Research Guides: South Asian Studies: Microform Content

Colonial Works on Microfilm

Colonial discourses. Series three: Colonial fiction, 1650-1914. Part 1, General works and fiction from India from the British Library
Authors include Bankim Chander Chatterji, Romesh Dutt, Flora Annie Steel, Edwin Arnold, Toru Dutt, and Manomohan Ghosh.
more...less...
Works include adaptations of Indian folklore and legends; tales and histories of the Indian Mutiny, of inter-racial love affairs, of the problems of rule in India, and of the problems of being ruled.
India during the Raj eyewitness accounts : diaries and related records held in the British Library, London.
India in the age of Empire the journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford
Edgeworth served as a member of the Indian Civil Service from 1831 to 1881, from Madras to Lahore. He travelled widely during his time in India and had a keen interest in topography, antiquities, language and customs.
more...less...
His diary charts the expansion of British territoral influence in India and contains material of political and cultural interest;
The empire writes back
This collection includes memoirs recording the views and experiences of Indian visitors to Britain.
more...less...
Issues of race and class are explored in the experience of being an Indian in England in the nineteenth century.
Publications proscribed by the government of India
Reproduction of collections in the India Office Library and Records and the Dept. of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books, British Library Reference Division.

Missionary Works on Microfilm

Some representative examples of missionary literature on microform.

African archives of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
South African Archives of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, 1820-1900
Church Missionary Society archive
Includes records of the Zenana Missionary Society and the Society for Promoting Female Education in China, India, and the East.
Church of Scotland missionary archive
The Church of Scotland entered the mission field in 1824 and sent its first missionaries to Bombay in 1829, to Calcutta in 1830, to Poona in 1834 and to Madras in 1837.
Day Missions Collection Asia and Pacific rim
1285 monograph titles document mission work in Asia and Oceania and were published between 1800 and 1920.
Methodist Episcopal Church missionary correspondence,1846-1912. India
Primarily incoming correspondence from missionaries in the field. The records serve as a rich resource for the study of the social, cultural, political and economic conditions of these countries.
more...less...
The files are arranged geographically and then alphabetically by name within that area or conference.
Papers of the Christian Faith Society, 1642-1972
The Christian Faith Society originated in 1691 from a bequest of Robert Boyle, a director of the East India Company, for "the advancement of the Christian religion amongst infidels".
more...less...
The Society was renamed in 1794 as the Society for the Conversion and Religious Education of the Negro Slaves in the British West-India Islands. Particular undertakings of the Society included the awarding of grants to the William and Mary College in Virginia, for the education of young Native Americans, and missionary work amongst slaves in the Caribbean, Mauritius and other British dependencies.
Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1911. India
These records provide insight on social conditions in developing Third World nations and on efforts to spread Christianity during the 19th century.
Slavery tracts & pamphlets from the West India Committee
A collection of pamphlets on the sugar trade of the West Indies and its slave labor.
more...less...
There are approximately 350 pamphlets, including some by Wilberforce Macaulay.

ScanPro Microfilm Reader

The Woodruff Library has acquired a Scan Pro 2000 microfilm machine that eases the process of scanning, editing, and reading microfilm and microfiche.

Users can now print, e-mail or save microfilm pages with one click. They can easily spot edit images or portions of a page, or crop pages to print, cut or paste. And those working with full reels of film, can auto-scan entire reels to create a PDF copy for personal use.

In addition to faster, automated scanning, the machine provides tools to enhance difficult-to-read film. Among its features are built-in optical zoom lenses that range in magnification (7x-54x and 7x-105x). It also has on-screen search features, and can convert an entire microfilm newspaper page into a searchable PDF.

The reader is located on the first floor of the library in the microfilm area. It is available 24 hours; however, we ask that during working hours (8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M) patrons sign-up for half-hour to two hour blocks of time on a sign-up sheet next to the machine. After hours, no sign-up is required.