Sharon Leslie
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3822-526XWoodruff Health Sciences Center Library
Emory University
Nursing Research Guide
Keeza Hamed
Feedback
Please click here to provide feedback about this research guide. Note you will be asked to provide the URL or guide name. The URL can be found at the bottom of the page or in the search box. The guide name is at the top.
Thank you.
Acknowledgement
This guide was created by Erin Mooney, a librarian at the Robert W. Woodruff Library. Many thanks to Erin for starting and maintaining the Zotero Guide for so many years. For assistance with Zotero, please contact Sharon Leslie or Keeza Hameed.
About Zotero
Collect, manage and cite research sources with this free, open source software
-
Save references from databases, library catalogs and the web
-
Organize them into collections for projects
-
Create in-text citations and bibliographies while writing your paper
Download Zotero AND a browser connector
What is a Citation Manager?
Bibliographic management software, or citation managers, can save time by:
- Keeping track of reference sources
- Downloading citations from article databases or book catalogs
- Automatically formatting bibliographies in MS Word
- Creating bibliographies in different publication styles
|
EndNote is available at no cost to Emory students, faculty and staff. Go to the Software Express page and log in with your NetID and password. Click the "I Agree" button at the bottom of the page to be taken to the download page.
|
Zotero is a free open source application that works with a browser plug-in. Download both the desktop application (Windows or Mac) and the browser plug-in (Chrome, Firefox or Safari) from the Zotero website. Create a free account to sync your citations to the internet (your account doesn't have to be Emory-affiliated.)
|
Citation Styles
A Citation Style Guide (aka manual or handbook) describes a standardized format for citing the resources and references used in your research papers, theses, articles, etc.
The citation format depends on the style you are using. Commonly used academic styles include APA, MLA, and Chicago. Each has an official style guide or manual. These guides contain examples on how to cite a variety of sources and proper formating, such as margins and font size. Different disciplines use different styles - check with your instructor if you are unsure which one to use.
For most styles, you cite your sources in two places:
- Within your paper (aka in-text) - Immediately after using a source, include a parenthetical citation, footnote or endnote.
- At the end of your paper - Assemble a complete list of your sources. This is usually called a "Bibliography," "Reference List" or "Works Cited" section.
Using a citation manager like Zotero or EndNote will help you place the citations in your paper, create your bibliography and keep a library of your research.
Zotero Book
Zotero: A guide for librarians, researchers, and educators (2nd ed.) by eBook (2017), and in print at Oxford 025.30285536 P9772z
More About Zotero
"Zotero is a project of the Corporation for Digital Scholarship, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the development of software and services for researchers and cultural heritage institutions. It was created at the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University with initial funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the United States Institute of Museum and Library Services, and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation."