Research Guides: English Literature Research Guide: Irish

Scholarship and Reference

Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth. Covers from 55 BC to the present.
It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains a large collection of biographical articles on subject in a wide variety of fields, including politics, law, literature, arts, and more.
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Access material on Irish History and Culture including the Republic of Ireland an Northern Ireland. Contributions sourced from a wide variety of fields.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. British and Irish Literature This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of British and Irish literature. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Complementing Alexander Street’s North American Women's Letters and Diaries, the database lets researchers view history in the context of women’s thoughts—their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.

Celtic Digital Initiative
The aim of the Celtic Digital Initiative (CDI) is to make scarce resources available in an electronic format to students and scholars, both within UCC and beyond.
CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts, is Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing project. It brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to you on the Internet, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide. It has a searchable online textbase consisting of over 19 million words, in 1638 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature, medicine, and the other arts.