Skip to Main Content
 
 

E-books

About the Emory Libraries ebook collections available to Emory students, faculty, and staff

Requesting e-books

During the current remote environment we are offering more e-book options for faculty, students and staff!

You can use Library Search for subscribed content to most of these collections or go directly to their platforms. Databases@Emory also contains links to most our e-book collections! Note that once in many of these databases, you may want to limit (usually via a click box) to items to which we have access. Want a print title in e-format that's in the Stacks? Let us know! Contact your subject librarian or use the purchase request form.

Textbooks and Classes

Keep in mind that textbooks are difficult for libraries to acquire in digital forms. Rental options, through the Barnes and Noble Bookstore, may be the best option for some students to access textbooks. Also, remember that Wiley, Oxford, Springer, Cambridge and Routledge all produce a variety of handbooks, companions, and surveys which can serve as course texts freely accessible to you and your students. Again, see our e-book guide for more details as to the availability and access to these collections. Consider Open Educational Resource options as well.

Please allow time for the exploration of possible options when preparing your course, so that we can determine what e-book options are available, and maximize use and availability!

It is also good practice to check links and access prior to assigning texts for class, as e-book package content can change (particularly for subscription databases).

Key E-Book Resources and Collections

 

Note that individual records for all the collections below are currently in Library Search. For more information and advice regarding downloading e-book content, managing digital rights management, and use of e-books, please see the other tabs of this guide!

Publisher Collections Avallable Access
ACLS Humanities E-Books Online collection of over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences Chapter downloads, can read online as well.

Brill 

Complete Brill corpus available, EBA model with purchases made at the end of the subscription year. Full title downloads
Cambridge University Press All Cambridge titles and partner press e-book from 2015-present. Evidence-based collection. Currently content remains stable, and no titles removed. Includes some university partners (e.g., Edinburgh, Bristol, Amsterdam, Manchester) Full download of titles.
Credo Reference works across disciplines Individual reference entries searchable and downloadable
De Gruyter Selected frontlist titles (2020-present); also includes some university press titles. Full title downloads
Digitalia Spanish-language e-book collection. DRM required. DRM. Adobe Digital Editions required.
Duke University Press Frontlist 2020-forward Chapter downloads; limit to titles that are free, open access, or available
EBSCOhost ebooks EBSCO's Academic Book Collection. Provided through GALILEO membership. DRM, most titles multi-user, some limited to read-only or limited number of users. Restrictions on printing and downloading. Require Adobe Digital Editions.
Elsevier Science Direct Titles Selected new books (frontlist content), as well as most Handbooks. Full download of titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library E-versions of Gale reference works. Chapter downloads as PDF. No additional software required. Notes and highlights can be emailed. Can send to Google drive or Microsoft OneDrive. 

JSTOR E-Books

 University press content primarily, select "books" in advanced search, complete backlist for most, but not all is available as a pilot). See note about accessing titles that are not currently available via JSTOR. Chapter downloads
MIT Press Front list is open access; term access to backlist content Chapter downloads
ProQuest/Ebrary Academic Library Complete Collection  Individually purchased books, along with access to the GALILEO-provided Academic Library Complete Collections from EBSCO and ProQuest DRM, most titles multi-user, some limited to read-only or limited number of users. Restrictions on printing and downloading. Require Adobe Digital Editions.
Oxford Scholarship Online  Selected titles. Please see the "green lock" icon to determine if Emory has access. Chapter downloads only.
Oxford Bibliographies, Handbooks and Research Encyclopedias  Great resources across a variety of subject areas for overviews, surveys, and critical introductions to the literature. Emory has access to most of subject areas. Chapter downloads only. HTML includes more options for linking out to other content.
Oxford University Press Provides access to individual titles published by OUP. Access is by individual title only and best located via Library Search.  Access varies from 1 user and some access restrictions to unlimited use and no access restrictions. Does not require additional software or extra accounts. Can download as PDFs or view as html.
Sage Research Methods Research methods texts from Sage. Titles available in HTML and PDFs. HTML include page numbers for better citation.
Sage Reference All titles on the Sage Knowledge platform. Methods and Social Sciences. Subscription/evidence-based model. Titles available in HTML and PDFs. HTML include page numbers for better citation.
Springer E-Book Collections ( Materials Science and Chemistry, Biomedical Engineering, and Computer Science). Just added as a pilot: 2019-2022 content for Mathematics and Statistics, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, and Social Sciences.  Full title download available
OAPEN Open Access titles available for download from a variety of publishers and sources. Full title downloads available.
O'Reilly (Safari)  Also referred to as O'Reilly for Higher Education. Technical, business and computer science titles See guide entry for Safari on downloading titles.
Routledge 2018-2021 Evidence-based pilot. We will select titles for perpetual access in late August. 2018 titles will be removed no later than September. Full download of titles.
Routledge Handbooks  All Routledge Handbooks, full title downloads, on subscription. Full title downloads available.
Project Muse  2010-2013 university press content Chapter downloads only.
Overdrive Selected contemporary titles 1 user downloads (check-outs) only. Not ideal for Reserves.
Taylor & Francis Books purchased directly from the publisher including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Chapman & Hall. These books are without DRM restrictions.  You can view via many browsers or download chapters as PDFs. 
University of Michigan Current year and term backlist Chapter downloads
Wiley Social Sciences, Humanities, and Physical Sciences content Full text and chapter downloads

 

 

 

How do the Libraries Make E-Books Accessible?

The Libraries purchase and make e-books access in a number of ways. Preference is for e-books without restrictions, where possible and feasible:

Demand-Driven Acquisition

(titles made accessible and purchased on demand/as used)

JSTOR

Evidence-Based Acquisition

(pool of titles made accessible and then an agreed to sum of titles purchased at end of term)

Cambridge, Wiley, Sage

Individual Title Purchases

Various
Consortial Purchases (titles made available as part of membership in educational consortium, such as GALILEO EBSCO and ProQuest Academic Book Collections (backlist)
E-Book Packages/Collections (individual collections, oftentimes individual titles not available for purchase) Springer e-book collections
E-Book Subscriptions O'Reilly (Safari)

 

 

Open Library

  • Open Library from the Internet Archive. Just copy and paste the title from discoverE into the search box, and see if it is available. Note that if the title is unavailable, please contact your subject librarian for other options. The Internet Archive and participating libraries have selected digitized books from their collections that are available to be borrowed by one patron at a time from anywhere in the world for free. These books are available in BookReader for mat and usually in PDF and ePub formats. You can choose which format you prefer as you complete the borrowing process. BookReader editions may be read online immediately in your web browser. No special software is required. Other Internet Archive loans are managed through Adobe Digital Editions and will require software installation on your computer or device. You can borrow a title to read online for 1 hour, or check it out for a period of 14 days. Even if the title is checked out, you can still read online for the 1 hour.