Emory
Images of South Asia are available in various formats at Emory -- mostly art books, slide sets, and microfiche. There are two copies of a set of 160 slides on Hinduism available at Emory libraries. And there are two larger collections of images on microfiche.
-
India-Hinduism (Slides)Charles A Kennedy; H Smith 1928-
New Haven, Conn. : Visual Education Service, Yale Divinity School 1974
Available at Pitts Theology Library Media Collection (BL1150 .K455 1974 ) -
India - Hinduism (slides)India--Hinduism
Charles A Kennedy; H Smith 1928-
Blacksburg, Va. : Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University 1972
Available at Marian K. Heilbrun Music Media Media Collection (MEDIA 131 ) -
Popular Indian paintings at the India Office LibraryIndia Office Library and Records.; Mildred Archer; India Office Library.
London, Eng. : Ormonde ; New York, N.Y. : Clearwater 1985
Available at Robert W. Woodruff Library Microform Guides (MICFICHE 1466 GUIDE ) and other locations -
South Asian Art photo collectionSusan L Huntington; Walter M Spink; Janice L Dundon; Catherine B Asher; American Committee for South Asian Art. Archive.
Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation Company 1977-
Available at Robert W. Woodruff Library Microforms (MICFICHE 1465 ) and other locations
Recent titles on art in India and/or South Asia.
-
Daniells' India: Views from the Eighteenth Century
by
Call Number: DS408 .D36 2013ISBN: 9381523630Publication Date: 2013-09-16 -
Historic Engagements with Occidental Cultures, Religions, Powers
by
ISBN: 9781137405012Publication Date: 2014-10-16 -
Cultural Threads: : Transnational Textiles Today
by
Call Number: N6494 .F47 C85 2015ISBN: 9781472524997Publication Date: 2015-01-15 -
The Oxford Handbook of Christianity in Asia
by
Call Number: BR1065 .O94 2014ISBN: 9780199329069Publication Date: 2014-06-24Also available as an ebook:
https://search.libraries.emory.edu/catalog/990035355880302486 -
Captain Linnaeus Tripe, Photographer of India and Burma, 1852-1860
by
Call Number: TR647 .T757 2014ISBN: 9783791353814Publication Date: 2014-08-20 -
Honouring National Leaders: Statues and Portraits in Parliament Complex
by
Call Number: DS434 .H76 2011Publication Date: 2011 -
Pattern and Light: Aga Khan Museum
by
Call Number: N6264.C2 P38 2014ISBN: 0847844293Publication Date: 2014-11-25 -
Arts and Aesthetics in a Globalizing World
by
Call Number: NX180.G56 A78 2014ISBN: 9781472519306Publication Date: 2015-02-12 -
Experiments with Truth: Gandhi and Images of Nonviolence
by
Call Number: N8236.N583 E97 2014ISBN: 0300208804Publication Date: 2014-12-23
ARTstor
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
-
American Council on South Asian ArtApproximately 12,000 high quality digital images from the University of Michigan slide distribution service's "ACSAA Color Slide Project."
-
American Institute of Indian Studies in ARTstorArtstor and The American Institute of Indian Studies (AIIS) have partnered to share more than 64,000 images depicting Indian art and architecture in the Digital Library.
-
Emory University Art History Collection Images of IndiaOver 1200 images. Currently in beta test at ARTstor.
-
Michael C. Carlos Museum at Emory UniversityWorks of art from South Asia.
Other websites
-
AMES LIBRARY OF SOUTH ASIATaken by Charles Lesley Ames as reading material on a trip to England in 1907, W. H. Fitchett's The Tale of the Great Mutiny so impressed its reader that he spent the rest of his life building a library on the British-Indian interaction. In 1961, after more than 50 years of dedicated collecting, Ames gave his library to the University of Minnesota. The gift of over 25,000 titles, including manuscripts, photographs, maps, prints and drawings, immediately established the University as having one of the pre-eminent libraries for the study of South Asia in the western world.
-
ArchnetA portal of scholarly resources on the built environment of Muslim societies.
