ABAC (Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Tifton, GA): Rural Community Development
UCI Law Library: Community & Economic Development (California)
Land Use Law in a Nutshell by 
Local Government Law in a Nutshell by 
Building a Resilient Twenty-First-Century Economy for Rural America by
In Building a Resilient Twenty-First-Century Economy for Rural America, Don E. Albrecht visits rural communities that have traditionally been dependent on a variety of goods-producing industries, explores what has happened as employment in these industries has declined, and provides a path by which they can build a vibrant twenty-first-century economy. Albrecht describes how structural economic changes led rural voters to support Donald Trump in the 2016 election and why his policies will not relieve the economic problems of rural residents. Trump's promises to restore rural industrial jobs simply cannot be fulfilled because his policies do not address the base cause for this job loss--technological change, the most significant factor being the machine replacement of human labor in the production process. Bringing a personal understanding of the effects on rural communities and residents, Albrecht focuses each chapter on a community that has traditionally been economically dependent on a single industry--manufacturing, coal mining, agriculture, logging, oil and gas production, and tourism--and the consequences of losing that industry. He also lays out a plan for rebuilding America's rural areas and creating an economically vibrant country with a more sustainable future.
Wealth Creation: A New Framework for Rural Economic and Community Development by
A new approach to rural development is emerging. Instead of being about attracting companies that might create jobs over which communities have no control, the emerging paradigm is about connecting the unique underutilized assets of place with market opportunity to grow assets that are owned and controlled by and for the benefit of low-wealth people and places. But asset development is about more than bricks and mortar or narrowly defined financial assets. There are many kinds of assets that communities require to thrive - such as social capital, natural capital, political capital, and intellectual capital. The emerging new approach to rural development is, then about broadening the definition of "wealth," engaging underutilized assets, and a key third element: harnessing the power of the market - rather than relying solely on philanthropy and government. Wealth Creation provides a conceptual guide with practical examples for policymakers, practitioners of economic and community development, community organizers, environmentalists, funders, investors, and corporations seeking a values-based framework for identifying self-interests across sectors that can lead to opportunities to transform existing systems for the collective good.
Effective Strategies for Community Development Finance: US Office of the Comptroller of the Currency 2000.
Community Development Resource Guide: Information on community development, banking, and governmental resources. US Office of the Comptroller of the Currency 2000.
Rural Economic Development Handbook and Resource Guide: Rep. Tom Osborne, 2002. Focus on Nebraska.
Law School Involvement in Community Development: Study of initiatives and approaches. Publication from US Dept of Housing and Urban Development, 1998.
US Economic Development Administration: Includes grants, programs, and funding opportunities. Includes an Economic Development Directory by state.
USDA Rural Development: Loans and grants, including community economic plans. Includes the Rural Data Gateway and the Rural Innovation Center. Includes Georgia programs and contact information.
Georgia Department of Community Affairs: Community & Economic Development: Includes funding programs and incentive programs. The Economic Development Financing Packet lists state, federal, and local programs designed to promote economic development and business enhancement in Georgia.
Georgia Center for Rural Prosperity and Innovation (Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College): Information and research hub for rural leadership training, partners with public and private stakeholders to identify and support projects. Agriculture reports, policy updates, project reports.
Rural Community Toolbox: Focuses on the opioid crisis in rural communities, but includes funding opportunities for economic development and infrastructure.
Georgia.gov State Organizations and Agencies
Official Code of Georgia Annotated: Free access to the unannotated text, from the General Assembly and Lexis. Also available in searchable, annotated versions from Westlaw and Lexis.
Georgia Rules and Regulations: Looseleaf set available in the King & Spalding Georgia Room. Available online on Westlaw and Lexis.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):
Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
