Emory University History: Faculty and Staff

Bonnell became a Methodist minister (1845) and served in Georgia and Kentucky; was professor of Greek Literature, Emory College, Oxford, Georgia (1851); taught natural science at Wesleyan Female College, Macon, Georgia (1852); was president of Tuscaloosa (Alabama) Female High School (ca. 1853-1859); and served as president of Wesleyan Female College (ca. 1860-1871). Bonnell's son, John Fletcher Bonnell, taught at Emory College after his father's death. Bonnell's common-place book contains excerpts from literature read, thoughts on classical and theological questions, and notes. Record books contain a list of pupils at Tuscaloosa Methodist Female High School (1856-1857) and a list of the faculties of the Methodist Schools (1858-1859; later used by J.F. Bonnell). A sermon book also contains a draft of a letter refusing to allow Wesleyan Female College to be used as a Confederate Hospital (ca. 1864).

Boozer (1918-1989) was a scholar and teacher of religion. He was a graduate of Emory University, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Religion at Emory, a published author and lecturer, and an activist in civic and social movements. His papers include notes, research materials, manuscripts, published articles, correspondence, and administrative and printed material. Notes, research materials, manuscripts, and published articles reflect Boozer's research and writing on Paul Tillich, Rudolph Otto, the Holocaust, and ethical issues. Correspondence and administrative and printed materials relate primarily to Emory University, faculty committees, student groups, his musical interests, and his involvement with the Druid Hills Civic Association.

Cuttino (1914-1991) graduated from Swarthmore College (1935), University of Iowa (1936), Oxford University (1938) and did post-doctoral study at the Institute of Historical Research, University of London (1938-1939). He was a professor of history at University of Iowa (1939-42; 1946), Bryn Mawr College and Swarthmore College (1946-1952), and at Emory University (1952-1984). Cuttino was also a Rhodes Scholar (1936-1939), a Guggenheim Foundation Fellow (1947-1948; 1953-1954), and a recipient of the Haskins Medal from from the Medieval Academy of America (1979). Among other honors and honorary positions Cuttino held at Emory University are the Candler Chair in Medieval History (1980), and the position of Chief Marshal (1976-1984). In addition to being a scholar of medieval history, he is a genealogist and the author of SADDLE BAGS AND SPINNING WHEEL, the collected letters of his grandparents, and a HISTORY OF THE CUTTINO FAMILY. His papers include genealogical materials, correspondence, office files, personal papers, visual materials, reports, and periodicals. Materials relate to Cuttino's family research and his career as a scholar and educator. Personal papers include material related to World War II, including periodicals produced by the Allies and the Nazis, and material relting to prisoners of war. Cuttino's manuscript "The Cauldron of Mittleeuropa," and a diary describes his travel through central Europe just before World War II (1938). Visual materials include photographs and engravings, primarily of Cuttino and related family members.
Related collections in MARBL: Lucius Horace Featherston papers.

Davison (1891-1958) graduated from Mercer University (1911) and Atlanta Medical College (1915) and did postgraduate work in Internal Medicine and in Immunology in New York. Davison's medical specialties became internal medicine and allergy. He served in the U.S. Army Medical Corps at Evacuation Hospital No. 17, Siberia (1917-1919), and served with the American Red Cross Foreign Service (1919-1920) in Russia; taught at the Atlanta College of Pharmacy (1914-1915), New York Postgraduate Hospital (1916-1917), and Emory University School of Medicine (1923-1943); and was on the staff of five Atlanta Hospitals. He was active in several professional organizations (1935-1957) including the Fulton County Medical Society (president, 1951) and the Medical Association of Georgia (president, 1956-1957). His papers include correspondence, biographical information, photographs, subject files, speeches and other writings, passports, and memorabilia. Materials primarily relate to Davison's career as a physician, including his World War I service and his work for the Red Cross Foreign Service in Russia. Other topics covered include his education, Albert Schweitzer, professional and civic organizations, allergy and other medical problems, and the publication of Davison's book, DOCTORS AND DOGS DON'T COUNT (corrected chapters included).

