Emory University History: Benefactors

Woodruff (1889-1985) was a primary benefactor of Emory University. In 1912, he joined his father's business, Atlantic Ice and Coal Company, serving as the purchasing agent until he joined the White Motor Company. At White Motor, he ascended to vice-president and general manager and when White died in 1929, Woodruff became president of the company. In the meantime his father purchased the Coca-Cola Company in 1919. Woodruff left White Motor in 1923 and served as president of Coca-Cola from 1923-1939 and 1945-1946. He then served in other capacities including the Board of Directors until 1984. As a philanthropist, Woodruff gave to many causes including parks, the arts in Atlanta, universities and colleges, and organizations. He was also an avid sportsman and owned a ranch, TE, in Cody, Wyoming and a plantation, Ichauway, located in South Georgia. The papers include personal and business correspondence; personal files; photographs and photograph albums; scrapbooks; audio-visual materials; certificates; honors, awards, plaques, and commemorative items; special occasion files; architectural drawings, blueprints, and maps; date and appointment books, genealogical material; files relating to legal matters handled by King & Spalding; memorabilia; printed materials; personal business and financial files; and papers of Ernest Woodruff, Henry Woodruff, and Nell Hodgson Woodruff. The collection documents the activities of Robert W. Woodruff including his involvement with White Motor Company and the Coca-Cola Company, his philanthropic endeavors, and his personal pursuits including his Baker County (Ga.) plantation, Ichauway and the TE Ranch in Cody (Wym.)
Related collections in MARBL: Carolyn Atkins papers, Sanford Atwood papers, Asa Griggs Candler papers, Coca-Cola collection, Rose Davis papers, Richard C. Gresham papers, William Hartsfield papers, Boisfeuillet Jones papers, Bobby Jones papers, Ralph McGill papers, and Nell Hodgson Woodruff papers.
Related materials located in other repositories: Coca-Cola Company Archives, Atlanta, Georgia.

Candler (1851-1929) married Lucy Elizabeth Howard (1859-1919) in 1878 and Mary Reagan Little in 1923. As an Atlanta druggist (1873-1890), Candler became sole owner and manufacturer of the Coca-Cola elixir. After selling that company, he invested in real estate, opened banks in Atlanta and elsewhere, was a founder of Atlanta's Chamber of Commerce, and its mayor (1916-1919). Candler helped organize and fund activities of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, including Wesley Memorial Enterprises, Emory College, and Emory University, serving as president of the Board of Trustees of the college (1906-1919) and of the university (1915-1929). His papers include business papers, correspondence, speeches, clippings, photographs, memorabilia, certificates, a minutes book, scrapbook, autograph album, and ledger. Business papers deal with banking activities and real estate transactions in Atlanta, Georgia, especially the Druid Hills area, and in other cities. Correspondence is to and from Candler and other family members, and concerns Emory College, Emory University, business matters including the Coca-Cola Company, and family life. Other materials relate to Candler's personal, religious, and civic life, including mayoral activities.
Related collections in MARBL: Charles Howard Candler papers; Walter Turner Candler papers; Warren A. Candler papers; Candler Family Collection; Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Educational Commission Records; and Harry Harlan Stone papers. Records relating to Candler's service as an Emory trustee are with the Emory Archives.

Samuel Charles Candler (1809-1873) married Martha Bernetta Beall (1819-1897) in 1833. Their eleven children included Atlanta philanthropist and businessman, Asa Griggs Candler (1851-1929), Methodist Bishop Warren Akin Candler (1857-1941), and Florence Julia Candler Harris (1842-1926); their grandchildren included Atlanta philanthropist Charles Howard Candler, horse sportsman, Walter Turner Candler, and businessman Samuel Charles Candler. The family’s papers include correspondence, clippings, an architectural drawing, photographs, scrapbooks, biographies and genealogies relating to the Candler family. Correspondence of Candler family members including Milton Asa, Asa Warren, Samuel Charles, and John Slaughter Candler and Florence Candler Harris, Andrew and Florence Candler Sledd, and C.G. Greene. Photograph albums were compiled by Mrs. Samuel Charles Candler, Jr., family scrapbooks of clippings and other printed materials were compiled by Florence Candler Harris, and genealogical files were compiled by Frances G. Candler. Some material is photocopied. The silhouette is of Samuel L. Millard; an architectural drawing by Hentz, Reid and Adler is of the front elevation of Emory University Hospital.
Related collections in MARBL: Asa Griggs Candler papers, Charles Howard Candler papers, Walter Turner Candler papers, and Warren Akin Candler papers.