Notable topics and events documented in the files include Emory University desegregation and race relations, student unrest and Vietnam War era protests of the Emory Air Force ROTC, and capital fundraising efforts. There are also a few items related to Ward's other interests and involvements, including his membership in the Sigma Pi fraternity.

Robert Fleming Whitaker (b. 1904) received his undergraduate and law degrees from Emory University in 1926 and 1927, respectively. He later became assistant to president Harvey Warren Cox and held other administrative positions at the University. The collection includes the unprocessed papers of Robert F. Whitaker in his role as assistant to president Harvey Warren Cox and other administrative positions at Emory University.

Goodrich Cook White (1889-1979) graduated in 1908 from Emory College in Oxford, Ga, and was a member in the senior honor society, D.V.S. After receiving a master’s degree in psychology from Columbia University in 1911, he thaught English and psychology at Kentucky Wesleyan College (1911-1913) and psychology and education at Wesleyan College (1913-1914). In 1914 he returned to Emory College as a faculty member, leaving temporarily for army service in 1918 and further graduate work leading to a Ph.D. awarded by the University of Chicago in 1927.

White was professor of mental and moral science, Emory College, 1914-1918; associate professor of psychology, 1919-1920 and professor of psychology, 1920-1942, Emory University. He began his administrative work as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, 1923-1938, and Dean of the Graduate School, 1929-1942. White served as Vice President of the University from 1938 to 1942, when he became President. He retired as President August, 31, 1957 and the next day assumed the position of Chancellor, which he held until his death on April 12, 1979.
The Goodrich C. White papers include personal correspondence related to his various postitions at Emory University as college dean, graduate school dean, president, and chancellor; general correspondence that combines folders he maintained titled "general" and "miscellaneous"; speeches given at Emory and elsewhere; writings; financial correspondence and records that include materials relating to both his personal and professional lives; biographical materials from his undergradute and graduate studies, his military services, as well materials relating to his family; and memorabilia.

Williams (1864-1947) graduated from Vanderbilt University (1884), was appointed associate justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court (1913), was first dean of Emory University's Lamar School of Law (1920-1925), was chairman of the Tennessee Code Commission (1924-), and was appointed to the Advisory Committee on Rules for Civil Procedure by the U.S. Supreme Court (1938). He was the author and editor of several books on Tennessee history. His papers consist of correspondence, clippings, photographs, printed material, manuscripts, and a map. Letters concern his historical writings, Tennessee history, and genealogy; clippings are of book reviews, his writings, and his judicial career; photographs are of Plum Grove, home of John Sevier, Fort Loudoun, J.T. Wilder, and Marcus J. Wright; manuscripts (some typescripts) are of William's research and writing; the map (1815) is of Marion County, South Carolina.

Winship (1903-1987), Atlanta (Ga.) businessman, and member of the Emory University Board of Trustees, served as its secretary (1965-1974) and as a member of its Executive Committee. The collection consists of papers of Charles T. Winship from 1928-1976. The papers include general files pertaining to Emory University Board of Trustees (1962-1974); records of the Board's Buildings and Grounds Committee (1968-1975) and Real Estate Committee (1963-1972); materials relating to Emory University Library (1964-1973) and Friends of the Library (1970-1975); the Board of Visitors (1960-1961); the Alumni Association (1971-1972); general files pertaining to the university (1963-1976); and Winship's travel diaries (1928, 1930, and no date) describing travels in Cuba, Hawaii, and Panama. Correspondents include Sanford S. Atwood, Henry L. Bowden, Guy R. Lyle, Henry Prentice Miller, and Robert F. Whitaker.

Woodward (1874-1960) graduated from Emory College (1900); taught in south Georgia; went to Texas as a Methodist minister; attended the University of Chicago (M.A. 1916, B.D. 1917); and taught sociology at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, until 1924 when he became Dean of Men at Emory University. He helped the state of Georgia set up the State Department of Welfare (1928), and served on the boards of the Family Welfare Society and the Georgia Conference of Social Workers for which he received an honorary Phi Beta Kappa Key from the Emory Chapter and an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree from Birmingham Southern College (1932). His papers consist of clippings, certificates, correspondence, files, reports, programs, medals, and photographs. A bound volume contains letters of appreciation written by friends, colleagues, and former students upon Woodward's retirement. Other letters are to Woodward from Warren A. Candler (1911), Lucian Lamar Knight (1899), and to Margaret and John Ladson from Woodward (1946-1960). Subject files include reports and printed materials relating to Woodward's professional activities including the Atlanta League of Women Voters (1920-1932), the Georgia Conference of Social Work (1929-1940), and the Georgia Department of Public Welfare (1928-1934). Commencement and banquet programs are from Emory College; certificates are Woodward's deacon (1903) and elder (1905) certificates; photographs depict Woodward's life at Emory University.