Research Guides:
Georgetown Law Library Research Guides: Data Protection & Privacy, Privacy & Information Law
Florida State University Law Library: International Privacy Law Resources
CRS Reports:
IF11207: Data Protection and Privacy Law: An Introduction
R45631: Data Protection Law: An Overview
IF11783: Biometric Technologies and Global Security
LSB10786: Abortion, Data Privacy, and Law Enforcement Access: A Legal Overview
Study Aids and Textbooks:
A Short and Happy Guide to Privacy and Cybersecurity Law by
This efficient book provides an essential introduction to the privacy fundamentals and security essentials that make up the modern economy. Privacy and free speech expert Professor Jon M. Garon has written an essential overview geared to students and entrepreneurs. The book provides a concise overview of privacy from its origins in constitutional and common law through the most important changes in U.S. laws and laws that impact the U.S. from abroad. The book explains privacy and security rules for finance, health care, and business, along with practical advice on running a secure business and keeping oneself safe when online.
Privacy Law in a Nutshell by
The Privacy Nutshell briefly reviews the historical roots of privacy, and then examines each of these U.S. privacy statutes and regulations. Virtually all governments and businesses face privacy considerations as technology continues to evolve. Legal issues related to privacy are exploding on the U.S. legal scene. The EU has a long history of a strong regulatory privacy regime. The U. S., however, follows a sectoral approach to privacy, whereby Congress responds to each privacy "crisis" with a new statute and set of regulations. This sectoral approach has resulted in a unique series of privacy rules for different areas of society.
Global Internet Law by
The Global Internet Law Hornbook provides law students, practitioners, judges, and policymakers with a comprehensive examination of the latest case law and statutory developments. Each chapter is a detailed examination of cases, statutes, industry standards, norms, as well as leading academic commentaries. While the emphasis is on U.S. developments, each chapter compares U.S. to EU regulations, directives, and conventions, as well as other cross-border Internet law developments from diverse legal systems around the world. This timely and up-to-date Hornbook comprehensively examines Internet technologies, Internet governance, private international law (jurisdiction, choice of law, forum selection and enforcement of judgment), online contacts (mass market, cloud computing service level agreements, social media terms of use software licensing, and e-commerce terms of service), global consumer protection in cyberspace (FTC, state and foreign developments), global Internet torts (including CDA Section 230 developments, Internet security, information torts, and negligent enablement), Internet-related privacy (including the EU Data Directive) global cybercrimes (including state, federal and international developments), privacy (including extensive coverage of The General Data Protection Regulation and the Right To Be Forgotten), content regulations (U.S. vs. European Union), copyrights in cyberspace, trademarks and domain names, Internet-related trade secrets and patent law developments.
Privacy and the Media by
This short paperback contains key cases and materials focusing on privacy issues related to the media. Topics covered include the privacy torts, free speech, First Amendment, paparazzi, defamation, online gossip and social network websites.
Human Rights and Digital Technology by
Analysing the convergence of law and regulation with rapidly evolving communications technologies, this interdisciplinary work navigates the intricate balancing act between human rights protection and technological innovation in a digital age, and illuminates the comprehensive potential of human rights to frame our intelligent use of technology. The authors address such pressing questions as how to protect user privacy online, whether digital pollution is a health hazard, who should have control and be responsible for data technologies and how to maintain human autonomy in a world of interconnected objects. By considering specific cases, this book provides an in-depth exploration of the many regulatory and technological choices citizens, states, civil society organizations and the private sector should consider to ensure that digital technology more fully serves human needs.
Privacy in the Digital Age by
A collection of expert essays examines the privacy rights that have been lost in the post-9/11 era--giving students and others the knowledge they need to take back their constitutional protections.This timely two-volume collection shares information every citizen should have, tackling the erosion of privacy rights engendered by the ability of digital technology to intercept, mine, and store personal data, most often without the knowledge of those being monitored. Examining its subject through the lens of Fourth Amendment rights, the work focuses on technological advances that now gather personal data on an unprecedented scale, whether by monitoring social media, tracking cell phones, or using thermal imaging to watch people's movement. It also examines the possible impact of the widespread gathering of such data by law enforcement and security agencies and by private corporations such as Google.Organized by hot-button topics confronting U.S. citizens in the post-9/11 era, the work reviews the original intent of the Fourth Amendment and then traces the development and erosion of interpretations of that amendment in the 21st century. Topical essays offer a comprehensive treatment and understanding of current Fourth Amendment issues, including those that have been brought before the courts and those relative to the continuing governmental and societal emphasis on security and public safety since the Columbine shootings in 1999 and the events of September 11, 2001.
The Poverty of Privacy Rights by
The Poverty of Privacy Rights makes a simple, controversial argument: Poor mothers in America have been deprived of the right to privacy. The U.S. Constitution is supposed to bestow rights equally. Yet the poor are subject to invasions of privacy that can be perceived as gross demonstrations of governmental power without limits. Courts have routinely upheld the constitutionality of privacy invasions on the poor, and legal scholars typically understand marginalized populations to have "weak versions" of the privacy rights everyone else enjoys. Khiara M. Bridges investigates poor mothers' experiences with the state--both when they receive public assistance and when they do not.