Dempsey (1848-1947) was Dean of Theology (1917-1919) and trustee (1914-1921) of Emory College, Professor of Biblical Literature and trustee (1922-1930) of Emory University, editor of the WESLEYAN CHRISTIAN ADVOCATE (1930-1932), a daily columnist with the Atlanta CONSTITUTION, secretary of the North Georgia Conference Historical Society (1939-1947), and author of biographies of Bishops Atticus G. Haygood, James E. Dickey, and Warren A. Candler, and other writings. His papers include correspondence, day books, diaries, photographs, printed materials, and sermons. Correspondence (1855-1952) and other materials relate to Dempsey's career, publications, and to his family. Photographs are of class groups and persons.

Dewey (1881-1966) received his graduate degrees from Howard University (1912) and from the University of Chicago (1918). He joined the Emory University faculty in 1919 as professor of Romance Languages and organized the Department of Fine Arts in 1927. The collection consists of papers of Malcolm Howard Dewey from ca. 1903-1963. The papers include correspondence from sculptor Augustus Saint-Gaudens to Dewey's father, Dr. Edward Hooker Dewey, regarding patient-physician matters relating to diet and health (1903-1904); letters between Dewey and portraitist Wilford Seymour Conrow primarily pertaining to portraits painted for Emory University (1944-1956); and other miscellaneous letters. The collection also includes photographs of Metropolitan Opera stars; articles relating to Glenn Memorial Methodist Church, where Dewey directed music and the Emory University Glee Club, which he conducted from 1920-1957.
Related collections in MARBL: Maybelle Jones Dewey papers and Emory University Glee Club records.

English (1895-1992) taught English at Wisconsin University (1920-1921), Yale University (1924-1925), Princeton summer school (1923-1927), and Emory University (1925-1964), where he chaired the Department of English (1942-1952), edited the EMORY UNIVERSITY QUARTERLY (1945-1964), EMORY SOURCES AND REPRINTS (1943-1958), and other Emory publications, and authored a history of Emory University, textbooks, and other publications. His papers include correspondence, poetry, photographs, articles and speeches, scrapbooks, bookplates, greeting cards, memorabilia, subject files, medals, manuscripts, an audiocassette and a videocassette. Materials relate to English's teaching and writing career; his books MEMORY VERSE: THIRTY-FIVE YEARS OF OCCASIONAL VERSE (1953), EMORY UNIVERSITY, 1915-1965: A SEMICENTENNIAL HISTORY (1966), MEMORY BOOK: PERSONS AND OCCASIONS OF A LONG LIFE, and other publications; his participation in the Southern Humanities Conference; Atlanta poets; and his days at Blackburn College and Princeton University. There are also personal correspondence to English from his parents (1906-1948), letters to English from various friends and associates, and bookplates and commemorative medals collected by English.
Related collections in MARBL: Athos Menaboni Collection and Emory University Archives.

Floyd (1898-1973) received his B.D. from Emory University (1924) and his Ph.D. from Yale University (1939). Author of WHITE MAN--YELLOW MAN, and editor of THE DIARY OF YOUNG J. ALLEN, Floyd was a teaching missionary to Japan (1924-1928), and professor of Christian Mission and World Religions at Candler School of Theology, Emory University (1934-1967). Papers consist of manuscripts, subject files, and an audio tape. Materials relate to world religions, Christianity in developing countries, his travels, and to classes taught by Floyd at Emory University. Manuscripts include papers written by some of his students, his thesis (Candler School of Theology, 1924), and some of his articles. The audio tape is of his 1967 retirement dinner.

Gosnell (1893-1963) received an A.B. degree from Wofford College (1916) and a Ph.D. from Princeton University (1928); served in the U.S. Navy and reserves (1918-1921); and taught at other southern colleges before coming to Emory University (1927), where he established the Institute of Citizenship for the study of public problems in the Southeast, was active in professional associations, and wrote or co-authored several books and articles before retiring in 1962. Correspondence, manuscripts, notes, scrapbooks, photographs, and printed material. Materials relate to Gosnell's book, FUNDAMENTALS OF AMERICAN NATIONAL GOVERNMENT, and other publications; the Institute of Citizenship and other organizations in which Gosnell was involved; Wofford College; the county unit system of state government; the Georgia state constitution; and the book fund established in his name at the Emory University Library. Correspondents include Emory faculty and students, publishers, educators, and Georgia and national political figures. Photographs are of Gosnell.

