English Literature Research Guide

Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, Native American peoples, and officials, both men and women.

Contains works in English prose by writers from the British Isles from the period 1500-1700.

Access primary documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including the British Library.

Contains plays in verse and prose in English from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.

Contains a large collection of English poems from the eighth to the early twentieth centuries.

Access a large survey of European history from 1450 to 1789. Entries are alphabetically arranged and feature prominent people, events and developments.

LEME searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works from 1480-1755.

Access early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form. Over 230 entries have been selected and digitized. Also includes biographical and bibliographical information and essays by specialists in the field.

Contains a bibliography composed of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance from 400 to 1700. Citations for books, journal material, dissertation abstracts and essays are included.

Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Renaissance and Reformation. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

Access streaming versions of the BBC Shakespeare Plays, a joint production of the BBC and Time-Life Television officially known as The BBC Television Shakespeare. 37 plays in total, broadcast over seven seasons from 1979 to 1985.

Access major editions of Shakespeare plays from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. Includes printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha, and related works.

This digitized archive offers insights into the performance practice in the reconstructed Globe Theatre. This resource includes documentation of over 300 performances through prompt books, costume notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs, and architectural plans.

Brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material, and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.

This resource features the world-famous prompt book collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theaters throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. The prompt books, or main copies of the production script, include personal notes, sketches, cues for lighting and music, and amendments to the text and stage management.

Contains annotated entries on materials on or related to Shakespeare published between 1965 and early 2004, including books, articles, productions, reviews, media, and more.