This guide describes sources of current, recent (ca. the past three decades), and historical newspapers available in print, microform or online format via the Emory University Libraries and/or the Internet.The guide also includes sources of information useful for identifying, finding, and searching newspapers, such as: availability of newspapers at other institutions; newspaper directories; and newspaper indexes.
Lists online versions of print-based newspapers. Includes local and national newspapers, as well as official and student-run newspapers from colleges, universities, and primary and secondary schools. Will no longer be updated.
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Access the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Prominent themes include gender, social history, economics, media, politics and more. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005.
Access newspapers in different languages and from different U.S. states related to the history of influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. Prominent themes include business, music, science, wars, and more.
Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers - some published in both Spanish and English - printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Can be searched simultaneously with other historical newspapers via the America's Historical Newspapers database.
This database consists of full-text national and regional newspapers from Victorian Britain, digitized from the collection of the British Library. It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800).
Access all published issues from 1842 to 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with new, high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets. Covers a wide range of subject areas in the 19th and 20th.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection features 64 newspapers from throughout Africa, all published before 1901.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep new coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa. Africa produced comparatively few newspapers in the 19th century, each page in this collection is significant, offering invaluable insight into the people, issues and events that shaped the continent. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements. obituaries and military reports, the newspapers in this one-of-a-kind collection chronicle African history and daily life as never before. Students and researchers will find news and analysis covering the European exploration of Africa, colonial exploitation, economics, Atlantic trade, the mapping of the continent, early moves towards self-governance, the growth of South Africa and much more.
The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922. Titles were published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).Contains newspapers in various languages and from regions in South Asia published between 1864 and 1922.