U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division: Enforces federal statutes prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, disability, religion, familial status, and national origin. Find publications and reports, case summaries, and information on how to file a complaint.
U.S.Commission on Civil Rights: An independent, bipartisan federal agency that studies alleged deprivations of voting rights and alleged discrimination to inform the development of national civil rights policy. Find research reports, state advisory committee reports, congressional reports and testimony, and meeting transcripts
University of Michigan Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse: Documents (dockets, complaints, orders) and information from civil rights cases, both historical and recent
Getting Uncle Sam to Enforce Your Civil Rights (US Commission on Civil Rights): Information, addresses, and links on where to file a complaint with federally assisted programs (2014 revision)
Georgia Commission on Equal Opportunity: The state's agency charged with overseeing state civil rights.
Southern Center for Human Rights: Information on the organization's work in areas including the death penalty and the criminalization of poverty, with resources including handbooks.
American Civil Liberties Union: Reports and cases in which the ACLU is involved with preservation of individual rights and liberties.
Books, Treatises, and Journals:
Federal Election Commission: Federal election laws and regulations, policy statement and guidance documents, advisory opinions, pending litigation, case index of federal election law, financial disclosure reports and data.
National Association of Secretaries of State: Election information by state, surveys and reports on elections.
National Conference of State Legislatures: Research reports, news, and tables on state issues, including elections and compaigns, and redistricting and census.
NARA U.S. Voting and Election Resources: Links to resources on voting, elections, and campaign finance
U.S. Election Assistance Commission: Information on election administration and voting systems, with voter's guides and an Election Resource Library.
Brennan Center for Justice: Public policy institute with a focus on voting rights, redistricting, and campaign finance reform. Find case summaries, policy briefs, news, and a blog on election law.
Brookings Institution: Information on US Politics and Government, including on campaigns and elections.
Open Secrets.org: Resources on elections, lobbying, and money in politics
CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection: Primary and secondary sources, plus data, on elections, campaign finance, electoral systems, and voting
Election Law at Moritz College of Law: Major pending election law cases and litigation documents, with commentary and recent developments
CRS Reports: Reports from the Congressional Research Service on Congressional administration and elections
Carter Center Democracy Program: The Carter Center's work including elections observed, publications, voting in Georgia, and US elections
Election Law Manual: An overview of state and federal election law, from the National Center for State Courts and William & Mary Law School
ProQuest Legislative Insight: Legislative history documents and compiled legislative histories, including for voting rights legislation.
Current Foreign Policy:
State Department Policy Issues: Information and documents by issues within foreign policy
Office of Treaty Affairs: Treaties in Force, Texts of Agreements, Treaties Pending in the U.S. Senate
The White House: Presidential Actions, including Executive Orders, Memoranda, and Messages
Senate Foreign Relations Committee
Federation of American Scientists: A curated collection of CRS Reports on national security and foreign affairs
Journals:
Historical Resources:
Digest of US Practice in International Law: Documents and statements by year and subject area
Foreign Relations of the United States 1861-1988: Official documentary history of U.S. foreign relations. Also available and more searchable on Hein Online
Restatement of Foreign Relations Law of the United States: Statements of U.S. and international customary practice, commentary on the rules, and cases applying the rules. Second and Third Restatements, plus a fourth edition focusing on status of treaties, jurisdiction and state immunity, and enforcement of foreign judgments. Available on Hein Online, Westlaw, and Lexis.
ProQuest Congressional: Database of congressional and legislative history materials, includes older CRS Reports
UN Member States on the Record: Dates of UN membership, links to General Debate statements, search for speeches and draft resolutions.
UN Security Council Repertoire of Practice: Historical record of the work of the UN Security Council
Security Council Report: An independent thinktank on the work of the UN Security Council with reports by country and theme. Includes chronologies of events and key UN documents
Government Websites:
ADA.gov: Guide to Disability Rights Laws
US Department of Justice Civil Rights Division: Rights of Persons with Disabilities
Research Guides:
Law Library of Congress: Disability Law in the United States: A Beginner's Guide
Harvard Law Library: Disability Law
Syracuse Law Library: Disability Law
Study Aids, Books, and Treatises:
Federal Disability Law in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell presents an overview of the major federal disability laws with emphasis on the statutes, regulations, and significant points of substantive and procedural law. The sixth edition includes significant focus on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), including its 2008 Amendment and accompanying regulations. Features coverage on constitutional rights; the definition of "disabled"; Rehabilitation Act of 1973; employment discrimination; programs and services; and housing, education, and transportation. Also reviews the many relevant areas of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), including the 2004 Amendments and two recent Supreme Court cases under the IDEA.
Disability Law and Policy by
Disability Law and Policy provides an overview of the major themes and insights in disability law. During the past three decades, disability law and policy, including the law of the ADA itself, have evolved dramatically in the United States and internationally. Walls of inaccessibility, exclusion, segregation, stigma, and discrimination have been torn down, often brick-by-brick. But the work continues, many times led by advocates who have never known a world without the ADA and are now building on the efforts of those who came before them.
Decarcerating Disability by
This vital addition to carceral, prison, and disability studies draws important new links between deinstitutionalization and decarceration Prison abolition and decarceration are increasingly debated, but it is often without taking into account the largest exodus of people from carceral facilities in the twentieth century: the closure of disability institutions and psychiatric hospitals. Decarcerating Disability provides a much-needed corrective, combining a genealogy of deinstitutionalization with critiques of the current prison system. Liat Ben-Moshe provides groundbreaking case studies that show how abolition is not an unattainable goal but rather a reality, and how it plays out in different arenas of incarceration--antipsychiatry, the field of intellectual disabilities, and the fight against the prison-industrial complex. Ben-Moshe discusses a range of topics, including why deinstitutionalization is often wrongly blamed for the rise in incarceration; who resists decarceration and deinstitutionalization, and the coalitions opposing such resistance; and how understanding deinstitutionalization as a form of residential integration makes visible intersections with racial desegregation. By connecting deinstitutionalization with prison abolition, Decarcerating Disability also illuminates some of the limitations of disability rights and inclusion discourses, as well as tactics such as litigation, in securing freedom.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 19 - November 15, 2024):
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
