Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections, and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.
Helpful search terms for MARBL collections:
Allen, Young John, papers, 1854-1938 (MSS11) – A.B. 1858
Extent: 13.5 linear ft. (ca. 7230 items)
Abstract: Allen was a Methodist missionary, editor, and translator in China during the mid- to late-nineteenth century. Correspondence and letterbooks (1857-1907), diaries and notebooks, (1855-1878), account books, clippings, writings, files, and photographs in the collection relate to Allen, his family, his student years at Emory College, his work as a missionary, or to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
Related collections in MARBL: Warren A. Candler papers
Avary, Robert Lee, papers, 1895-1947 (MSS460) – A.B. 1886
Extent: 2 linear ft. (ca. 2,500 pieces).
Abstract: Avary (b. 1863) attended Emory College (A.B., 1886) and the University of Georgia (1890, LL.B.) and was admitted to the Georgia bar (1890), after which he began to practice law in Atlanta. He was a professor of medical jurisprudence at the Atlanta Medical College and Southern Medical College (both became part of Emory University, 1915), a professor of law at Atlanta Law School, president of the Emory College Alumni Association for fifteen years, and vice president of the Atlanta Bar Association. : Correspondence, business papers, and printed materials. His papers include correspondence, business papers, and printed materials. Materials relate to the Emory College Alumni Association, the establishment of Emory in Atlanta, Emory University, the Atlanta Medical College, Southern Medical College, the county unit school system (1942), and the First Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Business papers include bills and receipts. Correspondence and business papers of Howard Vann Epps, a former judge on the City Court of Atlanta are also included.
Bryan, William Lyle, papers, 1908-1960 (MSS148) – Ph.B. 1912
Extent: 54 items
Abstract: Bryan attended Emory College (1908-1912, Ph.B.); taught high school in Cordele (1912-1915) and Macon, Georgia (ca. 1919); was superintendent of public schools in Cairo (1915-1917) and Tifton; practiced law and was president of the Board of Education in Donaldsonville, Georgia; and was Seminole County Attorney. He settled in Atlanta and founded and was president of Georgia Life and Health Insurance Company. The papers include letters from Bryan to his mother (Alice Lyle Bryan) regarding Emory College life, students, and faculty, and his thoughts on education.
Candler, Walter Turner, papers, 1904-1967 (MSS68) – A.B. 1907
Extent: 0.5 linear ft. (1 box, 2 bound volumes, 1 oversized bound volume, 4 oversized papers)
Abstract: Candler, son of Asa Griggs Candler, was a businessman, philanthropist, and horse sportsman. He was a graduate of Emory College and president of the Class of 1907. Candler endowed two lectureships at Emory University, the Walter T. Candler Lectureship (1952) and the John Gordon Stipe Memorial Lectureship in Spanish Culture (1953); helped organize the Emory Alumni Association (president, 1943-1946); and received the Alumni Award of Honor. He raised horses for harness racing and had a racetrack on his estate, Lullwater, which was acquired by Emory in 1958. His papers include correspondence, clippings, photographs, and biographical information relating to Walter T. Candler, Lullwater (his estate and home), harness racing, the Emory College Class of 1907, and the Walter T. Candler Lecture Series at Emory University.
Related collections in MARBL: Asa Griggs Candler papers, Charles Howard Candler papers, Warren A. Candler papers, and the Candler family collection.
Related collections in Emory University Archives: Other materials relating to Lullwater Estate and the Walter T. Candler Lectures.
Carmichael, James Vinson, papers, 1913-1982 (MSS576) – LL.B. 1933
Extent: 21.5 linear ft. (ca. 42,500 pieces).
Abstract: Vinson (1910-1972) attended Emory University (LL.B. 1933), married Frances E. McDonald (1938), and practiced law in Marietta, Georgia (1933-1943; 1946). He was associated with Bell Aircraft Corporation (1943-1945) as general counsel, assistant general manager - vice president, and director; with Scripto, Inc. (Atlanta, Georgia) as president (1947-1964); and with Lockheed Aircraft Corporation, Georgia Division, as general manager, vice president and director (1951-1953). He served two terms as a Georgia legislator (1935-1940), and was a candidate for governor (1946). Although he won the popular vote, he lost the election due to the county unit vote. He was the first president of the Atlanta Arts Alliance (1964), and a trustee of Emory University and Atlanta University. His papers include correspondence, subject files, diaries, notebooks, writings, scrapbooks, speeches, visual materials, printed materials, and memorabilia reflecting Carmichael's business and political careers, his involvement with civic organizations and committees, and his family. Family correspondence documents travel and education; general correspondence primarily covers Carmichael's work with Bell Aircraft and Scripto. Subject files are personal, business, and civic and include writings by James V. Carmichael, Jr., speeches and writings by Carmichael, information on his law practice, the Atlanta Airport, Cobb County, Ellis Arnall, and businesses and organizations with which he was involved; scrapbooks include clippings, photos, and programs; photographs are of Carmichael, his family, and his associates, particularly at Bell Aircraft (1943-1945); motion pictures are of family and travel scenes; printed material includes company newsletters; memorabilia includes awards, certificates, diplomas, and resolutions. There is also some material gathered on the occasion of his death.
Carmichael, Marion Walter, papers, 1898-1935 (MSS132)
Extent: 0.5 linear ft. (in 1 box)
Abstract: Carmichael (1870-1935) was a graduate of Emory College and a Methodist minister from 1901-1934. The papers include photographs; pamphlets; a notebook Carmichael kept while he was a student at Emory College (1898); two ledgers (1893-1901); and a partial diary he kept while in Jakin, Early County, Georgia (1899). The collection also includes Carmichael's Pastor's Reports to the Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1910-1913); undated sermons and sermon outlines; and miscellaneous writing from his college years.
Cleckler, Richard Cox, papers, 1892-1956 (MSS581) – A.B. 1894
Extent: 0.5 linear ft. (ca. 500 pieces)
Abstract: Cleckler graduated from Emory College (1894) and was minister to churches in Atlanta, Calhoun, Covington, East Point, Jackson, and other Georgia cities and towns (1892-1940). Cleckler was on the board of trustees of LaGrange (Georgia) College and the Decatur Orphans Home. He married Mary Kate Moss (1907) and was the author of articles published in the WESLYAN CHRISTIAN ADVOCATE. His papers include letters, photographs, pastor's books, printed materials, notes, clippings, and certificates. All letters but one are written to Mary Kate Moss (1905, 1907). Photographs include a portrait of the Emory class of 1894.
Cline Family papers, 1867-1951 (MSS816) – Theology 1917
Extent: 2 linear feet (in 4 boxes)
Abstract: John Earl Cline, Methodist minister, of Waleska, Georgia attended Emory College in Oxford, Georgia and was a graduate (1917) of the Theology School when Emory established an Atlanta campus. The collection consists of correspondence and transcripts of correspondence of the Cline family from 1867-1915. The correspondence includes letters between John Earl Cline and Eunice Lovett before their marriage (1912-1917) while he was attending Emory College in Oxford, Georgia.
Cooper, Augusta Skeen, papers, 1925-1970 (MSS535) – Chemistry 1924
Extent: 1.5 linear ft. (ca. 2000 pieces).
Abstract: Cooper graduated from Emory University with a degree in chemistry (1924) and taught chemistry there (1943-1945) and at Agnes Scott College. She co-authored a textbook on quantitative analysis and was a member of the board of trustees of Fernbank Science Center and the Atlanta World Service Committee. Her papers include correspondence, photographs, and memorabilia. Correspondence is personal and relates to Emory University and to Fernbank.
Related collections in MARBL: Samuel Inman Cooper papers.
Davis, Rose, papers, 1921-1973 (MSS125)
Extent: .5 linear ft. (in 1 box)
Abstract: Davis was a nurse and graduate of the Emory University School of Nursing (now the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing). Her papers consist of mainly correspondence from Robert Woodruff to Rose Davis. Also included are materials pertaining to her attendance at the Emory University School of Nursing, other correspondence, photographs, and collected material.
Related collections in MARBL: Nell Hodgson Woodruff papers and Robert W. Woodruff papers.
Farinholt, Katharine Woltz, papers, 1930-1984 (MSS597) – B.A. 1964
Extent: 5 linear ft. (in 18 boxes)
Abstract: Farinholt (1912-1990), graduate of Agnes Scott College (1933) and Emory University (1964), taught English (1958-1974) at Westminster Schools (Atlanta, Ga.) and served as principal of the Girls' High School at Westminster (1964-74). She was an active volunteer for such organizations as the Girl Scouts of America, the Colonial Dames, and All Saints Episcopal Church (Atlanta, Georgia) and published articles, book reviews, and a novel (ALEXANDER'S DAUGHTER). The collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, diaries (1926, 1934), scrapbooks, student papers, and ephemera relating to the Woltz family, education at Gastonia (N.C.) High School, Agnes Scott College, and Emory University; correspondence, lecture notes and newspaper clippings, relating to Farinholt's teaching career at Westminster Schools (Atlanta, Ga.); articles, book reviews and correspondence concerning Farinholt's publications and a copy of the typescript of her novel, ALEXANDER'S DAUGHTER. The collection also includes correspondence, notes, and printed material pertaining to Farinholt's volunteer and social activities including the Girl Scouts of America, the Colonial Dames, All Saints Episcopal Church (Atlanta, Ga.); scrapbooks, travel journals, postcards and memorabilia from travels in North America, Western Europe, and China; correspondence reflecting Farinholt's political interests, including letters relating to the women's movement; and photographs and certificates relating to awards Farinholt received. This collection documents Farinholt's interest in education, politics, and social issues.
Hall, Max, papers, 1938-1990 (MSS734)
Extent: .5 linear ft. (in 1 box)
Abstract: Hall (1911?- ), writer, editor, and alumnus of Emory University, worked for newspapers in Atlanta and New York (1933-1951). Hall was a government employee (1951-1957), editorial director on the NEW YORK METROPOLITAN REGION STUDY (1957-1960), social science editor at Harvard University Press (1960-1973), and editorial advisor to the faculty of Harvard Business School (1973-1979). His papers consist mainly of correspondence discussing Hall's experience as a sports writer for THE ATLANTA CONSTITUTION and experiences at Emory University. Correspondents include Boisfeuillet Jones, James V. Carmichael, Goodrich C. White, Thomas English, S. Walter Martin, Randolph Fort, Walt Davis, and Leroy Loemker.
Hodge, Bachman Gladstone, papers, circa 1917-1961 (MSS603) – 1920
Extent: 3.25 linear ft. (in 4 boxes)
Abstract: Hodge (1893-1961), graduate of Birmingham Southern College in 1917, Emory University in 1921, and Kentucky Wesleyan College in 1932, served as Methodist minister, district superintendent and bishop in Kentucky and Tennessee. The papers include sermons and notes; a scrapbook pertaining to Hodge's years at Emory University (1917-1920); and family correspondence including letters, cards, and telegrams relating to his travel in the Holy Land (1925). The collection also includes church ephemera relating to Hodge's service as Methodist minister and bishop, primarily in Tennessee; photographs; articles; and other printed material.
Hunt, Caroline Candler, papers, 1937-1993 (MSS752)
Extent: 9.25 linear ft. (in 11 boxes)
Abstract: Hunt (1919- ), daughter of Samuel Charles Candler and granddaughter of Warren A. Candler, alumna of Emory's junior college at Oxford (Ga.). The collection consists of papers of Caroline Candler Hunt from 1937-1993. The papers include correspondence (mainly from friends, family and others associated with Emory University); school papers and correspondence (1937-1938) from Hunt's studies at the Cours Speciaux a l'institut de Torraine (France); tax records; and clippings.
Related collections in MARBL: Asa Grigg Candler papers, Warren A. Candler papers, and Candler family papers.
Jenkins, Alfred le Sesne, papers, 1951-1980 (MSS681) – B.A. 1938, LL.D. 1973)
Extent: 4 linear ft. (ca. 5000 pieces).
Abstract: Jenkins (b. 1916) was a graduate of Emory University (1938; LLD., 1973), and Duke University (M.Ed., 1946) and was a student at the University of Chicago's National War College. Jenkins was in the United States Foreign Service (1946-1974) and served in China (1946-1955) and Saudi Arabia (1955); was on the U.S. National Security Council (1966-1969); was Chief Liaison Officer, Peking, China (1973-1974); and was awarded the Superior Service Award from the U.S. State Department (1973). He worked as a freelance writer after 1974. The papers include correspondence (1951-1973), family and legal papers, writings, speeches and interviews, clippings, financial papers, itineraries, printed material, notebooks, visual materials, sound recordings, and memorabilia. Materials pertain to Jenkins's family; his writings, speeches, and interviews; his practice of Transcendental Meditation; a 1958 trip to Africa; and his part in President Nixon's visit to China (1972). Visual materials are photographs, slides, postcards, and videotapes. Sound recordings include audiotapes, audio cassettes, and reel-to-reel tapes.
Lockmiller, David A., papers, 1863-1968 (bulk 1923-1928) (MSS563) – B.A. 1927, graduate degree 1928
Extent: 1.75 linear ft. (in 4 boxes)
Abstract: Lockmiller (1906- ), educator and author, received undergraduate and graduate degrees (1927, 1928) from Emory University (Atlanta, Ga.) and a law degree from Cumberland Law School (Lebanon, Tenn.). He served as president of the University of Chattanooga and of Ohio Wesleyan University and as Executive Director of the National Home Study Council, Washington, D.C. The collection consists of papers of David Alexander Lockmiller from 1863-1968. The bulk of the collection (1923-1928) consists of correspondence, photographs, programs, pamphlets and memorabilia relating primarily to Lockmiller's student life at Emory University (Atlanta, Ga.). Of particular interest are four diaries (1926-1929) kept by Lockmiller as an undergraduate and graduate student at Emory University, as a law student at Cumberland Law School (then located in Lebanon, Tenn.) and as an attorney in Monett, Arkansas. These diaries describe his day-to-day activities, including people he saw and events which he participated in or witnessed.
Malcolm, James V., papers, 1929-1945 (MSS765) – B.A. 1932, LL.D. 1935
Extent: .5 linear ft. (in 1 box)
Abstract: Malcolm (1910-1990), lawyer, received college and law degrees from Emory University (1932, 1935), and practiced law in Atlanta. In 1942 he joined the Army, stationed at Keesler Air Force Base, Mississippi. His papers consist of letters written to Malcolm by his parents and future wife, Drusilla Adams, and written by Malcolm to the same people. These letters discuss Malcolm's time at Emory University (Ga.), family events, friends, and events and conditions he experienced during his military service at Keesler Air Force Base during World War II. Many of the letters go into great detail about fishing.
Malone, Henry Thompson, papers, 1933-1977 (MSS613) – M.A., Ph.D. 1952
Extent: 17.75 linear ft. (ca. 35,000 pieces).
Abstract: Thompson (1916-1977) as a graduate of Emory University (M.A., Ph.D.) and taught in high schools in South Carolina and Georgia. Malone was with Georgia State University for twenty-five years as a professor (1952-1961), as an assistant dean of arts and sciences (1952-1958), as director of development (1958-), as director of alumni (1961-), and dean of the School of General Studies (1970-1977). Among other achievements, Malone served on the Georgia Historical Commission (1963-1973); was the author of two books; and was Georgia District Governor of Kiwanis and president of the Georgia Kiwanis Foundation. His papers include personal and family papers, photographs, card file, subject files, notes, correspondence, clippings, printed material, and memorabilia. Material relates to Malone's family, life, and career, and includes speeches and writings, and information on Emory University, Georgia State University, the Kiwanis, and on his research on Cherokee Indians.
Park, Lemuel Madison, papers, 1888-1922 (MSS630) – B.A. 1860
Extent: 2 linear ft. (in 4 boxes)
Abstract: The Lemuel Madison Park papers consist mainly of correspondence and business records of Lemuel and his brother, Robert Emory Park. Lemuel (1846-1916) was the son of Major John Park, the founder of LaGrange Female College and a charter member of the Emory College Board of Trustees. Robert (1843-1904) was an 1860 graduate of Emory College and a Civil War veteran. Following the war, Robert taught for a year at Tuskegee High School, became principal at Lucas Institute, Mount Meigs, Alabama, and then principal of LaGrange High School. In 1872, he moved to Macon, Georgia, to take a position with a publishing company. From 1886 on he was a Trustee of Emory College and from 1900 until his death he served as Georgia's State Treasurer. Series 2 includes personal papers of Robert Park concerning his term as Georgia State Treasurer, his book about the 12th Alabama Regiment of the Confederate States of America, his service on the finance committee of the Emory College Board of Trustees, and diplomas and certificates awarded to him.
Quillian, William Fletcher, papers, 1900-1960 (MSS453) – B.A. 1901
Extent: .5 linear ft. (ca. 200 pieces).
Abstract: Quillian (1880-1960) graduated from Emory University (1901), and was president of Warthan College in Wrightsville, Georgia (1902-1907), and of Wesleyan College in Macon, Georgia (1920-1931; 1950-1952). Quilliam held various offices with the Methodist Church before and after unification (1931-1952). The papers include notebooks, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and biographical information. Notebooks contain sermons, essays on education, and addresses and speeches concerning religion; correspondence is in reference to Wesleyan College and the Emory University Alumni Association; photographs, clippings and biographical information pertain to W.F. Quillian.
Reeve, Thomas Ellis and Etha Mills, papers, circa 1887-1971 (MSS863) – B.A. 1909
Extent: 11 linear ft. (25 boxes and 9 OP)
Abstract: Reeve (1889-1971) was a Methodist minister and missionary. He graduated from Emory College in 1909 and from Vanderbilt University in 1911. He entered his first pastorate in 1911 with the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, at Woodland, California. After serving in California for several years, he traveled to the Belgian Congo in 1916 to do missionary work in Lubefu with the Methodist Episcopal Church Mission, South. While in the Congo, he met and married fellow missionary Etha Virginia Mills (1883-1974). The Reeves subsequently were assigned to the Methodist Episcopal Congo Mission South at Wembo-Nyama (1921-1923), Tunda (1923-1924), and Minga (1926-1929), with furloughs to the United States in the interim periods. Reeve authored a book, IN WEMBO-NYAMA'S LAND, detailing his experiences in the Congo. The papers include family correspondence, diaries, legal and financial records, mission records, photographs, sermons, printed material, writings, and ephemera. The correspondence includes letters from Ellis Reeve to his parents while he was attending Emory College and Vanderbilt University, letters from his time in California, and letters while he was a missionary in the Belgian Congo. The majority of the printed material relates to either the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, missionary work in Africa or to Georgia history.
Rogers, Ernest, papers, 1918-1967 (MSS328) – B.S. 1920
Extent: 5 linear ft. (ca. 5,000 pieces).
Abstract: Rogers (1897-1967) was disabled by polio from age two. He attended Emory University (B.S., 1920), and was the founder and first editor of the EMORY WHEEL. After graduation, he worked at the Atlanta JOURNAL as a copy editor, arts critic, reporter, and finally features writer (1920-1962). He was also a pioneer radio broadcaster with WSB radio (1922-). In addition to musical compositions, he was the author of two books, OLD HOKUM BUCKET (1949), and PEACHTREE PARADE (1965). The latter is a compilation of pieces from the newspaper column by the same name Rogers began in 1943 and continued to write three times weekly after his retirement in 1962. His papers consist of correspondence, biographical information, writings, scrapbooks, a diary (1918-1919), newspaper columns (1945-1967), photographs, book illustrations, notebooks, sound recordings, minutes, and memorabilia. Correspondence is Rogers's and his father's (Methodist clergyman, Dr. Wallace Rogers). Writings include Rogers's muscial compositions and short stories, the manuscript, galley proofs, and four of the original illustrations by the Atlanta JOURNAL cartoonist Eric for PEACHTREE PARADE; the diary/journal is Rogers's; scrapbooks were compiled by Rogers and by his parents; newpaper columns are Rogers's from the Atlanta JOURNAL; memorabilia includes various awards and certificates; photographs are of Rogers, his birthday celebrations, O.B. Keeler, and Col. James S. Childers; notebooks contain speeches, columns, expense lists, information on WSB Radio and Atlanta personalities; minutes are of the Breakfast Club, an organization of Atlanta businessmen to which Rogers belonged; sound recordings (disc and tape) relate to Rogers's birthday parties, his radio show (1952), a baptismal ceremony performed by his father, Emory University, Bobby Jones, and a James Whitcomb Riley story.
Rubin, Larry, papers, 1962-1989 (MSS442) – ??; Ph.D. 1956
Extent: .75 linear ft. (ca. 1,000 pieces).