Thomas Henry Haden, educator and Methodist missionary, was born 14 February 1863, in Palmyra, Virginia, and died 3 November 1946, in McIntosh, Florida. In 1895, Haden received his Bachelor of Divinity degree from Vanderbilt University, married Jennie Conwell, and left for Japan to begin a career as a missionary for the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. He was assigned to the Tadotsu Circuit but became a professor (1896-1940) and dean of theology at the Kwansei Gakuin (University) in Kobe, Japan; he was also in evangelistic work for three years. In the summer of 1921, he taught two courses at Emory University. The journals date from October 21, 1896 to October 13, 1946, and cover Haden's daily routine, including his teaching duties in Japan and at Emory University, and his retirement years.

Hart (1891-1981) was educated at Williams College (M.A., 1916) and Johns Hopkins (Ph.D., 1927), and taught romance languages and classics at Lafayette College (1919-1920), Reed College (1927-1928), and Emory University (1928-1960). He also served with the Foyer du Soldat in the French Army (1917-1919) and wrote a drama-in-verse about Samuel Johnson. Correspondence, receipts, report cards, postcards, clippings, diaries, date books, poems, and printed material. The majority of the collection consists of correspondence, primarily letters of Charles R. Hart. Many are to his mother, Margaret Louise Hart. Other family members' letters are also included, particularly those of his wife, Angie McCoy Harding Hart, and his brothers, Kenneth and Kirke. Charles Hart's letters document his daily life as a student, soldier, and teacher. The other materials in the collection are also Charles Hart's.

Harwell (1915-1988) graduated from Emory University (English, 1937; Library Science, 1938) and received an honorary doctorate from New England College (1966). Harwell worked in libraries at Duke University (1938-1940), Emory University (assistant director, 1940-1943; Special Collections Department head, 1946-1948; assistant librarian, 1948-1955), Virginia State Library (1956-1957), Bowdoin College (1961-1968), Smith College (1968-1970), Georgia Southern College (1970-1975), and University of Georgia (1975-1980). Harwell was also active in several professional associations, including the Association of College Research Libraries, Southeastern Library Association, and the American Library Association. Harwell wrote and edited several books about the Civil War, Confederate imprints, and GONE WITH THE WIND, and was the compiler of many bibliographies and the author of numerous pamphlets, articles, and reviews. The papers include manuscripts, drafts and proofs, notebook, correspondence, and reviews. Manuscripts are for Harwell's books, CONFEDERATE BELLES-LETTERS (1941), CONFEDERATE MUSIC (1950), and A CONFEDERATE MARINE (1963); other materials relate to these books, to articles by Harwell, and to his career. Topics include his service with the U.S. Navy during World War II, his position as head of Emory University Special Collections Department (1946-1948), Japan, John Wesley, and Wilbur Kurtz. Posthumous materials include an obituary, tributes, and a reminiscence by Philip N. Racine.
Related collections in MARBL: Guy Redvers Lyle papers.

Clay (1866-1930) served in the North Alabama Conference of the Methodist Espiscopal Church, South; was on the faculty of the Candler School of Theology, Emory University (1914-1930); and was the author of PRINCES OF THE CHRISTIAN PULPIT AND PASTORATE. He married Lucia E. Smith in 1891. The papers include correspondence, sermons, and photographs connected with the life of Harry Clay Howard or Lucia E. Smith Howard.
Related collections in MARBL: Warren A. Candler papers and Atticus G. Haygood papers.

