Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Emory University History: Race at Emory

This guide includes descriptions of resources from Emory University Archives as well as manuscript collections related to the history of Emory University.

discoverE Search Terms for Emory University Archives

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections, and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Helpful search terms for MARBL collections:

"Emory University--Faculty"

"Emory University--Students"

"Emory University--Students--Socities"

"Emory College--Administration"

Print and Archival Resources

The following resources chart the history of race at Emory, including popular research topics such as the College's first international students, student societies' debates on race and education, and the University's process of desegregation. The resources listed include publications, materials from the University Archives, and items contained in manuscript collections.

Emory's First International Students

Early international students included:

Yun Chi'-Ho (Korea) - 1893

Zhong Jiajun (China) - 1897 (Also appears in Emory records under the name George Hamilton Bell, and under K.T. Tsoong)

Tomi Kato (Japan) - Did not graduate

Bun Kishi (Japan) - 1903

James M. Inouye (Japan) - 1915

Youtaik Kim (Korea) - 1915

Doo Wha Lim (Korea) - 1917

Class pictures for many of these students can be found in the Emory University Photograph collection, and other early Emory College documents (such as the Emory Campus, student newspapers, and the records of student groups including the "Western Club") provide additional resources.

 

Yun Ch'i-Ho (MSS754)

Yun Ch'i-ho, Methodist teacher and minister, was born in 1864 in Korea. In 1855, while in Shanghai, Yun met Young John Allen; in 1887, Yun converted to Christianity and was baptized into the Methodist Episcopal Church. Allen made arrangements for Yun to become a theology student at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee (1888-1891). He then transferred to Emory College in Oxford, Georgia (1891-1893). 

The Yun Ch'i-ho papers consists mainly of diaries of Yun Ch'i-ho (1883, 1889-1905; 1916-1935, 1938-1941, and 1943). The diaries document Yun’s activities as a secretary in the Korean Foreign Office (1883-1885), as a student at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee (1888-1891) and Emory College in Oxford, Georgia (1891-1893), and as a teacher in the Anglo-Chinese College in Shanghai (1893-1895). Also included are correspondence, writings by Yun, material pertaining to Yun's appointment in Russia, menus, and a photograph.

Student Debates

During the late nineteenth century, student societies at Emory College engaged in a number of debates on questions of race and education. Information about these debates can be found in the following resources.

Series 49, Emory College student organization records, 1839-1932, Box 1, Folder 2 and Bound Volumes 2-33: Few Literary Society

This series contains the minutes for the Few Literary Society from 1839 to 1916, along with Rolls, Resolutions, and Constitutions and By-Laws for the organization. On October 1, 1959, the minutes note that the abolition of slavery will be the group's next topic of debate. In 1854, the Society debated a similar topic. These minutes can be found in Bound Volume (BV4) of the series.

Series 49, Emory College student organization records, 1839-1932, Box 1, Folder 10, Bound Volumes 36-56, and Oversize Paper 1: Phi Gamma Literary Society

This series also contains the minutes, rolls, and Constitution for the Phi Gamma Society. In 1892, the Phi Gamma Literary Society took up a debate on the topic of African-Americans and Native Americans and education. Yun Ch'i-Ho discusses the debate in his diary for that year.

Faculty and Administrative Records

Many of the items present in Series 21, Faculty Records, relate to the history of race at Emory:

General Records:

Box 3, Folder 10: Motions, 3 May 1960 - Segregated Education Issues

Subject Files:

Box 4, Folder 9: Dekalb Superior Court case; Emory plaintiff, 1969

Box 4, Folder 13: Statement by the Emory faculty on closing the public schools, 1958

Committees:

Box 5, Folders 8-10: Afro-American studies (Curriculum) sub-committee

Box 8, Folder 8: Martin Luther King, Jr. scholarship campaign

 

In addition, the Bell Wiley papers (MSS521), which contain the papers of former Emory history professor Bell Wiley, include faculty papers on the admission of African-American students to Emory (Box 190, Folder 11).

 

The following Administrative records document Emory's process of desegregation:

Series 2, Sanford S. Atwood office files

Box 17, Folder 9: King, Martin Luther, Jr.

Box 17, Folder 11: Lovett School Commencement on Emory Campus, 1964-1966

Box 18, Folder 8: Policy on Protest

Box 20, Folders 1-8; Box 21, Folders 1-8: Student unrest

Box 19, Folders 6-7: Student conduct code

Series 27, Judson C. Ward office files

Box 8, Folders 9 and 11; Box 9, Folder 1: Bi-Racial Committee and information on Black students at Emory.

