Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law: Detailed articles on international law topics, with citations, document lists, and bibliographies. Includes links to documents and the Oxford Law Citator for finding citation form and related citing documents. Be sure to check article dates for currency.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law: Articles on procedural issues in international courts and complaints procedures, including bibliographies, document and case citations, and the Oxford Law Citator .
Dictionary of International Human Rights Law (Elgar Online): Definitions of terminology specific to international human rights law
CRS Research Reports: Reports by the Congressional Research Service on issues before Congress, including many on US foreign policy. Find them on EveryCRSReport.com, Congress.gov, the Federation of American Scientists, and ProQuest Congressional. The Law Library of Congress also produces reports on Foreign, comparative, and international law for members of Congress.
Global Legal Monitor: Browse by topic or jurisdiction, or search to find articles on developments in foreign and international law. Articles are in English and include links to primary and news sources referenced. The Topics list includes Human Rights and Civil Liberties, Immigration, and Asylum.
Jurist World Legal News: Daily posts of legal news from around the world, with a search feature.
UN News: Portal of UN news on its activities, including topic areas in Advanced Search for Human Rights and Migrants & Refugees. There is also a keyword search. Subscribe to daily or weekly updates by topic.
ASIL Insights: Brief analysis of newsworthy stories in international courts, treaties, and international law
ASIL International Law in Brief: Abstracts of and links to new primary documents in international law, updates International Legal Materials
Human Rights Watch: Browse the topics list to find news and reports
Amnesty International: News and reports by topic and country. Topics include Human Rights Defenders and Activists, Internet and Social Media, Migrants, and Refugees.
Lawfare: National security news and blog. The extensive topics list includes International Law, Disinformation, Privacy, and Immigration
Just Security: National security news and blog. Current key topics include Immigration, Racial Justice, and Law of Armed Conflict, or search for topics like "disinformation."
Justia Blawg Search: Browse or search for posts in legal blogs. The category list includes Human Rights, Immigration Law, Civil Rights, International Law, and Constitutional Law.
News sites that cover foreign and international news subjects may have coverage of human rights issues
Newspapers from other countries:
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online): Database of journal articles, working papers, and policy briefs from NGOs and research institutes. Topic filters include Asylum, Human Rights, Development, and Immigration.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP): Search by keyword, subject, country of publication or heading. Links to full-text of articles available on Hein, and to Emory's catalog for other availability. Law journals of other countries can be useful for researching the domestic law of those countries, as well as international law.
Journal of Human Rights Practice: an academic journal focusing on human rights practice and activism
Emory Library collections: Use Library Search to search the catalog for books on international law and human rights. For print materials, international human rights can be found, in general, near K3240. U.S. Immigration Law is at KF4819 . DiscoverE also includes records for e-books, with links.
Titles on human rights practice include:
Your project may require research in journals from disciplines other than law, including psychology, sociology, economics, criminology, and public health. You have access as an Emory student to many other databases of academic journals, both full-text and indexes.
Emory A-Z Databases: You can browse databases by subject (Political Science, Psychology, LGBT Studies), or search for databases with your search terms ("human rights," statistics) in their database descriptions.
Library Search: The catalog for the Emory libraries is also a database for searching articles and online-access books in multiple campus (non-law) databases. Log in first as an Emory user. Use Articles+ and filters for title, subject, or "any field." Results will include links to the articles in campus databases. To search for electronic journals by title, use Emory e-Journals.
Multi-disciplinary journal databases:
JSTOR: Full-text, pdf journals, including older volumes. Disciplines include Feminist & Women's Studies, Health Policy, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Public Health, Public Policy, History, and Statistics.
Social Science journal databases:
Social Sciences Abstracts: Searchable index of social science journals, including political science, sociology, anthropology, pscychology, sociology, and economics. Full-text available for some results, others with Find it @ Emory links.
PAIS International: Searchable index of articles, books, policy papers, and government documents in public policy, social policy, and social sciences. Results as citations and abstracts with Find it @ Emory links.
Contemporary Women's Issues: Global information on women from journals, newsletters, and research reports in disciplines including sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
Women's Studies International: Scholarship in feminist research in the areas of sociology, history, political science, and international relations. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, reports, and dissertations.
SocINDEX: Searchable database of sociology journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers. Includes international and non-U.S. journals. Full-text available for some results, others with Find it @ Emory links.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection: Full-text journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO: Indexes and provides access to major peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Public Health journal databases:
PubMed: Database of the National Library of Medicine. Citations to biomedical articles back to the 1950's, from MEDLINE and other science journal databases. Links are included to many articles either as free web resources or through Find it @ Emory.
CABI Global Health: Searchable abstracts of international journals on disease, nutrition, and public health.
ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts): Searchable index of journals in public health, medicine, psychology, sociology, and social work. Includes international and non-U.S. journals. Full-text available for some results, others with Find it @ Emory links.
Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
Still have questions?
Stop by our Reference Desk to chat with us in person.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services (September 6, 2023 - December 8, 2023):
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (September 6, 2023 - December 8, 2023):
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: 12pm - Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 10am-4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services