Abstract: Rubin (b. 1930) received degrees from Emory University (including his Ph.D., 1956), became a professor of English at Georgia Institute of Technology, and was a visiting professor in American literature at Jagiellonian University in Poland. He is the author of poetry and prose that has appeared in national and international publications since 1956. His papers consist of a typescript manuscript, galley proofs, correspondence, and printed material. A typescript is of Rubin's anthology of poems, THE WORLD'S OLD WAY, published in 1962, galley proofs are of LANCED IN LIGHT, published in 1967; correspondence is from Rubin to scholars Thomas Brumbaugh and Thomas H. English, and dicusses Emory University, Georgia Tech, and travel; printed materials contain, or in some way relate to, Rubin's work.
Rylander, John Emory, papers, 1855-1863 (393) – B.A. 1855
Extent: 3 items
Abstract: Rylander was a graduate of Emory College (1855) and at the start of the Civil War, joined the Muckalee Guards from Sumter County, Georgia (Company A, 12th Georgia Infantry) as a first sergeant. He later transferred and became a major with Company C, 10th Georgia Infantry. Rylander was killed 2 June 1864, at Cold Harbor, Virginia. The papers consist of letters and a muster roll. The two letters are to and from John Emory Rylander and Ann Mathis Rylander (1855; 1863); muster roll is for the Muckalee Guards (25 May 1861).
Smith, George Gilman, papers, 1835-1956 (MSS228)
Extent: 2.5 linear ft. (ca. 523 items)
Abstract: Smith, who grew up in Georgia, attended Emory College. He joined Phillips' Legion as chaplain, was wounded during Antietam (1862), left the army, and returned to Georgia. He held many pastorates in Georgia (1871-1881), was a Sunday School agent (1882-1888), and retired from active ministry (1888). He authored more than eight books and many articles on the history of Methodism and on various Methodists. The papers include correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks and notebooks, clippings, manuscripts, typescripts, printed materials, certificates, awards, photographs and prints, genealogical information, and subject folders. Letters are written to Smith from prominent Methodists and others. Diaries (29 vols.; 1853-1910) are Smith's. A manuscript is of Smith's unpublished autobiography; typescripts are of the autobiography manuscript and two of the diaries and of Smith's biography of Bishop Andrew (including "unpublished chapters"). Articles, pamphlets, and tracts were written by Smith; clippings are of Smith's published articles; scrapbooks contain clippings; and notebooks are Smith's. Photographs are of Methodist bishops, the Emory College class of 1883, and Smith and his family; prints are chromo-lithographs of birds and an engraving of Smith.
Thomson Family, Albert Danner, papers, 1883-1960 (MSS716) – B.A. 1898
Extent: 1.5 linear ft. (in 4 boxes, 1 oversized bound volume, 1 oversized paper)
Abstract: Thomson (1877-1953), Atlanta businessman and graduate of Emory College, was involved in real estate and building through his association with the firm Renfoe and Thomson. He also served as an Atlanta City Councilman (pre-World War I) and as the Executive Secretary to Mayor Asa Griggs Candler (1917-1918). The papers consist of correspondence, travel diaries, a photograph album, photograph, memorabilia, and collected material. These materials are centered around Thomson's travels to Japan and Korea, accompanying Bishop Warren A. Candler and Asa Candler, Jr. (1906), his days at Emory College (1895-1898), and his service as Executive Secretary to Mayor Asa Candler (1917-1918). The bulk of the correspondence from Thomson's trip is to his parents and describes his travels. The correspondence written during Thomson's days at Emory College are from his parents, William Sydnor and Eva Danner Thomson.
Related collections in MARBL: Asa Griggs Candler papers, Warren Akin Candler papers, William Danner Thomson papers, and William Sydnor Thomson papers.
Travis, Robert Jesse, papers, 1884-1964 (MSS469) – B.A. 1897
Extent: 2 linear ft. (1543 items)
Abstract: Travis, a lawyer, educator, civic leader, and military officer, was born in Conyers, Georgia, and died in Savannah, Georgia. A graduate of Emory College (1897), he became principal of a Madison, Georgia, high school and received a degree in law and economics from the University of Georgia (1899). He practiced law (1899-1951) and served as Savannah city and McIntosh and Effingham county attorney. His military career included serving with the 1st Georgia Infantry (1899) and the Coast Artillery (1902); commanding the 118th Field Artillery (WWI); and becoming a major general with the National Guard (1924). The papers include correspondence, clippings, printed materials, photographs, and postcards. The collection includes materials from Travis’ time at Emory.