Jarrell (1874-1961), Methodist clergyman, educator, and author became a professor at Emory College (1896-1899; 1916-), and Young Harris College (1900-1901); did graduate work in Europe (1911-1912); was a pastor of churches in Augusta, Monroe, Athens, Atlanta, and other Georgia cities (ca. 1930-1937); was president of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Hospital Association and the American Protestant Hospital Association (1935); was on President Hoovers's Hospital Advisory Board (1932); authored nine books; and served on the boards of trustees of Paine, Reinhardt, and Weslyan colleges. Jarrell retired in 1944. The papers include correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, printed materials, notebooks, sermons, manuscripts, and histories. Materials relate to Jarrell's work with Methodist hospitals, the Methodist Church, his education at Emory College, and to the churches he pastored; to his father, Methodist leader Anderson Joseph Jarrell, and to his uncle, Methodist historian George Gilman Smith; and to the Jarrell and Smith families and the Jarrell Plantation in Juliette, Georgia.
Related collections in MARBL: Warren A. Candler papers, Costen Jordan Harrell papers, and George Gilman Smith papers.

After Jenkins (1876-1961) received his law degree from the University of Georgia (1896), Jenkins practiced law in Eatonton, Georgia, until 1909. He was Eatonton's mayor (1902-1903), a representative from Putnam County to the Georgia General Assembly (1905-1906), a justice and presiding justice on the Georgia Court of Appeals (1916-1936), a justice and chief of justice on the Georgia Supreme Court (1936-1948), and a professor of law at Emory University (ca. 1948-1958). He was the author of many articles and poems and published AFTERTHOUGHTS in 1955. The papers include correspondence, manuscripts, notes, poems, printed materials, notebooks, and a scrapbook. Correspondence is from and to Jenkins concerning law, Eatonton, Georgia, his poetry, and the public response to AFTERTHOUGHTS. Manuscripts are of articles and addresses; notes are for speeches; printed materials include articles by and about Jenkins; the scrapbook was compiled by Jenkins as a boy; poems are by Jenkins; photographs are of the Jenkins family, Jenkins's swearing-in ceremony with Governor Eugene Talmadge, and his Eatonton home.

ory University School of Dentistry, 1944), studied orthodontics at the University of Pennsylvania (1925-1926), and was then associated with Dr. Thomas P. Hinman in Atlanta until 1931. He was a professor of orthodontics (1929-1949) and department chairman at the Emory University School of Dentistry (1949-1965), wrote articles related to his work, and was president of the American Society of Dentistry for children (1940-1941), the United States section of the International College of Dentists, the Northern District Dental Association (1957), and the Georgia Dental Association (1966). The papers include correspondence, clippings, photographs, writings, and memorabilia relating to Lamon's career. Materials include information on the Crozat Removable Appliance, schools Lamons attended, and professional associations to which he belonged. Photographs depict members of dental associations and Psi Omega Dental Fraternity and events they conducted.

Loemker (1900-1985), chairman of the Philosophy Department at Emory University (Atlanta, Ga.) from 1929-1971, taught philosophy and spent his career translating and studying German philosopher Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz, the 17th century, and intellectual history. The bulk of the papers pertain to Loemker's career as philosophy teacher and researcher at Emory University (Atlanta, Ga.) from 1929-1971. They include course outlines and notes, including a notebook "Seventeenth Century book-notes"; Loemker's dissertation (1931) and his scholarly works including papers on Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz and a carbon draft of "Struggle for Synthesis"; miscellaneous printed materials, mainly regarding Liebniz; general correspondence and personal items (1938-1976); and a large number of his published and unpublished papers and notes devoted to intellectual history and American personalism.

Frank Manley, poet, playwright, and novelist, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania on November 13, 1930 to Kathryn L. Needham and Aloysius F. Manley. Manley earned a bachelor's degree (1952) and master's degree (1953) from Emory University in Atlanta. After receiving his Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins in 1959, Manley taught at Yale University until 1964. He then returned to Atlanta, and became an associate professor of English at Emory in 1964. He was named Charles Howard Candler Professor of Renaissance Literature in 1982, and in 1990, he founded the Creative Writing program. In addition to teaching, Manley was the author several works, including several books of poetry, Resultances (1980), and The Emperors (2001); novels such as The Cockfighter (1998), and True Hope (2002); and plays such as Two Masters (1985) and Prior Engagements (1987).

Frank Manley married Carolyn Holliday in 1952, and had two children, Evelyn and Mary. He died on November 11, 2009.

