Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAW 860 - Law, Institutions, and Growth (Prof. Sybblis, Spring 2022)

Law, Institutions, and Economic Development

 

News and Current Awareness

With the research component of your class in mind, we have compiled a listing of useful resources on law and international organizations, and law and economic development. If you have any questions, please request a student consult with a librarian using the form linked on the left hand side of this guide.

Use news and current awareness sources to find potential topics for your seminar paper. You should also use these to track developments and new cases, statutes, regulations, and documents that might affect your topic.

International News

Find news on legal and economic developments from other countries in standard U.S. sources, and in international news sources. 

News sources with good international coverage include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal (for financial and economic news), NPR, CNN, the BBC, and the Guardian (which has a featured section on Global Development). 

CNBC World Economy news includes stories on the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the World Trade Organization, and on the World Economic Forum in Davos. 

Westlaw, Lexis, and vLex Global also have international newspapers, journals, and wire services. 

Legal News

Many legal news databases will include developments in international law and the law of other countries, particularly in business and commercial areas of the law. 

Find legal news on Westlaw Edge by practice area, including Capital Markets, Finance & Banking, and Energy & Environment. 

Legal news subject areas on Law360 include International Trade, Banking, Environmental, and Project Finance. 

Global Legal Monitor: Browse by topic or jurisdiction, or search to find articles on developments in foreign and international law. Articles are in English and include links to primary and news sources referenced (through perma.cc). The Topics list includes Economic Development, Economics and Public Finance, Government Lending and Loan Guarantees, and Banks and Financial Institutions. The jurisdiction list includes international organizations, including the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the United Nations, the World Bank, and the World Trade Organization. 

Jurist World Legal News: Daily posts of legal news from around the world, with a search feature. 

International Institutions: News and Press Releases

International Monetary Fund: News resources include news, podcasts, the IMF Blog, Finance & Development magazine, country focus reports, and a Chart of the Week with other data resources. 

World Trade Organization: News includes news items, press releases, trade policy reviews by country, and a subject archives for finding news on trade topics. 

World Bank: News includes feature stories, press releases, statements, in-depth stories, fact sheets, and several World Bank blogs. 

United Nations: UN news sources include UN News (with a search feature and topics including Economic Development) and UN Sustainable Development News. 

 

Blogs

Legal blogs will include legal developments and new cases and statutes that might make good topics to expand for a seminar paper, or interesting additions to a paper on a related topic.

International Economic Law and Policy Blog: "Expert commentary on the law, politics and economics of international trade and investment."

IMF Blog (International Monetary Fund): IMF activities and analysis of developments in international development and finance.

German Development Institute (Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik): Blogs include Future of Globalisation and Africa Alliances

The Rand Blog (Rand Corporation): Updates on issues in public policy related to development and globalization.

US Economic Development Administration Blog: EDA proposals and activities

NPR Goats and Soda: "Stories of Life in a Changing World." Topics include Health, Development, Women & Girls, and Culture. 

ASIL (American Society of International Law) blogs include:

  • ASIL Insights: Brief analysis of international law news stories in international courts, treaties, and international law, with topic headings including development. 
  • ASIL International Law in Brief: Blog with abstracts of and links to new primary documents in international law, updating International Legal Materials.