Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Emory's LibGuide on LibGuides: Best Practices & Guidelines for Creating and Maintaining LibGuides

An internal guide for Emory Libraries.

Metadata Guidelines - Why assign subjects, tags, etc.

Limiting the Database Subjects and the LibGuide Subjects allows users to choose from a less overwhelming large list.  When possible, the subjects mirror the Emory College degree and program names.  

DATABASE Subjects, Types, and Highlighted Vendors List 

LIBGUIDES

  • Type/Group: e.g. Topic Guide/Woodruff(Main) The system defaults to general purpose, but we want to make all published guides have the correct type.
  • LibGuide Subjects can differ across libraries.  For Woodruff Library, please use this SUBJECT list.  If you want to request an additional SUBJECT for Woodruff Library LibGuides, please request via this LibGuide Subject Justification Form (forthcoming)
  • We have provided some common Woodruff Library TAGS for people to use, rather than subjects, realizing that most users will use the keyword search to locate a research guide. Please consult this list when creating TAGS for your guides 
  • Guide Names:  The task force has suggested naming conventions, including some naming suggestions for HOW TO guides.

LibGuide TYPE

You do not need to indicate what type of guide it is in the guide title, just indicate type in the pull-down menu.

General Purpose: This is the default and a good catch-all for most guides.

Example: Zotero

Course Guide: For guides that are related to a specific course.

Example: AFS 190|HIST 190: Images of Africa

Subject Guide: For guides that are focused on a specific subject area.

Example: Nursing

Topic Guide: For guides that are focused on a specific topic.

Example: Psychological and Educational Measurement Instruments Guide

Internal Guide:  For guides that are for internal use only. When using this guide type, please keep in mind that your guide will not appear in guide lists or search results. This will not completely hide the guide from the public, however.  Published and private guides assigned to this type can still be viewed by anyone who knows the URL.

Template Guide: For guides that you intend for other users to copy as a blueprint/boilerplate. When using this guide type, please keep in mind that your guide will not appear in guide lists or search results. This will not completely hide the guide from the public, however.  Published and private guides assigned to this type can still be viewed by anyone who knows the URL.

SUBJECT List for Woodruff Library LibGuides

  1. How to …. (use Approved How to TAGS to sort this category) 
  2. Technology tools - can these be moved to How to...
  3. African American Studies
  4. African Studies
  5. American and Interdisciplinary Studies
  6. Anthropology
  7. Art History
  8. Biology
  9. Business
  10. Career
  11. Chemistry
  12. Classics
  13. Comparative Literature
  14. Computer Science
  15. Development Practice
  16. East Asian Studies
  17. Economics
  18. Education
  19. English
  20. Environmental Sciences
  21. Film and Media Studies
  22. French and Italian Studies
  23. German Studies
  24. History
  25. Human Health [DO NOT use Health Science for any Woodruff Library guide]
  26. Jewish Studies
  27. Latin American and Caribbean Studies
  28. Law and Legal Studies
  29. LGBTQ Studies
  30. Library Science
  31. Linguistics
  32. Mathematics
  33. Middle Eastern Studies
  34. Music
  35. Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology
  36. Philosophy
  37. Physics
  38. Political Science
  39. Psychology
  40. Quantitative Theory and Methods
  41. Religion
  42. Russian, East European, & Eurasian Studies
  43. Sociology
  44. South Asian Studies
  45. Spanish and Portuguese
  46. Theater and Dance
  47. Undergraduate Education
  48. Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Common Woodruff Library TAGS

Data

Discovery Seminars 

Dissertations 

Geography and Maps

Graduate Students 

Honors Students

Native American Studies* (may use form to suggest SUBJECT status)

Newspapers 

Open Access

Statistics

SURE (Summer Undergraduate Research Experience)

Database Subject List

https://emory.app.box.com/file/415577954471

African American Studies

African Studies

American and Interdisciplinary Studies

Anthropology

Art History

Biology

Business

Chemistry

Classics

Comparative Literature

Computer Science

Development Practice

East Asian Studies

Economics

Education

English

Environmental Sciences

Film and Media Studies

French and Italian Studies

German Studies

History

Health Sciences*

Jewish Studies

Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Law and Legal Studies

LGBTQ Studies

Library Science

Linguistics

Mathematics

Middle Eastern Studies

Music

Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Psychology

Public Health

Quantitative Theory and Methods

Religion

Russian, East European, & Eurasian Studies

Sociology

South Asian Studies

Spanish and Portuguese

Theater and Dance

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

* Health Sciences databases pipe to the Health Library page 

Database Types (ECR)

E-Books
Audio/Video
Images
Musical Scores
Government Information
Biographies
Dissertations
Archival/Primary Sources
News
Statistics & Data
Journal Articles
Tests & Measures
Bibliographies
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks

All Vendor/Providers List (ECR)

  • Adam Matthew
  • Brill
  • EBSCO
  • Gale
  • Oxford 
  • ProQuest 
  • Readex/Newsbank   
  • SCOPUS
  • Web of Science