Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Emory University History: Student Life

This guide includes descriptions of resources from Emory University Archives as well as manuscript collections related to the history of Emory University.

discoverE Search Terms for Emory University Archives

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections, and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Helpful search terms for MARBL collections:

"Emory University--Faculty"

"Emory University--Students"

"Emory University--Students--Socities"

"Emory College--Administration"

Student Life

These collections pertain to student organizations or largely contain information relating to students, for both Emory College and University.

Emory College student organization records, 1839-1932 (Series No. 49)
.5 linear ft. (1 box) and 56 bound volumes (BV)
The collection includes minutes, bylaws, rolls, library records, constitutions, ledgers, and other records of student organizations at Emory College. Records are chiefly those of the Few Literary Society and Phi Gamma Society, literary and debate societies. There are also records of College secret societies and fraternities including the Irinian Society, Mystic Seven, and Kappa Alpha Order.

Emory Alumni Association records, 1880-2001 (Series No. 42)
9.25 linear ft.(14 boxes, 12 bound volumes (BV), and 1 oversized paper (OP))
Records of the Emory Alumni Association include memorabilia, financial records, audio recordings, and planning documents related to various events and class reunions organized for Emory alumni.

Phi Beta Kappa Gamma Chapter of Georgia records, 1906-2001 (Series No. 88)
9 linear ft.(19 boxes)
Phi Beta Kappa Gamma Chapter of Georgia was established at Emory University in 1929. Phi Beta Kappa, founded 1776, is a national student honors society dedicated to liberal education and intellectual fellowship. The collection consists of the records, 1929-2001, of Phi Beta Kappa Georgia Gamma at Emory University. Earlier items include the records, 1906-1963, of Gamma Chapter predecessor, Alpha Epsilon Upsilon Honor Society at Emory College, and the chapter planning files, 1924-1929, of Theodore Henley Jack (b. 1881), dean of the School of Liberal Arts at Emory University. The records include correspondence of the chapter secretary, record books, bylaws, financial records, reports, membership rosters, and printed materials related to the administration and activities of the chapter, including chapter officer elections, member nominations and initiation, Phi Beta Kappa national conferences, and local social events. Notable among members represented in the collection is Goodrich C. White (b. 1889).

Emory University Memorabilia Collection, 1907-2011 (Series No. 74)
8.25 linear ft. (17 boxes)
Collection includes pins, ribbons, banners, clothing and other memorabilia items related to Emory University.

D.V.S. Senior Honor Society records, 1909-2011 (Series No. 98)
4.5 linear ft. (10 boxes and 1 extra oversized paper (XOP))
Records of the D.V.S. Senior Honor Society of Emory University, including the secret society's membership lists, handbooks, lecture programs, and correspondence primarily related to the Goodrich C. Wright lecture series and the society's annual Jamboree.

Emory University Glee Club records, 1918-1986 (Series No. 8)
The collection contains the records of the Emory University Glee Club and includes correspondence, performance programs, subject files, clippings, scrapbooks, and audiovisual materials.

Emory University matriculation cards, 1919-1970 (Series No. 186)
9 linear ft. (54 boxes)
The collection includes matriculation cards filled out by students enrolling at Emory University between the years 1919 and approximately 1970.

Atlanta Hillel records, 1963-2006 (bulk 1963-1988) (Series No. 9)
1.5 linear ft. (2 boxes) and web sites
Atlanta Hillel was an organization for Jewish college students in Atlanta, Ga. The collection consists of records of Atlanta Hillel programs at Emory University, Georgia Institute of Technology, and Oglethorpe University, including correspondence, membership materials, and subject files. There is also printed material, 2004-2006, produced by Emory Hillel, a related organization for Jewish students at Emory University.

Emory University Student and Academic Services records, 1966-1980 (Series No. 17)
10 linear ft. (10 boxes)
The Student and Academic Services records consist of administrative materials such as annual reports, correspondence, minutes, and memoranda relating to Thomas L. Fernandez's tenure as Vice-President for Student and Academic Services.

Student Government Association records, 1915-2007 (Series No. 15)
24.25 linear ft. (46 boxes) and 2 oversize paper folders (OP)
Records of the Student Government Association of Emory University, an elected body representing the interests of the University's student population, include meeting minutes and agenda, budgets, correspondence, bills and resolutions, rosters, bylaws, publications, and subject files related the work of the Student Government Association and to issues concerning Emory University students.

Contact Information

John Bence's picture
John Bence
Contact:
Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-9123
jbence@emory.edu
Website