Emory Law Library: Gender, Sexuality & the Law
Emory Library: Guides on Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies, including Gender, Race and Political Representation in the U.S.
Northwestern Law Library: International Law: Women's Rights
Georgetown Law Library: Gender and the Law Research Guide
Women and the Law Stories by
This book examines landmark cases establishing women's legal rights, offering accounts of the litigants, history, parties, strategies, and theoretical implications. It will enrich any law school course and can serve as a text for a course on women and the law, gender and law, feminist jurisprudence, or women's studies. This volume utilizes subject areas common to many women and law casebooks: history, constitutional law, reproductive freedom, the workplace, the family, and women in the legal profession. Several chapters explore issues of domestic violence and rape.
Reproductive Rights and Justice Stories by
This book tells the movement and litigation stories behind important reproductive rights and justice cases. The twelve chapters span topics including contraception, abortion, pregnancy, and assisted reproductive technologies, telling the stories of these cases using a wide-lens perspective that illuminates the complex ways law is debated and forged--in social movements, in representative government, and in courts. Some of the chapters shed new light on cases that are very much part of the constitutional law canon--Griswold v. Connecticut, Roe v. Wade, Planned Parenthood v. Casey, Nevada Department of Human Resources v. Hibbs. Others introduce the reader to new cases from state and lower federal courts that illuminate paths not taken in the law. Reading the cases together highlights the lived horizon in which individuals have encountered and struggled with questions of reproductive rights and justice at different eras in our nation's history--and so reveals the many faces of law and legal change.
Hein Online: Women and the Law (Peggy): Books, articles, periodicals, legal briefs, hearings, and biographies on the role of women in society and the law. Includes resources from Emory Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project, and subtopic resources on Women & Education, Women & Employment, and Women & Society.
UN Women: Programmes, policies, and standards that uphold women's human rights and ensure that every woman and girl lives up to her full potential. Find UN publications on women's political participation, economic empowerment, ending violence against women, and the sustainable development agenda.
UN Commission on the Status of Women: The principal intergovernmental body dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women. Includes information on submitting communications (complaints, appeals, petitions) on alleged violations of women's human rights.
UN Development Programme: Women's Empowerment: Blog, news, projects, publications.
World Bank: Women, Business and the Law: Blogs and publications. Create data reports by economic indicator or economy.
International Monetary Fund: Gender: Blogs and publications.
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development): News, data, blogs, and publications. Find reports by country or by topics, including Development, and Social and Welfare Issues, which includes data and reports on families and children, gender equality, inequality, and violence against women . Publications include economic surveys, economic outlooks, development cooperation reports, and regional policy reports. See the OECD iLibrary to browse publications by theme and/or country.
USAID: Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment: News, reports, and factsheets.
Amnesty International: Human Rights Issues: Issues include Gender & Sexuality Justice. Search or browse the reports by country, or by topics including Women and Girls, and Women's Rights.
Human Rights Watch: Find reports by country, or by topics including Women's Rights.
US State Department Office of Global Women's Issues: Reports on policies, initiatives, and strategies on global women's issues, including economic security, peace and security, and gender-based violence prevention
State Department Country Reports on Human Rights: Retrieve individual country reports or build reports on issues across countries. Topics include Discrimination and Societal Abuses, Women, and Discrimination with Respect to Employment and Occupation
UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women: States Parties Reports, Concluding Observations, and other reports
UN Women: Country Fact Sheets with data
Women, Poverty, Equality by
The stark reality is that throughout the world, women disproportionately live in poverty. This indicates that gender can both cause and perpetuate poverty, but this is a complex and cross-cutting relationship.The full enjoyment of human rights is routinely denied to women who live in poverty. How can human rights respond and alleviate gender-based poverty? This monograph closely examines the potential of equality and non-discrimination at international law to redress gender-based poverty. It offers a sophisticated assessment of how the international human rights treaties, specifically the Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), which contains no obligations on poverty, can be interpreted and used to address gender-based poverty.