The collection consists of the papers of Frank Manley from 1959-2009. The papers consist primarily of manuscripts and typescript drafts of his literary works. The collection also contains some limited correspondence relating to his academic career at Emory University.

Manry (1893-1957) was a graduate of Boys' High School in Atlanta (1910), Harvard University (1914), and University of Iowa (Ph.D. 1923). He traveled to India where he taught in Allahabad (1915-1921; 1923-1929; 1932-1938) and Lahore (1939) and worked with refugees (1942-1943; 1947). He retired from service in India in 1945 when he became a visiting professor in history of religion at Emory University. His papers include correspondence, clippings, photographs, and memorabilia. Materials relate to Manry's career, particularly his teaching in India with Ewing Christian College and Forman Christian College, the YMCA, and his mission work. Also documented are schools he attended, the teaching of and writing about education and religion, his travels, and his family.

May (1912- ) was a Methodist minister, a World War II chaplain, and professor of church history at Emory University. The collection consists of papers of James W. May from 1929-1988. The papers include correspondence, academic records, sermons, printed material, and clippings. The papers document his activities as a student at Emory University (1929-1939) and the Union Theological Seminary (1938-1941), his service as a chaplain in the United States Army during World War II, and his career as a professor at Emory University. Of particular interest in the correspondence are letters from his parents, Susie Eidson and Chester May, written to May during his college years documenting the onset of the Great Depression and correspondence (1944-1946) written and received by May while he served with the U.S. Army stationed in Germany during and following World War II. The collection also includes collected printed materials and memoranda from church organizations relating to school integration (1955-1963); and materials of the Methodist Federation for Social Action (1947-1952) collected by executive secretary, Jack R. McMichael.

McLean (1888-1977) was on the faculty at Emory University (1919-1957), where he was chairman of the history department from 1941-1948. The collection consists of papers of Ross Hanlin McLean from 1905-1975. The papers include correspondence, diaries, photographs, personal memorabilia, and printed material. The correspondence consists of letters of a general nature (1910-1975) relating to McLean's life prior and subsequent to his arrival at Emory and his association with other historians and schools. Correspondence also includes family letters (1907-1967) mainly written to and from his wife, May B. McLean, and his mother, Bianca H. McLean, and covering McLean's days as a student at Cornell and Michigan; his army service, and his appointment at Emory. The diaries (1905-1945) trace McLean's remembrances of his high school days in Wellsville, Ohio, to the end of his service as chairman of the history department at Emory and are extensive in their coverage of campus life and history of the university and social activity in Atlanta Ga. The collection also includes genealogical material concerning the McLean family, collected writings, pamphlets, and newspaper clippings.

Licensed to preach in the Methodist Church in 1828, Means was also the first rector (1834-1838), professor of natural science (1838-1846), and president (1854-1855) of Emory College; president of Masonic Female College in Covington, Georgia (1853); lecturer in chemistry at Augusta Medical College (1840-1860) and Atlanta Medical College, (1855-1868), where he demonstrated incandescent electrical lighting equipment in 1857. He was the Confederacy's official inspector of munitions during the Civil War and examining chemist for the State of Georgia (1868-1877) as well as a member of various scientific organizations, and the author of sermons, addresses, and verse. His papers consist of correspondence, poems, reviews, diaries, photocopies, biographies, clippings, a photograph, a family Bible, and a portrait, relating to the life and career of Alexander Means or to his family. Correspondence includes originals and typed copies; a journal of Minnie E. Capers, Means' grandaughter, and letters of Frances Means are photocopied; the poems and diaries for 1861, 1873, 1874, and 1879 are by Alexander Means; clippings and biographies relate to him; reviews are of Ross McLean's book publication of Means's 1861 diary; the photograph is of electric lighting equipment used by Means; and the portrait of Means is by Lewis Gregg. A Means family recipe book and family Bible complete the collection.
Related materials in the Emory University Archives: records Records and other items related to Alexander Means's service as president of Emory College are located in the Emory University Archives.

