Emory alumni, Emory Healthcare staff, and selected other patrons* have access to our Learning Commons workstations but do not have their own logins. If one of these authorized users comes to the desk for workstation access, do the following:
Confirm the patron qualifies for LC access with the desk supervisor
For alumni: look the patron up in our alumni directory, bookmarked on Chrome
For Healthcare staff: check the patron's healthcare ID
For all other authorized users: check the patron's ID from the qualifying institution (see below)
Log the patron into a workstation
Note the workstation name (i.e iMac222) and give it to the desk supervisor who will add the information to the visitor database
NOTE: Only the workstations below have access to licensed resources (eJournals, eBooks, databases, etc):
Row of 6 computers that are right by the self-check-out machine (directly to left of LSD).
*If you were to log in a alumni to any other computer, they would not have access to the library’s licensed resources.
Our software/database licensing agreements do not allow universal access to our workstations, and logging in non-authorized users constitutes a breach of copyright law.
DO NOT LOG IN ANYONE WHO DOES NOT BELONG TO OUR LIST OF AUTHORIZED USERS
Emory Healthcare staff (includes staff at the Emory Clinic, Grady Hospital, Emory Midtown, and Wesley Woods)
Carlos Museum docents
Carter Center staff & interns
Cary Reynolds Elementary School faculty & staff
Druid Hills High School faculty, staff, and AP students
Druid Hills Middle School faculty & staff
Fernbank Elementary School faculty & staff
Glenn Memorial Church staff
National Primate Research Center Staff
Board of Visitors/Visitors Emeritus
Username & password: see password sheet
These workstations are set up to accommodate patrons who want to access a library resource or do some printing.
They are not intended for extended use and have a 30-minute time limit when another patron is waiting.
If all three stations are occupied and a fourth guest would like to use one, let them know of the 30-minute time limit and kindly ask a current user to wrap up their work. Feel free to ask a supervisor or LSD staff member for assistance.
These workstations allow access to most databases and eJournals.
If a user is logged into a visitor workstation and cannot access a specific database or journal, this is most likely because the licensing agreement with the vendor prohibits access. DO NOT login another user with your personal netID and password to access a database or journal from these stations. This is a violation of our contract and licensing agreement with the vendor, as well as university policy.