Series 99, Emory University desegregation collection

This series contains information on the history of integration at Emory, the history of student demonstrations, the Sabrina Collins case, and and the Sondra O'Neal tenure case. Also included in the series are audio recordings from rallies, faculty meetings, and convocations.

Campus Publications

The resources listed below include both University and student publications. Items are listed in chronological order. In addition, many of the Emory Campus yearbooks contain significant photographs and articles, including 1952, 1962, 1970 (2 vols.), 1971 (2 vols.), and 1972. Reference copies of these yearbooks are available in the Stuart A.Rose manuscript, archives, and rare book library (MARBL) reading room.

 

Emory Alumnus (continued by Emory Magazine) –  magazine for Emory alumni. EUA109.8 .E6

vol. 30    Oct 1954            p. 3      “The segregation issue: some points of information”

vol. 32    Jun 1956             p. 20    “Rastus and Wright” (African American Emory Hospital employees)

vol. 35    Feb 1959            p. 4      “Emory’s professors take stand as they face a grave threat”

vol. 35    Nov 1959           p. 14    “Must we integrate to educate? No!”

vol. 35    Dec 1959            p. 10    “There is ‘Hope’ for the Public Schools

vol. 36    Dec 1960            p. 4      “Will Georgia’s public schools close?”

vol. 37    Jul 1961              p. 61    “The integration situation”

vol. 38    May 1962           p. 6      “Emory goes to court”

vol. 38    May 1962           p. 7      “Comment on the case”

vol. 40    Feb 1964            p. 13    “Highlights of 1963”

 

Emory Magazine (formerly Emory Alumnus) EUA109.8.E6

vol. 44    Mar/Apr 1968    p. 6      “The Negro student at Emory: a first-hand report”

vol. 45    May/Jun 1969    p. 16    “Four Days in May” (racial protest)

vol. 46    Mar/Apr 1970    p. 2      Viewpoints “Scholarships for Blacks” (confirms Charles Dudley as the first black student in Emory College)

vol. 46    May/Jun 1970    p. 43    “New Faculty Appointments Announced” (first black faculty member Dr. Grant S. Shockley appointed in the Theology school)

vol. 58    Jun 1982             p. 6      “The Turbulent Sixties”

vol. 59    Feb 1983            p. 5      “Minorities commission to honor Emory’s first black students”

Spring 1995-present are online and searchable at http://www.emory.edu/EMORY_MAGAZINE/

 

For Faculty and Staff

Emory Report  (formerly Campus Report) – newspaper for Emory faculty and staff. EUA102.3 A6

vol. 44    18 Nov 1991   “November 1961 board vote was first step toward admitting black students at Emory”

vol. 47    23 Jan 1995     “Administration responds at black student summit”

vol. 48    6 Nov 1995     “Issues in Higher Education”

vol. 48    10 Jun 1996     “Fall class comes in strong at Emory, Oxford”

vol. 49    4 Nov 1996     “Issues in Progress: President’s Commission on the Status of Minorities”

Jan 1995-present are online and searchable at http://www.emory.edu/EMORY_REPORT/

 

By Students

Emory Wheel – newspaper published by Emory students for the Emory community EUA998.E6

MICFILM 709 (September 17, 1959-May 28, 1964 only)

vol. 32    19 Oct 1950    “Emory…refuse to consider…Negro’s application”

vol. 44    24 Jan 1963     “We Want Education” Negro Students say”

vol. 45    10 Oct 1963    “Council Represents Students, Assumes Responsible Stand”

vol. 44    30 May 1963   “Moore Says ‘Integration or Disintegration’ Ahead”

vol. 45    26 Sept 1963   “University Policy Attracts 9 Negroes”

vol. 50    Spring 1969     coverage of racial protest

vol. 51    8/69-5/70         extensive coverage of race relations at Emory

vol. 52    28 Oct 1970    “MLK scholarship winner”

vol. 52    6 Apr 1971      “Black Rap” (entire issue devoted to topics such as Black Studies, Malcolm X, etc.)

vol. 52    11 May 1971   “Dr. Arrington resigns”

vol. 69    nos. 21-38       coverage of Dr. Sondra O’Neal tenure controversy

vol. 70    nos. 25-27       coverage of Dr. Sondra O’Neal tenure controversy

vol. 71    Mar-Jun 1990  coverage of Sabrina Collins case

vol. 80    4 Sept 1998     “Percentage of blacks highest among top 25”

20 Mar 2002-present are online and searchable at http://www.emorywheel.com/

 

Honors papers – written by Emory seniors

  • HONORS 1981 F2

Farber, Elliott H.  The Integration of Emory University, 1981, 88 pages

 

Other relevant campus publications include Emory College Bulletins and Emory University Commencement Programs.

