Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Emory University History: Events

This guide includes descriptions of resources from Emory University Archives as well as manuscript collections related to the history of Emory University.

discoverE Search Terms for Emory University Archives

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections, and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Helpful search terms for MARBL collections:

"Emory University--Faculty"

"Emory University--Students"

"Emory University--Students--Socities"

"Emory College--Administration"

Events

These collections pertain to special events held at Emory, including exhibits, conferences, symposia, and ceremonies.

Emory University Baccalaureate and Commencement collection, 1918-2011 (Series No. 63)
11.25 linear ft. (17 boxes) and web sites
Collection consists of materials related to Emory University's Baccalaureate and Commencement ceremonies including programs, sermons, addresses, invitations, honorary degree citations, and other items.

Emory University anniversary observances collection, 1936-2011 (Series No. 68)
3.5 linear ft. (7 boxes), 1 bound volume (BV), and 1 oversize paper folder (OP)
This collection contains materials related to anniversary celebrations observing the founding of Emory College in 1836 and Emory University in 1915 and includes programs, addresses, oral histories, and ephemera.

Rethinking Human Rights symposium records, 1981-1984 (Series No. 59)
5.5 linear ft. (9 boxes)
Records contain materials related to scholarly and cultural events held on the campus of Emory University around the theme of human rights during the 1982-1983 academic year. Culminating in a major symposium, Rethinking Human Rights, and a series of essays in Daedelus, the journal of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the events engaged divergent academic disciplines. Materials include not only lecture transcripts from the year’s numerous visiting scholars, but also grant proposals, committee minutes, memoranda and other planning documents, and correspondence.

Without Sanctuary Atlanta exhibition and conference files, 2000-2003 (Series No. 60)
13 linear ft. (17 boxes)
The collection includes materials related to both the exhibition of Without Sanctuary: Lynching Photography in America in Atlanta, Ga. and a conference on the topic held at Emory University in 2002 entitled "Lynching and Racial Violence in America: Histories and Legacies."

Contact Information

John Bence's picture
John Bence
Contact:
Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-9123
jbence@emory.edu
Website