-
Asian Historical ArchitectureStructured digital photo archive, with indices and clickable map navigation interface for sites throughout South Asia.
-
Beyond the TajBeyond the Taj is a collection of visual and written materials assembled to support instruction and research on South Asian architectural expression in the joint perspectives of architecture and ethnography. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.
-
British Library's India Office CollectionThe British Library’s collection of prints, drawings and photographs from the Indian subcontinent and its surrounding territories is one of the world’s greatest visual records of the cultural history of South Asia from the late-18th to the mid-20th century. Rich in artistic merit and unrivalled in its survey of topography and social customs, the collection reflects the way artists, Indian and European, rose to the challenge of documenting a land of endless variety and fascination.
Here are almost 15,000 of the collection’s finest images. We focus on the artists and photographers whose work provides a comprehensive account of the landscapes and architectural heritage of South Asia. Also, search the Archives and Manuscripts collection. -
Digital MPPAn initiative of Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya (MPP) to make available old and rare images. 7000 images in the first phase, divided into Old and rare images, and Historic ephemera. Flash based interface
-
Digital South Asia Library: Graham Shaw Postcard CollectionDSAL has digitized almost 12,000 postcards of colonial India from the private collection of Graham Shaw, former Head of Asia, Pacific, and Africa Collections at the British Library, London. Most of the postcards date from the 1880s to the 1930s.
-
Digital South Asia Library: Image CollectionsImages from private collections, the American Institute for Indian Studies, the Government College of Arts and Crafts (Chennai), and the Oriental and India Office Collections in the British Library.
-
Google Arts & CultureGoogle Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums. Search by place to locate places in South Asia.
-
Harvard Art Museums, Arthur M. Sackler MuseumSearch images of items in their Asian Art collection and in their Islamic & Later Indian Art collection.
-
Himalayan Art ResourcesEducational resource for Himalayan Art and Iconography. Now over 65,000 images.
-
Huntington Archive of Buddhist Art"This digital collection includes more than 40,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand."
-
The Huntington Archive: Digital Database CollectionThis digital collection includes more than 200,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.
-
The J. Paul Getty MuseumSee in particular the rich collection of photographs by Samuel Bourne and John Murray, among others.
-
The Minassian Collection: Persian, Mughal, and Indian Miniature PaintingsThis project features Miniature paintings from the estate of Mrs. Adrienne Minassian. The paintings often include text from Persian and Indian tales. Many of the illustrations within the Minassian Collection are depictions of stories from the classical Persian text, Shahnama of Ferdowsi.
-
Photo Archives of AIISThe AIIS collection from the Center for Art and Archaeology in Gurgaon, Haryana, India, has over 125,000 photographs in the collection. The images fall into the broad categories of architecture, sculpture, terracotta, painting and numismatics. Use the fields below to search the collection.
-
Duke University: Royal India & The British: The Photography of Samuel Bourne & Raja Lala Deen DayalThese photographs and their captions are an attempt to scratch the surface of the rich cultural and architectural heritage of India, one of the oldest and most complex in the world. They are drawn from the Samuel Bourne and Raja Deen Dayal collections (consisting of 546 and 51 images respectively) in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
-
SAVAC: South Asian Visual Arts Collective"A Toronto-based, artist-run, nonprofit organization dedicated to the development and presentation of new works of contemporary visual art by artists of South Asian origin, within Canada and internationally."
-
Tasveer Ghar: A House of PicturesTasveer Ghar is a trans-national virtual “home” for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.
-
University of Michigan Digital Content LibrarySearch over 50 collections by keyword.
-
University of Washington International Collections DatabaseBrowse through their India, Pakistan, or Sri Lanka collections. Also search the Gairola Indian Art & Architecture Image Collection or the R. Nath Mughal Architecture Image Collection.
-
Victoria and Albert Museum: South Asia CollectionThe collections from South and South-East Asia comprise nearly 60,000 objects, including about 10,000 textiles and 6,000 paintings covering the Indian subcontinent south of the Himalayas, including India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afganistan. See in particular the Samuel Bourne collection of photographs.