Audiovisual Materials

Audio Recordings

Please note that all audio recordings must be transferred to digital format before researchers may use them.  Very few of the following tapes have been transferred.  Please request recordings at least two weeks before you would like to use them so that we can transfer them to digital format.

RS C13 1949 “Songs by Glee Club of 1949,” Emory University.  Includes spirituals.  Track 7: “Were you There?" and “Good News,” Track 8: “I Got a Robe."

RM 143A  1957 “Editors View the South” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  [Also known as “Crisis in the Schools I”]  Track 1: Sarratt, Winston-Salem.  Track 2: Parham, Macon News.  

RM 143B  1957 “Editors View the South” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  [Also known as “Crisis in the Schools I”]  Track 1: Meyer, Gainesville, Ga.  Track 2: Ralph McGill, Atlanta Constitution.  

RM 143C  1957 “Editors View the South” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  [Also known as “Crisis in the Schools I”]  Track 1: Waring, Charleston, SC.  Track 2: Kilpatrick, Richmond, Va.  

RM 143D  1957 “Editors View the South” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  [Also known as “Crisis in the Schools I”]  Track 1: Hall, Montgomery, AL.  Track 2: Ashmore, Little Rock, AR. 

RM 135A  1958 “Crisis in the Schools II” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  Track 1: Introduction by John Griffin.  Track 2: A panel with James Mackay and Mr. Hall.  

RM 135B  1958 “Crisis in the Schools II” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  Track 1: “The Louisville Story” by Dr. Carmichael.  Track 2: “Our Southern Heritage” by Mr. Dabbs.  

RM 135C  1958 “Crisis in the Schools II” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  Track 1: Mr. Caldwell, former governor of Florida.  Track 2: Governor Marvin Griffin of Georgia.

RM 145A  1959 “Crisis in the Schools: Ministers’ Week,” Emory University.  Track 1: Dr. Carmichael, superintendent of schools, Louisville.  Tab: Paul R. Ervin of the Methodist Judiciary Council, Charlotte, N.C.  Track 2: Ralph McGill, editor, Atlanta Constitution.

RM 146A  1959 “Crisis in the Schools III” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  Track 1: Introduction by John Griffin.  Track 2: Mr. Montgomery, business editor, Atlanta Constitution.

RM 146B  1959 “Crisis in the Schools III” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  Track 1: Ralph McGill, editor, Atlanta Constitution.  Track 2: Robert Jordan, Senate floor leader, and school legislation.

RM 146C  1959 “Crisis in the Schools III” [Community Education Class], Emory University.  Track 1: Brotherhood Week forum “What are the Basic Issues of the Racial Crisis?” with James McBride Dabbs and Dr. Richardson.  Track 2: John Fischer, Superintendant of Schools, Baltimore.

RM 146D  1959 “Crisis in the Schools III,” Emory University.  Track 1: Address providing historical background by Bell Wiley.  Track 2: Ellis Arnold, former governor of Georgia (luncheon address to Institute of Citizenship, Emory University).

RM 147A  Feb/Mar 1959 “Crisis in the Schools,” Glenn Memorial Church, Emory University.  Track 1: James Mackay, “The Legal Aspects of the Situation,” 1 March.  Track 2: Panel on “Religious Foundations of Concern” with Theodore R. Weber, T. H. Runyon, Franklin Littell, and Ed Vinson.  Moderated by James May.  1 February.

RM 147B  Mar 1959 “Crisis in the Schools,” Glenn Memorial Church, Emory University.  Track 1: Judson Ward, “Historical Backgrounds of the Situation,” 15 March.  Track 2: Jim Cherry, “Specific Problems of the Situation,” 22 March.

RM 147C  Apr 1959 “Crisis in the Schools,” Glenn Memorial Church, Emory University.  Track 1: W. Gauerke, “Are Private Schools an Alternative?  Their Cost?” 12 April.  Track 2: summary session of “Crisis in the Schools III” [Community Education Class].