Woodward, Comer McDonald, papers, 1892-1942 (MSS531) – B.A. 1900
Extent: 2.5 linear ft. (ca. 1686 items).
Abstract: Woodward (1874-1960) graduated from Emory College (1900); taught in south Georgia; went to Texas as a Methodist minister; attended the University of Chicago (M.A. 1916, B.D. 1917); and taught sociology at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, until 1924 when he became Dean of Men at Emory University. He helped the state of Georgia set up the State Department of Welfare (1928), and served on the boards of the Family Welfare Society and the Georgia Conference of Social Workers for which he received an honorary Phi Beta Kappa Key from the Emory Chapter and an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree from Birmingham Southern College (1932). His papers consist of clippings, certificates, correspondence, files, reports, programs, medals, and photographs. A bound volume contains letters of appreciation written by friends, colleagues, and former students upon Woodward's retirement. Other letters are to Woodward from Warren A. Candler (1911), Lucian Lamar Knight (1899), and to Margaret and John Ladson from Woodward (1946-1960). Subject files include reports and printed materials relating to Woodward's professional activities including the Atlanta League of Women Voters (1920-1932), the Georgia Conference of Social Work (1929-1940), and the Georgia Department of Public Welfare (1928-1934). Commencement and banquet programs are from Emory College; certificates are Woodward's deacon (1903) and elder (1905) certificates; photographs depict Woodward's life at Emory University.
Wren, George Lovick Pierce, diaries, 1858-1864 (MSS249) – B.A. 1859
Extent: 5 items
Abstract: Wren, Confederate soldier and educator, was born in Louisiana. After moving to Putnam County, Georgia, he matriculated as a sophomore at Emory College in January 1857 and graduated in 1859. He was mustered into Company G, 8th Louisiana Infantry Regiment on 23 June 1861, serving first as a private and later as a second lieutenant. He was captured at Port Republic on 9 June 1862, imprisoned at Fort Delaware, and exchanged on 5 August 1862. Returning to service in early 1863 after a lengthy furlough, he sprained an ankle, was hospitalized at Richmond, captured again on 10 or 12 May 1864, re-incarcerated at Fort Delaware, and released after taking the Oath of Allegiance on 15 June 1865. After the war, he was a teacher in Claiborne Parish, Louisiana. The papers consist of three original diaries, a typed copy of one diary, and a photograph. The first diary (1858-1859) provides a narrative of student and academic life during Wren's junior and senior years at Emory College. The second diary (1861-1862) describes his initial army service and covers the time period of his first imprisonment. The third diary (1863-1864) mentions action in Mississippi, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina; refers to hardships and religious revivals among the soldiers; and describes his injury, hospitalization, and capture, as well as conditions in prison.
Yun Ch'i-ho papers, 1883-1943 (MSS754) – B.A. 1893
Extent: 1.25 linear ft. (in 3 boxes)
Abstract: Yun Ch'i-ho (1864-1945), Korean Methodist minister and teacher, converted to Christianity at the Anglo-Chinese College operated by Young John Allen (1887). Allen arranged for Yun to become a theology student at Vanderbilt University (1881-1891). Yun transferred to Emory College (1891-1893) and visited rural churches during the summers to help raise money to support his educational endeavors. Extra money was entrusted to Emory's President Warren A. Candler for the establishment of a Methodist Church in Korea. Yun returned to Korea, was involved in political activism, then he devoted himself to Christian work. He established the Anglo-Korean School at Songdo (1906). The Yun Ch'i-ho papers consist of mainly diaries of Yun Ch'i-ho from 1888-1893. All the diaries except for 1883 are in English. Daily entries discuss his experiences as a student at Vanderbilt University (1888-1891) and Emory College (1891-1893) and his reflections on life, religion, and politics. The papers include a letter to the editor of the KOREA DAILY NEWS written by Yun, a speech on the Far East delivered at the Chicago Auditorium, and an untitled writing. The photograph is of Yun, Emory alumni, and others taken in Seoul. The papers also include letters between Warren A. Candler and Yun. They discuss Yun's work in Korea, especially the Songdo School (also known as Kaesong-si in Korean), and the Korean political climate including relations with Japan.
Related collections in MARBL: Warren Candler papers.
Related collections in Emory University Archives: EUPIX and yearbooks.