Research Guides: South Asian Studies: Afghanistan

Archival materials

The Center for Research Libraries announced in April 2015 that they had microfilmed and/or digitized a collection of materials originally published in Afghanistan from 1924 through 2010. Emory is a member of CRL and these materials can be requested via Inter-Library Loan.

These materials cover the last years of the monarchy's rule in Afghanistan, civil war, foreign invasion, and the rule of the Taliban. The collection of materials includes general newspapers, cultural periodicals, and the publications of organizations as diverse as the Lawyers Association, trade unions, the Ministry of Defense, and the Ministry of Information and Culture. The titles were published in a variety of cities on Afghanistan and are written Pushto, Persian, and Dari.

All of the materials have been microfilmed. A subset of the materials funded by the Middle East Materials Project (MEMP) was also digitized.

Titles digitized & microfilmed by MEMP

Hirat (Hirat, Afghanistan) 1943-1980 digital record | microfilm record

Majallah-I Adabi Hirat (Hirat, Afghanistan) 1932-1939 digital record | microfilm record

Majallah-I Baldiyah-I Hirat (Hirat, Afghanistan) 1936-1939 digital record | microfilm record

Titles microfilmed by MEMP

DIFA (Kabul, Afghanistan) 1995-2009 microfilm record

Haqiqat (Kabul, Afghanistan) 1924-1925 microfilm record

Huquq va zindagi (Kabul, Afghanistan) 1989-1991 microfilm record

Musharakat-I Milli (Kabul, Afghanistan) 2002-2010 microfilm record

Shahadat (Kabul, Afghanistan) 2009-2010 microfilm record

Titles microfilmed by SAMP

Avaz (Kabul, Afghanistan) 1985-1995 [gaps] microfilm record

Jirgah (Kabul, Afghanistan) 1982-1995, 2002 microfilm record

Kar (Kabul, Afghanistan) 1983-2010 [gaps] microfilm record

Nangarhar - daily (Jalalabad, Afghanistan) 1964-2009 [gaps] microfilm record

Nangarhar - monthly (Nangarhar, Afghanistan) 1957-2001 microfilm record

Payam-i Mujahid (Parvan, Afghanistan) 1997-2010 microfilm record

Pushtun Zhagh (Kabul, Afghanistan) 1942-1977 microfilm record

Sanai (Ghazni, Afghanistan) 1952-2009 [gaps] microfilm record

Surghar (Kandahar, Afghanistan) 2009-2010 microfilm record

Duke University: Guide to the Louis Dupree Papers, 1943 - 1989, undated
Louis Dupree was a scholar, educator, and consultant on the refugees, politics, and archaeology of Afghanistan and Pakistan. He served as a Senior Research Associate for the Program in Islamic and Arabian Development Studies at Duke University during the late 1980s. The Louis Dupree Papers contain correspondence, notes, clippings, conference programs, drafts, manuscripts, speeches, newsletters, interview transcripts, research materials, teaching materials, a scrapbook, photographs, grant applications, memorabilia, student papers, a dissertation, and other materials related to the personal life and professional career of archaeologist, activist, and scholar Louis Dupree. Major subjects include Louis Dupree, Nancy Hatch Dupree, the Duke University Program in Islamic and Arabian Development Studies, Ralph Braibanti, Afghanistan, Afghan refugees, Afghanistan-Pakistan relations, Pakistan, the United States Army 11th Airborne, the United States Army 187th Airborne, and the United States Military Academy at West Point. English.

Histories

Try the keyword/wildcard combination "afghan* AND histor*" in the Catalog tab of DiscoverE to find books; try it on the Articles tab for journal articles and on the Combined Search tab for other databases such as the Hathi Trust (Google Books) and the Center for Research Libraries. Use the facets to narrow the results, e.g., by language, date, or topic.

Newspapers

NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Afghanistan sources are listed under the "Middle East" category.
All titles are the full electronic version of record.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
For sources published in Afghanistan, click "Sources" from the left side panel then "More Options" then "Afghanistan." Then click "Go" and select a source or sources from the list of sources. Click "continue" then enter keywords into the search form, e.g., "Karzai," "Taliban," etc.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic.

Research Studies

From the Afghanistan Research and Evaluation Unit via the Library of Congress office in Pakistan, June 2013.

Factors Influencing Decisions to Use Child Labour: A Case Study of Poor Households in Heart
Published by the Afghanistan Research and Evaluation Unit.
Land, People, and the State in Afghanistan 2002-2012
Published by Afghanistan Research and Evaluation Unit.

Websites

Afghan Bios
Biographies of major public figures such as Ministers, Governors, Politician, Jirga Members, Military and Police Commander, Ethnic leaders etc
Afghanistan Center at Kabul University: Louis Dupree Collection
Collection of Louis Dupree's photographs.
Afghanistan Digital Library
The immediate objective of the Afghanistan Digital Library is to retrieve and restore the first sixty years of Afghanistan’s published cultural heritage. The project is collecting, cataloging, digitizing, and making available over the Internet as many Afghan publications from the period 1871–1930 as it is possible to identify and locate.
Center for Afghanistan Studies
Founded in 1972, the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Center for Afghanistan Studies has continued to be America’s primary cultural and scholarly link with Afghanistan. Through war and peace, destitution and reconstruction, the Center and its partners have been on the ground in Afghanistan – printing textbooks, training teachers and journalists, and advising U.S. government officials.
Williams Afghan Media Project
Site for exploring Afghanistan's cultural legacy, historical development, and present situation.
more...less...
Three photo collections that document in image and sound Afghan history and society from the late 19th century through the Soviet occupation represent the heart of the WAMP website:

The Khalilullah Enayat Seraj (KES) collection of photographs taken between the late 19th century and 1930,
The Louis and Nancy Hatch Dupree collection of slides taken between 1949 and 1987, and
The Afghan Media Resource Center (AMRC) collection of photographs and slides taken between 1987 and 1992.
Afghanistan Web Archive
The Afghanistan Web Archive is comprised primarily of websites produced by the Afghan government, specifically the executive branch. Also included are a selection of sites from statistical reporting agencies, banking institutions, universities, U.S. Embassy and critical NGOs supporting democratic and human rights initiatives. The date range of the collection overlaps with the country's presidential (2009) and parliamentary (2009) elections, which were the second national elections held in the country since the founding of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan in 2003. Note: the majority of content in this collection is restricted to onsite access only.
LibGuides Community
Search "Afghanistan" for a list of related Libguides.