Melton (1867-1944) earned a Ph.D. at Johns Hopkins (1906); taught at Emory University (1908-1924); wrote three books, including THE RHETORIC OF JOHN DONNE'S VERSE (1903); and was poet laureate of Georgia (1943). Correspondence, notes and notebooks, and a list, concern Melton's writing and publication of THE RHETORIC OF JOHN DONNE'S VERSE; his obituary.

Gustavus Orr (1819-1877) was a teacher, Georgia surveyor, a county tax collector, president of Southern Masonic Female College (Covington, 1867-1870), Georgia state school commissioner (1872-1887), and organizer of the state's public school system and of the Georgia Education Association; his son, Edgar H. Orr (1850-1914) was superintendent of the Brunswick and Glynn County, Georgia schools (1889-1892), and a Justice of the Peace (1892-1913); Edgar's sister, Dorothy Orr (Martha R. "Dolly" Orr, b. 1887), became supervising principal of the Atlanta Schools until her retirement in 1952, was organizer and first president of Kappa Delta Epsilon, an educational sorority, and author of A HISTORY OF EDUCATION IN GEORGIA (1940), and GUSTAVUS JOHN ORR (1971); Edgar's son, Edgar H. Orr, Jr. (1890-1968), was an Atlanta photographer. The papers include correspondence, clippings, genealogical information, addresses and reports, photographs, a scrapbook, and manuscripts. Correspondence (1825-1972), pertains to family and business matters including the Georgia-Florida boundary, the Civil War and Reconstruction, education and educational facilities, World War I, travel, and publishing. Clippings, genealogical information, addresses and reports, a scrapbook, and manuscripts pertain to Dorothy Orr's books, her sorority work, and to her Atlanta Woman of the Year award (1949). Photographs are of family members. There are also unidentified manuscripts and the draft of a biography of Angus E. Orr and some of his stories.

Peed (1857-1925) graduated from Randolph-Macon College (Ashland, Va.) in 1878. He taught mathematics and astronomy at Emory College (Oxford, Ga.) and at Emory University (Atlanta, Ga.) from 1889-1925. The collection consists of papers of the Mansfield Theodore Peed family from 1874-1954. The papers include Peed's school notebooks (1887), textbooks, and some of his writings; correspondence pertaining to his teaching position in mathematics and astronomy at Emory College (Oxford, Ga.) and at Emory University (Atlanta, Ga.) from 1899-1925; and Peed's letters to his wife, Ann Fulton Peed from 1889-1892. Also contains diplomas, certificates, family photographs and miscellaneous papers and correspondence to Peed's daughters, Virginia Hamilton Peed and Eugenia Peed Erwin, and to his grandson, Jack Erwin.

Rojas (1928- ), novelist, essayist, and collage artist who won the National Prize for Literature in Spain in 1968. He joined the faculty of Emory University in 1960 and served as the Charles Howard Candler Professor in Spanish starting 1980. The collection consists of the personal papers of Carlos Rojas, mostly containing manuscripts and typescripts of his writings.

Schuchard is Goodrich C. White Professor of English at Emory University, where he began his career as teacher and scholar in 1969. He completed his graduate work at the University of Texas, Austin, and teaches courses in 20th century British, Irish and Anglophone literature. He is author of numerous studies of modern authors, particularly T.S. Eliot and W.B. Yeats. Schuchard has been a key figure in organizing the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature, inaugurated by Seamus Heaney in 1988. His papers primarily consist of materials relating to his relationship with Seamus Heaney from 1981-2004, including correspondence, drafts of lectures for the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature, writings, printed materials, and photographs. The bulk of the papers consist of correspondence between Heaney and Schuchard (1981-2004) and reflects the planning for the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature at Emory University, which Heaney delivered in 1988 and the friendship between Schuchard and Heaney. Also present in the papers are Seamus Heaney's drafts of the Ellmann Lectures and drafts prepared for the publication of the lectures in The Place of Writing (1989), as well as a small group of printed materials relating to Heaney and a small number of photographs.
Related collections in MARBL: Emory University Archives, RG 903, Series 026, Lectures and Symposia: Richard Ellman Lectures in Modern Literature.

