Below you'll find some of the most used resources in First Year Writing courses. This includes access to the Writing Center, information about digital and multimedia projects, and guides to writing and citation.
Library Workshops - Attend workshops at the library to develop your research and communication skills, including writing skills and presentation skills.
Emory Databases - Explore all of our databases to find sources for your research and writing projects.
Databases hint: You can select "All Database Types" to find specific types of databases including newspapers, primary sources, and streaming videos.
Ask a Librarian - Get in touch with the library if you have questions or need help!
Find a Subject Specialist - See our full list of subject specialist librarians to find one who can help you with your research project.
Digital and Multimedia Projects
Student Production Studios - Student Digital Life studios support video, photo, and audio production, practicing and recording presentations, and online conferencing and streaming. Check out our podcasting, music recording, and video production studios.
Emory Center for Digital Scholarship - Get help with a wide range of digital projects including text and data analysis, online exhibits, websites, GIS and mapping, publishing, and more.
This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
Everyone's an Author by Andrea Lunsford; Michal Brody; Lisa Ede; Beverly Moss; Carole Clark Papper; Keith Walters
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Built on the keystones of rhetoric, Everyone's an Author provides a strong foundation for authoring in the digital age: in college essays, but also on Twitter; in print, but also online; with words, but also with sound, video, and images. It shows students that the rhetorical skills they already use in social media, in their home and religious communities, at work and in other nonacademic contexts are the same ones they'll need to succeed in college. Examples and readings drawn from across multiple media and dealing with topics that matter to students today make this a book that everyone who takes first-year writing will relate to.
Has helped generations of researchers at every level learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research.
The Meaningful Writing Project by Michele Eodice; Anne Ellen Geller; Neal Lerner
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
In the face of the continuing discourse of crisis in US education, The Meaningful Writing Project offers readers an affirming story of writing in higher education that shares students' experiences in their own voices. In presenting the results of a three-year study consisting of surveys and interviews of university seniors and their faculty across three diverse institutions, authors Michele Eodice, Anne Ellen Geller, and Neal Lerner consider students' perceptions of their meaningful writing experiences, the qualities of those experiences, and instructors' perspectives on assignment design and delivery. This study confirms that meaningful assignments offer students opportunities to engage with instructors, peers, and texts and are relevant to past experiences and passions as well as to future aspirations and identities. Meaningful writing occurs across majors, in both required and elective courses, and beyond students' years at college. Additionally, the study makes clear that faculty across the curriculum devote significant care and attention to creating writing assignments that support student learning, as they understand writing performance to be a developmental process connected to overall cognitive and social development, student engagement with learning, and success in a wide variety of disciplines and professions. The Meaningful Writing Project provides writing center directors, WPAs, other composition scholars, and all faculty interested in teaching and learning with writing an unprecedented look into the writing projects students find meaningful.