Research Guides: English Literature Research Guide: Native American and Indigenous

Scholarship, Reference, and Archives

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Access a variety of primary sources related to Native American history and Culture.
PLEASE READ BELOW BEFORE ATTEMPTING ACCESS:

1/26/2024 Per Vendor:

"We are aware of a proxy issue with the Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America URL and are working to fix this. Access on-campus is unaffected, but if you urgently need off-campus access please contact Customer Support. Email support@amdigital.co.uk." -Adam Matthew
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
American Indian newspapers from the United States and Canada, 1828-2016.
PLEASE READ BELOW BEFORE ATTEMPTING ACCESS:

1/26/2024 Per Vendor:

"We are aware of a proxy issue with the Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America URL and are working to fix this. Access on-campus is unaffected, but if you urgently need off-campus access please contact Customer Support. Email support@amdigital.co.uk." -Adam Matthew
Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA) This link opens in a new window
AILLA is a digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. You must Register and log in to view, stream, or download any media file.
The heart of the collection is the recordings, both audio and video, in a wide range of genres: narratives, chants, oratory, conversations, songs, and more. Many recordings are transcribed and translated into Spanish, English or Portuguese. The archive also contains a wealth of language documentation materials: grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies, and field notes. The collection includes teaching materials for bilingual education and language revitalization programs.
Archives Unbound, American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893 This link opens in a new window
Collection of almost 14,000 letters written by those who served as Presbyterian missionaries to the American Indians during the years from 1833 to 1893.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Access an index of published literature about native peoples of North America. Includes books, journal literature, conference papers, and U.S. & Canadian government documents.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842 This link opens in a new window
Contains documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. Includes letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and more.

Drama and Performance

North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains over 240 plays by 48 playwrights. The collection includes American Indian and First Nation playwrights from groups including Cherokee, Creek, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navaho, and more.