Scruggs (1897-1955) graduated from the Atlanta-Southern Dental College (1925), which became the Emory University School of Dentistry (1944), where he taught for thirty years (1926-1955). He was the author of four books of poetry, GLORY OF EARTH (1933), RITUAL FOR MYSELF (1941), I HEAR THEM IN THE DAWN (1948), and WHAT SHALL THE HEART REMEMBER? (1951) and published poems in several anthologies. His papers consist of correspondence (1926-1959), galley proofs and typescripts, photographs, scrapbooks, sheet music, lecture notes, memorabilia, and printed material. Materials are by or about Scruggs. Typescripts are of the manuscripts for two books of poems (there are also galleys for three books) and of three signed poems; most correspondence pertains to his poetry and its publication; lectures contain poems; memorabilia includes membership cards, a name plate, and a fountain pen; photographs are of Scruggs; printed material includes articles, clippings, pamphlets and books.

Sebba (d. 1985) was the first faculty appointment (1959-1973) to the Institute for the Liberal Arts at Emory University. Sebba was born in Latvia, and entered the advertising business in Austria as Hitler was coming to power. In 1931 he brought together a group of about 35 people (among them Eric Voegelin) who were troubled about the rise of totalitarianism. Civil war broke out, and Sebba fled to England when threatened with arrest for his political beliefs. There he opened an art studio and served in the British Army, and early in World War II was recruited into the Office of Strategic Services for Europe, where his duties included parachuting behind enemy lines. He came to the United States in 1938 and became an American citizen. He was one of the founders of Austrian Action, an organization which permitted Austrian emigres to serve with Americans in the war. Among his works while at Emory was a study on displaced persons in Georgia. Gregor Sebba left Atlanta at retirement age in 1973 in order to teach for two additional years in Florida. The papers are comprised mainly of writings of Sebba including both published and unpublished book-length works, essays, reviews, and articles. Subjects of his writings include Rene Descantes, creative ability, philosophy, and Georgia agriculture. Also includes works by Alex Bloch and Josef Alexander Binder.

Sitton (b. 1925) graduated from Emory College (1947) and Emory University (1949); was a reporter for the International News Service (1949-1950) and United Press (1950-1955); and on the staff of the New York TIMES (1957; southeastern bureau chief, 1958-1968; national news director, 1964-1968). Sitton was editorial director of the Raleigh NEWS AND OBSERVER (1970-1990); in 1983, he won a Pulitzer Prize for commentary for his Sunday column. After his retirement, Sitton taught at Emory University. His papers consist of office files and scrapbooks. Files are personal and professional papers of Sitton as editor of the Raleigh NEWS AND OBSERVER and contain correspondence, printed material, speeches, and writings. Correspondence is with journalists, readers, job seekers, etc. Scrapbooks are clippings of Sitton's writings for the New York TIMES and other newspapers. Topics include national and North Carolina events, journalism education, civil rights, race relations, and politics.
Related collections in MARBL: Paul L. Sitton papers.

Stevenson (1919-1999), American writer and first women to win the Bancroft Prize (1956) for HENRY JAMES: A BIOGRAPHY. She began her Emory career in 1960 as a secretary, a position she held for 14 years before taking a faculty appointment in the Institute of the Liberal Arts, where she taught for 12 years. She is now Candler Professor of American Studies Emeritus.The collection consists of the papers of Elizabeth Stevenson. The papers include research materials, manuscripts and typescripts of her writings on Henry Adams, Lafcadio Hern, and Frederick Law Olmstead, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, and newspaper clippings.

John Stone (1936-2008), poet, physician, and lecturer. Stone was born in Jackson, Mississippi. After getting his B.A. from Millsaps College in 1958 and his M.D. from Washington University in St. Louis in 1962, Stone accepted a fellowship in cardiology at Emory University. In addition to teaching at Emory, Stone also worked at Grady Memorial Hospital from 1974-1985.

