Om Hrim Siddhi Chakra. By Anishshah19 (18th Century art) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons.
Digitized Texts and Digital Resources
- Jain eLibraryThe Jain eLibrary website is an online collection of Jain scriptures, Jain manuscripts, Jain dictionary, Jain encyclopedia, Jain articles, Jain magazines, and ancient and contemporary Jain books in English, Hindi, Gujarati, and other languages. It contains Shvetämbar Ägams, Digambar Shästras, Four Anuyogas, Commentary literature, Präkrit and Sanskrut literature, and ancient and modern literature representing all aspects of Jainism. It also includes the literature of various Jain sects. Catalogues of Jain manuscripts of various Jain libraries add to the diversity of this collection.
- Jainism.orgOnline resource for educational articles and other reference materials.
- Jainpedia: The Jain Universe OnlineThe JAINpedia project was created by the Institute of Jainology (IoJ) after the successful 2006 publication of the Catalogue of the Jain Collection at the British Library. Launched at Buckingham Palace by His Royal Highness the Duke of Edinburgh and the Prime Minister of India, Dr Manmohan Singh, the book was co-authored by Professor Nalini Balbir.
The IoJ conceived the JAINpedia project in 2007 with the vision of making the Jain collections in major UK institutions more accessible to the public. The ambitious plan opens up these important holdings through public exhibitions, events and a media-rich website featuring over 5,000 folios and original contextual material. The project is supported by the Jain community worldwide and the Heritage Lottery Fund in the UK. - Jain Study CirclePublishers of The Jain Study Circular, a quarterly magazine on Jainism; the site is also a resource for books and other educational materials.
- Jainworld.comJainworld is a non-profit tax-exempt membership and donation-supported organization dedicated to Jain tradition of wisdom, compassion, equality, brotherhood, universal well-being and spirituality. This oldest wisdom of mankind is being made available in all the languages for the benefit of humanity with movements like Mission 24L.
Newly Acquired Titles on Jainism at Emory
You can access a list of newly acquired titles for a given topic by searching for a key term in DiscoverE and then selecting "Newly Acquired" under the "Show only" category on the left-hand side of the screen. Select "Date-newest" under the "Sorted by:" category in order to see the most recent publications first.
Here I searched for "Jain*" to catch any related key term (Jain, Jaina, Jainism, etc.).
Reference Works on Jainism
Individual works on Jainism
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Hinduism and Jainism This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of Hinduism and Jainism. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Oxford Handbook of Global ReligionsThe Jain Community by Lawrence A. Babb.
Individual works on Religion
- The Brill Dictionary of Religion Online This link opens in a new windowReference for the different theologies and doctrines of official institutionalized religions and other religious phenomena.
- Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new windowPresents a cross cultural approach that emphasizes religion’s role in everyday life and in different cultures.
- Encyclopedia of Religion in America This link opens in a new windowExplores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America.
The Norton Anthology of World Religions by ISBN: 9780393062533Publication Date: 2014-11-03