The Cambridge Handbook of Race and Surveillance by
Featuring chapters authored by leading scholars in the fields of criminology, critical race studies, history, and more, The Cambridge Handbook of Race and Surveillance cuts across history and geography to provide a detailed examination of how race and surveillance intersect throughout space and time. The volume reviews surveillance technology from the days of colonial conquest to the digital era, focusing on countries such as the United States, Canada, the UK, South Africa, the Philippines, India, Brazil, and Palestine. Weaving together narratives on how technology and surveillance have developed over time to reinforce racial discrimination, the book delves into the often-overlooked origins of racial surveillance, from skin branding, cranial measurements, and fingerprinting to contemporary manifestations in big data, commercial surveillance, and predictive policing.
Protecting Personal Information by
The concept of privacy has long been confused and incoherent. The right to privacy has been applied promiscuously to an alarmingly wide-ranging assortment of issues including free speech, political consent, abortion, contraception, sexual preference, noise, discrimination, and pornography. The conventional definition of privacy, and attempts to evolve a 'privacy-as-a-fence' approach, are unable to deal effectively with the technological advances that have significantly altered the way information is collected, stored, and communicated. Social media such as Facebook pose searching questions about the use and protection of personal information and reveal the limits of conceiving the right to privacy as synonymous with data protection.
Habeas Data by
A book about what the Cambridge Analytica scandal shows- That surveillance and data privacy is every citizens' concern An important look at how 50 years of American privacy law is inadequate for the today's surveillance technology, from acclaimed Ars Technica senior business editor Cyrus Farivar. Until the 21st century, most of our activities were private by default, public only through effort; today anything that touches digital space has the potential (and likelihood) to remain somewhere online forever. That means all of the technologies that have made our lives easier, faster, better, and/or more efficient have also simultaneously made it easier to keep an eye on our activities. In 10 crucial legal cases, Habeas Data explores the tools of surveillance that exist today, how they work, and what the implications are for the future of privacy.
Data Protection and Privacy, Volume 14 by
This book brings together papers that offer conceptual analyses, highlight issues, propose solutions, and discuss practices regarding privacy, data protection and enforcing rights in a changing world. It is one of the results of the 14th annual International Conference on Computers, Privacy and Data Protection (CPDP), which took place online in January 2021.The pandemic has produced deep and ongoing changes in how, when, why, and the media through which, we interact. This raises difficult questions as to which rights we have, and should have, in relation to such novel forms of data processing, the degree to which these rights should be balanced against other poignant social interests, and how these rights should be enforced in light of the fluidity and uncertainty of circumstances. The book covers a range of topics, such as: digital sovereignty; art and algorithmic accountability; multistakeholderism in the Brazilian General Data Protection law; expectations of privacy and the European Court of Human Rights; the function of explanations; DPIAs and smart cities; and of course, EU data protection law and the pandemic - including chapters on scientific research and on the EU Digital COVID Certificate framework.This interdisciplinary book has been written at a time when the scale and impact of data processing on society - on individuals as well as on social systems - is becoming ever starker. It discusses open issues as well as daring and prospective approaches and is an insightful resource for readers with an interest in computers, privacy and data protection.
Digital Data Collection and Information Privacy Law by
In Digital Data Collection and Information Privacy Law, Mark Burdon argues for the reformulation of information privacy law to regulate new power consequences of ubiquitous data collection. Examining developing business models, based on collections of sensor data - with a focus on the 'smart home' - Burdon demonstrates the challenges that are arising for information privacy's control-model and its application of principled protections of personal information exchange. By reformulating information privacy's primary role of individual control as an interrupter of modulated power, Burdon provides a foundation for future law reform and calls for stronger information privacy law protections.
Bloomberg Law:
Lexis:
Westlaw:
Lexology Panoramic (formerly Getting the Deal Through):
Electronic Frontier Foundation: The EFF was founded in 1990 to champion user privacy, free expression, and innovation through litigation, policy analysis, grassroots activism, and technology development. Find news, commentary, white papers, and cases with EFF amicus briefs
Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC): EPIC focuses public attention on emerging privacy and civil liberties issues and protects privacy, freedom of expression, and democratic values in the information age. Find analysis of bills and laws, amicus briefs in privacy cases, and EPIC's Digital Library for publications, press releases, amicus briefs, and other documents.
Privacy International: Reports and studies on international privacy laws and policies.
Blogs:
Have a question for the Law Library? Reach out to us via one of our question forms:
Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (April 1 - May 3, 2024):
Monday - Thursday: 7:30am - 2am
Friday: 7:30am - Midnight
Saturday: 10am - Midnight
Sunday: 10am - 2am
Reference Desk:
Monday - Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday: 10:30am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services