Research Guides: South Asian Studies: Buddhism

Two Buddhas; Folio from a Gyalpo Kachem (Will and Testament of the King); From Wikimedia Commons.

Newly Acquired Titles on Buddhism at Emory

You can access a list of newly acquired titles for a given topic by searching for a key term in DiscoverE and then selecting "Newly Acquired" under the "Show only" category on the left-hand side of the screen. Select "Date-newest" under the "Sorted by:" category in order to see the most recent publications first.

Here I searched "Buddh*" to catch any related key term (Buddha, Buddhism, Buddhist, etc.).

Dalai Lama

Click here to see the results for a search in DiscoverE for titles related to the Dalai Lama.

Digitized Texts

Buddhist Digital Resource Center (formerly the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center)
Buddhist Digital Resource Center (formerly Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center) is dedicated to preserving and sharing Buddhist texts through the union of technology and scholarship.
GRETIL - Göttingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian Languages and related Indological materials from Central and Southeast Asia
GRETIL is intended as a cumulative register of the numerous download sites for electronic texts in Indian languages.
Indica et Buddhica
Indica et Buddhica is publishes monographs, critical editions, proceedings and edited volumes in classical Indian and Buddhist Studies.

Pali Text Society digitized editions

From the H-Buddhism listserv 2014-10-13. In short, the Pali Text Society is pleased to announce the availability of digital editions of the PTS edition of the Pali canon. The files are being made available gradually, text by text, for free download on GRETIL (Göttingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian Languages):

http://gretil.sub.uni-goettingen.de/

These files are based on the digital text input by the Dhammakaya Foundation, Thailand, 1989-1996 and are made available by the Pali Text Society for scholarly purposes only. In principle they represent a digital edition (without revision or correction) of the printed editions of the complete set of Pali canonical texts published by the PTS. While they have been subject to a process of checking, it should not be assumed that there is no divergence from the printed editions and it is strongly recommended that they are checked against the printed editions before quoting.

While the PTS edition of the canon can make no particular claim to authority or accuracy, its text is the one most widely used and quoted in the scholarly literature published over the last 125 years. These digital texts should therefore be a useful scholarly resource. The files include the page numbers and line breaks of the printed edition.

Best wishes,

Rupert Gethin

University of Bristol
Department of Religion and Theology
3 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1TB, UK

Email: Rupert.Gethin@bristol.ac.uk

Reference Works on Buddhism

Tip: Online reference works that are part of a publisher's or aggregator's collections, e.g., from Gale or Oxford, can be searched together with other works in their collections.

Individual works on Buddhism

A Dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Source of reference for the history and doctrines of Buddhism, its spread in Asia and the West, and contemporary concerns (such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, ‘engaged Buddhism,’ and the role of women in Buddhist teachings).
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Contains Buddhist technical terminology texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources.
Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/dictionary/encyclopedia/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many East Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
Encyclopedia of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Contains material related to the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.
In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
H-Buddhism Bibliography Project (Zotero) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, open, online bibliography for the field of Buddhist studies, managed by H-Buddhism, the online network of scholars of Buddhism.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Buddhism studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic coverage of major terms, texts, authors, schools, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism.

Individual works on Religion

The Brill Dictionary of Religion Online This link opens in a new window
Reference for the different theologies and doctrines of official institutionalized religions and other religious phenomena.
It helps to map out and define the networks and connections created by various religions in contemporary societies, and provides models for understanding these complex phenomena.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
Presents a cross cultural approach that emphasizes religion’s role in everyday life and in different cultures.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America This link opens in a new window
Explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America.
It includes coverage of religious life among indigenous peoples; specific aspects of religious life; and the relationship of religion to the political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. Topics include: Church-state issues; Environment and ecology; Gay and lesbian issues; Religion and politics; Religious life of African Americans and Latinos; Religious thought; Role of women; Worship.

The Norton Anthology of World Religions by Jack Miles (General Editor); Wendy Doniger (Editor); Donald S. Lopez (Editor); James Robson (Editor); David Biale (Editor); Lawrence Cunningham (Editor); Jane Dammen McAuliffe (Editor)
ISBN: 9780393062533
Publication Date: 2014-11-03

H-Buddhism

H-Buddhism serves as a medium for the exchange of information regarding academic resources, new research projects, scholarly publications, university job listings, and so forth, for specialists in Buddhist Studies who are currently affiliated with academic institutions.

Members of H-Buddhism manage the H-Buddhism Bibliography Project, a comprehensive, open, online bibliography for the field of Buddhist studies.