RM 199 Jun 1961 Education Workshop on School Integration, Emory University.  Track 1: Hugh Smith, retired principal, Jefferson Jr. High School, Washington, DC.  Track 3: Everett DeVaughn, principal, Brown High School.  Track 4: Discussion with Hugh Smith.

RM 239 1960 “Crisis in the Schools,” Emory University.  Track 1: Address by James McBride Dabbs.  Track 2: Eugene Patterson, “The Great South, 1961.”

RM 264H 1963 “Let’s Talk,” Emory News Bureau, Emory University. Track 1: Silver, James W., History, 100th Anniversary of Emancipation Proclamation.  Track 2: Emotional experiences in Atlanta in July. Part of a series of talks by University professors.  Each is approximately three to five minutes long.

RM 265 1963 “The Mississippi Crisis,” James Silver (University of Mississippi), Emory University.

RM 316 “Males Voices Unaccompanied,” Emory University. Tracks 1 and 2: “Steal Away to Jesus” and “Couldn’t Hear Nobody Pray,” Dr. Malcolm H. Dewey, director.

RL D93 “Spirituals and Sacred Selections,” Emory University. Track 1: “Couldn’t Hear Nobody Pray.” Track 2: “Were You There?” Track 3: “Rollin’ Down to Jordan.” Track 4: “Go Down, Moses.” Track 5: “My Spirit will be Joyful.” Track 6: “Salvation.”

RM 321A  Spring, 1965 “The South in Transition” [Community Education], Emory University.  Tracks 1 & 2:  “Economics,” Dale Henson, Director of Research, Atlanta Chamber of Commerce.  

RM 321B  Spring, 1965 “The South in Transition” [Community Education], Emory University.  Track 1: “Social Change,” Calvin Kytle, Acting Director, Community Relations Service, Washington, DC.  Track 2: “Living with Change,” Ralph McGill, Atlanta Constitution.

RM 340 17 Feb 1966 “Activism: a panel discussion,” AMB Auditorium, Emory University.  Panel members included Tom Huston (YAF), Julian Bond (SNCC), Bubba Sutton (Afirmation Vietnam), and Tom Quimby (Peace Corps).

RM 349     17 Nov 1966      Horizons program.  Address by Julian Bond in the Law School.

RM 400A  Fall 1967 “We Were There: Recent Georgia History” [Community Education], Emory University.  Class moderated by Judson C. Ward, Jr.  Track 1: Miss Ira Jarrell, former superintendent of Atlanta Public Schools.  Track 2: Judson C. Ward, Jr., Vice President of Emory.

RM 400B  Fall 1967 “We Were There: Recent Georgia History” [Community Education], Emory University.  Class moderated by Judson C. Ward, Jr.  Tracks 1 & 2: George Hamilton, former state treasurer.

RM 400C  Fall 1967 “We Were There: Recent Georgia History” [Community Education], Emory University.  Class moderated by Judson C. Ward, Jr. Track 1: DeWitt Roberts, attorney.  Track 2: Judson C. Ward, Jr., Vice President of Emory.

RM 400D  Fall 1967 “We Were There: Recent Georgia History” [Community Education], Emory University.  Class moderated by Judson C. Ward, Jr.  Tracks 1 & 2: Judson C. Ward, Jr.

RM 400E  Fall 1967 “We Were There: Recent Georgia History” [Community Education], Emory University.  Class moderated by Judson C. Ward, Jr.  Track 1: Mrs. Murdock Equen, civic leader.  Track 2: Judson C. Ward, Jr., Vice President of Emory.

RM 408 17 Apr1968 “Racial Crisis,” Cherry Auditorium, Bishops Hall, Theology School, Emory University. A forum held on the race question with particular emphasis on crises on Emory’s campus. Student speakers were Otis Turner and Edward Curtis Ducree of the School of Theology. A discussion follows the talks.

RM 413 10 Apr 1968 Memorial tributes to Martin Luther King, Jr.  Includes broadcast by Atlanta radio station WAOK and excerpts from Dr. King’s speeches

RM 423 20 Nov 1968 Student forum “Black Revolt and the White Church,” Theology School, Emory University.  Track 1: talk by Otis Turner.  Track 2: readings from Langston Hughes by Otis Turner and James Gavin.

RM 430 4 Apr 1969 Memorial service for Martin Luther King, Jr., Durham Chapel, Emory University.  Includes an address by Otis Turner.

RM 431 1967 “Race Relations in Hobson City,” Theology School, Emory University. A documentary with interviews in Hobson City, Alabama, by Stan Beason, a theology student.

