Research Guides: English Literature Research Guide: Books

Emory Library Search

Use Library Search to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

eBooks

Emory's eBook Guide
Everything you need know about the Emory Libraries ebook collections available to Emory students, faculty, and staff

HathiTrust
Access a large digital library of materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. You may need to Click the "Log In" button and choose "Emory University" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted. The mobile version of HathiTrust allows online reading and download of public domain books from mobile devices. The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.

Internet Archive (eBooks and Texts)
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 2.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

OverDrive
Popular fiction and non-fiction that you can check out on your e-reader.
Project Gutenberg
Contains electronic texts of literature and reference works, available free of charge.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Contains over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers.
Routledge (Taylor & Francis eBooks)
Links to Emory's licensed ebook content from Taylor and Francis and Routledge.
O'Reilly
To access:
- Type in "Emory" to find your school.
- Enter the email address guest424@emory.edu
Click "Sign in."
Includes videos, audiobooks, e-books, and more on topics including programming languages, data visualization, IT, AI, design, business, and professional development skills.

Other Library Catalogs

American Film Institute Catalog
Contains filmographic information on the history of American cinema from 1893 to 1975. Also includes full or short records for films from 1976 to present, and an index of films produced in America or by American production companies.
Georgia Library Catalogs
Provides access to the University System of Georgia Libraries, Private Academic Libraries, Technical Institutes, Public Libraries, and Special Libraries.
Google Scholar
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
WorldCat
Catalog of items held by libraries worldwide

Purchase Requests

You may request that the library buy materials by either contacting a librarian directly, or filling out our purchase request form.