Stone's first book of poetry, The Smell of Matches was published in 1972. Other poetry volumes followed, including All This Rain (1980), Renaming the Streets (1985), and Where Water Begins: New Poems and Prose (1998). He also published several books of essays on medicine, including In the Country of Hearts: Journeys in the Art of Medicine (1990) and On Doctoring: Stories, Poems, Essays (1991). Stone died on November 6, 2008 in Atlanta, Georgia.

The collection consists of the papers of John Stone from 1958-2008. The papers include correspondence, photographs, subject files, writings, and audiovisual material. The writings files consist of both his poetry and his medical writings.

Wager (1881-1979) began his teaching career as a high school mathematics teacher in Michigan in 1902. He was on the faculty at Emory University (Atlanta, Ga.) for twenty-nine years and retired in 1945. The collection includes Wager's own photographs of flowers, manuscripts of his writings, and materials pertaining to clergyman and socialist Bouck White, who lived in New York from 1924-1951. Among the White materials are Wager's correspondence (1962-1967) concerning a biography of White, articles by and about White, photographs, and Wager's typescript of White's biography which was never published. The collection consists of items from 1836-1974 collected by Ralph Edmond Wager. The collection also includes Civil War era correspondence and other records related to prominent confederate leaders.

Wiley (b. 1906) was appointed in 1949 as professor of history at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, where he remained until retirement in 1974. He was particularly interested in the Civil War and published widely in that area. The collection consists of papers of Bell Irvin Wiley from ca. 1937-1981. The papers include personal papers; general correspondence; writings, including books, articles, reviews and speeches; and research files primarily consisting of materials pertaining to the Civil War. The research materials include copies of letters, diaries, and other primary source material, most of it printed and some on microfilm. The collection also includes professional activity files pertaining to Wiley's involvement in historical associations and editorial boards; and teaching and administrative files relating to his service on the history faculty of Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. Organized into eight series: (1) Personal papers, (2) General correspondence, (3) Writings: books, (4) Writings: non-book, (5) Teaching files, (6) General research files, (7) Professional activity files, and (8) Emory administrative files.

Alfred E. Wilhelmi, educator and researcher in biochemistry, was educated at Western Reserve University (B.A.) and attended Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar (B.A. and Ph.D.). Wilhelmi came to Emory from the faculty of Yale University in 1950 as professor and chairman of the biochemistry department; was named Charles Howard Candler Professor of Biochemistry in 1960; received Emory's Thomas Jefferson award for service to the University and community in 1979; and retired from teaching in that same year.
The collection consists of office files including personal and professional correspondence, reports, subject files, certificates, legal documents, writings, and teaching materials. The files reflect Wilhelmi's career as a teacher and researcher in biochemistry. Also documented are his particular research interests in endocrinology and the pituitary gland.

Wolff, professor of southern literature and Native American literature at Emory University. She is the author of Talking About William Faulkner and the co-editor of Southern Mothers : Fact and Fictions in Southern Women's Writing. The collection consists of materials relating to the writing and publication of Southern Mothers (Louisiana State University Press, 1999).

Young was born in Brooklyn, New York. He graduated from the University of Illinois (Ph.D. 1941) and Rush University (Sc.D., 1976). Young was on the faculty (1941-1984) and was chairman of the Emory University Department of History (1958-1966), where he was the Charles Howard Candler professor of American Social History (1980-1984). He has held numerous honors, including a fellowship with the Social Science Research Council (1960-1961), a research appointment with the United States Food and Drug Administration (1977-1981), a consultancy in history to the Centers for Disease Control, the Radbill lectureship (Philadelphia College of Physicians, 1978), and the Beaumont lectureship (Yale University, 1980). He is the author of dozens of articles and papers on the history of medicine (including patent medicines and quackery), food, and Anna Dickinson, a nineteenth century abolitionist and suffragist. The papers include correspondence, reports, minutes, videocassettes, subject files, photostats, manuscripts, microfilm, motion picture film, audio cassettes, transcripts, and printed materials. Correspondence, reports, minutes, audio cassettes, and some subject files pertain to Young's chairmanship of various Emory University committees and Emory University's 50th Anniversary. Transcripts are of oral history interviews Young conducted with various personnel of the Food and Drug Administration. Printed materials are about Anna Dickinson or pertain to Emory University