RM 436     28 May 1969      Special Student-Faculty Convocation, Glenn Memorial Church, Emory University.  This meeting was the culmination and resolution of the events on the campus leading up to the court order which enjoined the Black Student Alliance and friends to cease picketing in Cox Hall.  Moderated by Edward C. Ducree.  Includes statements by President Atwood, Dean Stephens, and SGA President Charles Haynes and questions and statements from the audience.

RM 440    1960     Ministers Week Convocation, Glenn Memorial, Emory University. Address by Paul Urburn on school desegregation and the race question. Introduction by Dr. G. Ray Jordan. 

RM 459     1 May 1970        “American History and Racial Understanding.” An address given by Bell I. Wiley at the conference “Ethnic Studies in Virginia Schools: A Key to Cultural Understanding.”

 

 

Emory University Photograph Collection (EUPIX)

Series 3.1 Adminstrators A-Z: Contains images of Herman L. Reese

Series 5.2 Black Student Alliance: Includes images of MLK, Jr. and Andrew Young speaking at Emory, campus observances for MLK, Jr.'s death, and other events.

Series 5.3 Protests: Includes images of the 1969 racial protests on the steps of Candler Library and at Cox Hall.

 

Moving Images

Please note that all moving image formats must be transferred to digital format before researchers may use them.  Please request moving images at least two weeks before you would like to use them so that we can transfer them to digital format.

  • “History of African Americans at Emory University”
  • Spike Lee at Emory

Other Resources

Additional relevant items and collections include:

Graves Family papers (MSS327)

This collection contains an 1842 account book (OBV5) from the Oxford Store in which Kitty, a slave owned by James O. Andrew, is identified by name.

 

Wiley, Bell Irvin (MSS 521)

Papers, ca. 1860-1980; 140 linear ft. (216 boxes, 10 oversized papers)

The papers of Emory history professor Bell Wiley (1906-1980) contain research materials for his books and articles and materials from his courses.  

  • Box 190, folder 11: materials relating to the admission of African American students at Emory

 

Warren Akin Candler papers (MSS2)

This collection contains correspondence discussing the Andrew Sledd case and responses to a letter to the editor written by Candler about lynching and lawlessness (Box 11, Folders 8-9).

 

Series 46: Emory College Board of Trustees Minutes

Available on microfilm, a 19 July 1848 session includes a resolution authorizing faculty to deed a lot for the purpose of building a church for "col'd people."

 

Series 77

Two scrapbooks from Emory's chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha.

 

Exhibit notebook, "A Dream Deferred: African-Americans at Emory and Oxford Colleges"

This exhibit documented the history of race at Emory from 1836-1968. The exhibit notebook identifies enslaved persons in Oxford, Georgia from 1836-1864, and includes their associations with Oxford and Emory people.

The exhibit can also be viewed online.

 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority (EUA0077)

Nu Alpha Chapter records, 1979, 1999-2005; 2 linear ft. (1 box, 2 scrapbooks)

The Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded on January 15, 1908, was the first Greek-letter organization established by Black college women.  The Nu Alpha Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was chartered at Emory University on April 14, 1979.  These records consist of newsletters, photographs, and scrapbooks.

 

American Association of University Professors (AAUP) (EUA000)

Emory chapter records, 1930, 1940-1980; 8 linear ft. (4 boxes)

The AAUP is a network of faculty and academic professionals, organized into campus-based chapters and state conferences and backed up by national and field staff. On campus, AAUP chapters advocate for faculty rights and interests at an institutional level.  These records consist of minutes and papers.  

 

Atwood, Sanford S. (EUA2)

Office files, 1963-1977; 21 linear ft. (10.5 boxes)

Sanford S. Atwood (1912- ) was president of Emory University from 1963-1977.  See the following boxes and folders:

  • Box 17, folder 8: Martin Luther King, Jr., 1964-1968
  • Box 17, folder 11: Lovett Commencement on Emory campus, 1964-1966 (regarding race relations at this private school)
  • Box 18, folder 8: Policy on protest
  • Boxes 20-21:  student unrest (including Black Student Alliance demands in 1969 in box 20, folder 2)

 

Baccalaureate and Commencement records (EUA63)

1846-ongoing; 5.5 linear ft. (11 boxes)

See the following commencement addresses:

 

Student Organizations (EUA1000)

Records; 1 folder

This student organization is devoted to maintaining a cohesive, aware black community on campus, seeking to promote knowledge of black culture and acting as a forum for the expression of ideas and goals. 