International Women's Rights Law and Gender Equality by
The law is a well-known tool in fighting gender inequality, but which laws actually advance women's rights? This book unpacks the complex nuances behind gender-responsive domestic legislation, from several of the world's leading experts on gender equality. Drawing on domestic examples and international law, it provides a primer of theory alongside tangible and practical solutions to fulfil the promise of the law to deliver equality between men and women. Part I outlines what progress has been made to date on eradicating gender inequality, and insights into the law's potential as one lever in the global struggle for equality. Parts II and III go on to explore concrete areas of law, with case studies from multiple jurisdictions that examine how well domestic legislation is working for women. The authors bring their critical lens to areas of law often considered from a gender perspective - gender-based violence, women's reproductive health, labour and gender equality quotas - while bringing much-needed analysis to issues often ignored in gender debates, such as taxation, environmental justice and good governance. Part IV seeks to move from a theoretical goal of greater accountability to a practical one. It explores both accountability for international women's rights norms at the domestic level and the potential of feminist approaches to legislation to deliver laws that work for women.
Gender, Constitutions and Equality: A Global Comparison by
This book addresses whether the "gendering" of constitutions promotes women's equality. The authors use a mixed-method approach to explore how constitutional gender rights affect political processes and strategies, legislative and judicial outcomes, and ultimately women's equality. They employ a cross-national study by constructing a unique database of gender provisions in over 100 countries at three points in time: 1995, 2005, and 2015. Four in-depth comparative case studies on Argentina, Chile, South Africa, and Botswana, trace the complex relationship between constitutional law, strategies, and policy change in four policy areas: family law, gender-based violence, reproductive rights, and employment rights.
Feminism for the Americas by
This book chronicles the dawn of the global movement for women's rights in the first decades of the twentieth century. The founding mothers of this movement were not based primarily in the United States, however, or in Europe. Instead, Katherine M. Marino introduces readers to a cast of remarkable Latin American and Caribbean women whose deep friendships and intense rivalries forged global feminism out of an era of imperialism, racism, and fascism. Six dynamic activists form the heart of this story: from Brazil, Bertha Lutz; from Cuba, Ofelia Domingez Navarro; from Uruguay, Paulina Luisi; from Panama, Clara Gonzalez; from Chile, Marta Vergara; and from the United States, Doris Stevens. This Pan-American network drove a transnational movement that advocated women's suffrage, equal pay for equal work, maternity rights, and broader self-determination. Their painstaking efforts led to the enshrinement of women's rights in the United Nations Charter and the development of a framework for international human rights. But their work also revealed deep divides, with Latin American activists overcoming U.S. presumptions to feminist superiority. As Marino shows, these early fractures continue to influence divisions among today's activists along class, racial, and national lines.
Women and Land in Africa by
This volume is the product of original research into the changing situations which rural African women are experiencing in relation to land rights. The contributors highlight key land rights issues and make recommendations for each country. In a particularly interesting innovation, the volume examines the case of Ethiopia where an explicit attempt has been made not only to make the research findings available beyond the academic community, but to deploy this information in a rolling programme of advocacy. The authors argue that various social forces are now weakening customary and religious institutions; and innovative approaches to advocacy are seeking to assert women's human rights in this changing context.
Realizing Women's Rights to Land in the Law by
This publication provides methodological guidance for reporting on Target 5.a of the Sustainable Development Goals, namely to "Undertake reforms to give women equal rights to economic resources, as well as access to ownership and control over land and other forms of property, financial services, inheritance and natural resources, in accordance with national laws." Progress towards this target is measured through two indicators that focus on ownership and/or control over land. This step-by-step guide on the "how" of reporting and measuring progress on indicator 5.a.2. covers the collection of information on the legal and policy framework, the assessment of each of the proxies, and reporting
Gender, Poverty and Access to Justice by
Access to justice is a fundamental right guaranteed under a wide body of international, regional and domestic laws. In Africa, women make up much of Africa's poorest and most marginalized population, and as such are often prevented from enforcing rights or seeking other recourse. This book brings together contributors to explore and analyze the issue of gendered access to justice, poverty and disempowerment across Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), and provides policy discussions on the integration of gender in justice programming. Through individual country case studies, the book focuses on the challenges, obstacles and successes of developing and implementing gender focused access to justice policies and programming in the region. This multidisciplinary volume will be of interest to scholars and researchers across law, economics and global development, with a focus on poverty and gendered focuses policies in Sub-Saharan Africa.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 19 - November 15, 2024):
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services