Skip to Main Content

English Literature Research Guide

This is a general overview of the resources available in the subject area of English literature.

Welcome

Welcome to the research guide for English literature! Here you'll find the library's most frequently used databases, online resources, archives, and other materials for the study of English and American literature. For resources pertaining to a specific genre, subject area, or format, see the menu to the left. 

Great Places to Get Started

Library Search - Search for print and electronic books, movies, articles, music scores, and more.

Finding Archives and Primary Source Material

Stuart. A. Rose Library - Visit Emory's Archives and Special Collections library to explore rich collections, primary sources, and exhibits in areas including African American Literature and British and Irish literature.

Emory Digital Library - See unique, digitized collections

Emory Finding Aids - Use our Finding Aids to explore our archival collections

Citing Your Sources

Citing Sources Research Guide - Learn about citing sources and different citation styles on this handy guide

Evaluating Sources Guide - Get help with source evaluation strategies, source citations, and more.

MLA Citation Style - Learn more about MLA, the major citation style for English, at the Purdue OWL

Zotero - Learn how to use Zotero to manage your citations and sources with our handy guide

Library Tips and Services

For Students Portal - Visit our portal for undergraduates to learn more about library services and resources, including study spaces, materials, events, workshops, ways to get involved, and ways to get help and support with your research.

Ask a Librarian - Ask a question and get help from a librarian!

Research Help Portal - Use our helpful portal to learn about how to navigate the library, find different kinds of sources, evaluate and cite sources, and more.

Library Services Guide - Learn about the wide range of services available at the library from printing to borrowing equipment to getting help with research data.

Student Digital Life - Get help with all your technology needs and learn more about our production studios, media labs, tech lab, and ways to get support for your creative and multimedia endeavors.