 

Bowden, Henry L. (EUA5)

Office files, 1959-1987; 19 linear ft. (18 boxes)

Henry L. Bowden (1910- ), an Atlanta lawyer, was a member of the Emory University Board of Trustees from 1949-1979 and chairman from 1957-1979.  He was also Emory University legal counsel from 1948-1982.   Files in box 3 include information on the integration of Emory University.  Note: This box contains nine RESTRICTED files about the tenure case of Gwen K. Neville. 

 

Emory University Desegregation Collection (EUA99)

1962, 1969, 1987, 1990-1994; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

These records document Emory’s integration, student protests and demonstrations, Sondra O’Neal’s tenure case, and student Sabrina Collins’ case.

 

Emory College Board of Trustees Minutes (EUA46)

6 Feb 1837 – 7 Jun 1919; 2 microfilm reels

 

Equal Opportunity Programs (EUA43)

Office files, 1974-1992; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes)

The Office of Equal Opportunity Programs (EOP) was established in 1978 to ensure that Emory University operates in an environment which is free from discrimination and harassment.  These records include materials regarding affirmative action, policies, and recommendations.

 

Faculty records (EUA21)

1917-2000; 4 linear ft. (8 boxes)

Material relating to segregation in education is located in the following boxes and folders:

  • Box 3, folder 10: motions about segregated education issues, 2 May 1960
  • Box 4, folder 13: statement by the Emory faculty on closing the public schools, 1958
  • Box 5, folders 8-10: Afro-American studies (curriculum) sub-committee, 1969-1970
  • Box 8, folder 8: Martin Luther King, Jr., scholarship campaign, 1968, 1972-1973

 

Student Government Association records (EUA15)

1947-1991; 12 linear ft. (24 boxes)

The Student Government Association (SGA) was formed on Emory's Atlanta campus in 1966. The organization was founded to serve as a vehicle through which students could have their concerns addressed by elected student representatives.  SGA records include the following subject files:

  • Box 22, folder 4: Martin Luther King, Jr., scholarship fund, 1970 and undated

Box 22, folder 9: Race relations, 1969-1970 and undated

 

United Campus Ministry records (EUA16)

1951-1981; 9 linear ft. (9 boxes)

  • Box 3, folder 7: ministry to Black campuses, 1970, 1972, and undated.

 

University Senate records (EUA29)

1950-1996; 10 linear ft. (20 boxes)

  • Box 4: meeting minutes
  • Box 12, folder 7: educational opportunities for minority students (ad hoc), 1978

 

Ward, Judson C.  (EUA27)

Office files, 1949-1979; 27.5 linear ft. (27 boxes)

Judson C. Ward joined Emory College as dean in 1948. In 1957, he was appointed vice president and dean of faculties and in 1970 was named executive vice president, a position from which he retired in 1979.  See the following boxes and folders:

  • Box 11, folder 10: Black students (admissions)
  • Box 18, folder 10: Bi-racial Committee
  • Box 19, folder 2: Black students (desegregation)

 

Young, James Harvey (EUA97)

Papers, 1946-1989; 137.5 linear ft. (136 boxes plus additions)

James Harvey Young was a professor of history at Emory from 1941-1984.  He was appointed chair of a special college faculty committee which was formed to help resolve issues raised during the black student crisis at Emory University in 1969.  The collection includes a folder of materials relating to the African American student protests at Emory in 1969.  Among these are a photocopy of the restraining order issued against student protesters and collected printed material.  Other material concerns the Black Student Alliance and race relations at Emory in general. 

  • Box 4, folder 8: Black student crisis at Emory University, spring 1969.

 

 Rare Books and Periodicals

 

Great Speckled Bird – an Atlanta-area newspaper

Folio AP2.G79

vol. 2, no. 12   June 1969        articles about African Americans (students and workers) at Emory

 

Reference Materials

 

“Remembering Enslaved Persons in Oxford, Georgia, 1836-1864,” exhibit notebook.

This notebook was created by the class that curated the “Dream Deferred: African Americans at Emory and Oxford Colleges, 1836-1968” exhibit shown at the Atlanta and Oxford campuses in 2002.  It contains all of the information that they could find about slaves associated in any way with Emory College.

 

Contact Information

Profile Photo
John Bence
Contact:
Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-9123
jbence@emory.edu
Website
Contact: Twitter Page