Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAW 860 - Law, Institutions, and Growth (Prof. Sybblis, Spring 2022)

International Institutions: Background Information and Secondary Sources

Oxford International Organizations. The Oxford International Organizations database includes articles by regional and international organization, or by subject area, with historical background, citations, court decisions, documents, and bibliographies. 

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law: Detailed articles on international law topics, with citations, histories, document lists, and bibliographies. Includes links to documents and the Oxford Law Citator for finding citation form and related citing documents. Article topics include international organizations, sustainable development international financial law, and NGOs.

Oxford Bibliographies -- International Law. The International Law bibliography from Oxford Bibliographies provides authoritative titles of treatises and articles on the complex system of rules and principles meant to govern relations between states, to international organizations like the United Nations, and to international relations and diplomacy. Bibliographies available include International Development, International Economic Law, International Law and Economic Development, and International Organizations. 

Peace Palace Library Research Guides: International Organizations. Bibliography of recommended books, articles, periodicals, and databases. 

OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development): News, data, blogs, and publications. Find reports by country or by topics, including Development, Economy, Finance, Investment, and Public Government. Publications include economic surveys, economic outlooks, development cooperation reports, and regional policy reports. See the OECD iLibrary to browse publications by theme and/or country. 

 

United Nations

UN resources related to economic development:

UN Treaty Collection: Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General. Chapter  treaties on International Trade and Development, with status, parties, and links to text. 

United Nations Development Program: News, reports, publications, blogs. Includes information on the Sustainable Development Goals and Legal Frameworks for Civic Space: A Practical Toolkit. 

SDG Impact Standards Glossary: terminology related to the SDG Impact Standards

UNCTAD (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development): Projects, data, and publications including regional reports on economic development, and trade and development reports. Topic headings for finding news and publications include Debt and Development Finance; Enterprise Development, Investment, and Least Developed Countries. 

Human Rights Council Special Procedures: Special mandate resolutions and reports by country and theme. There are Special Rapporteurs and Independent Experts on themes including human rights and transnational corporations, right to development, and effects of foreign debt and international financial obligations. 

Universal Human Rights Index: Country-specific information from the Human Rights Treaty Bodies, Special Procedures, and Universal Periodic Review. Search for observations and recommendations by country, mechanism, human rights themes, concerned persons or groups, or by full-text search. Human Rights themes include right to development; economic policy and foreign debt; and economic, social, and cultural rights.

United Nations Digital Library: Search all UN digital publications, including official documents, votes, speeches, and public domain publications. Basic search allows narrowing by resource type and UN body. Advanced search offers additional fields, and search results can be filtered by UN bodies or document types, ranked by relevance, title, or year, and expanded from keyword to full-text searching. Find the UN Development Programme under Programmes and Funds. 

 

 

International Monetary Fund

International Monetary Fund resources include publications, working papers, reports by country and region, and data. Find publications by development-related subject, including debt, environment, competitiveness, and governance. 

IMF data sources include the World Economic Outlook, Regional Economic Outlooks, Government Finance Statistics Manuals, and financial data by country and topic. 

IMF Country Information includes news, data, factsheets, and staff consultation reports. 

IMF eLibrary: Latest publications, most popular, or find by region. PDF publications available to download.

IMF Bookstore: Publications by country, topic, or series, with most available for free download as PDF documents. 

World Trade Organization

World Trade Organization resources include WTO documents, news, and data. See Trade Topics for information on regional trade agreements, the Doha Development Agenda, building trade capacity, and other topics. 

The WTO Stats portal contains statistical indicators on WTO issues, including international trade, tariffs, and non-tariff indicators. 

WTO Trade and Development: Special provisions on trade for developing countries and least-developed countries. 

WTO Glossary: WTO terminology with links for more information on the WTO site. 

Trade Law Guide database: WTO Panel Decisions and arbitration awards to search, find by category, or find in the annotations to instrument articles. Includes case documents and commentaries, plus definitions.

WTO and GATT Panel Decisions are also available on Westlaw and Lexis

World Bank

World Bank resources include publications, data, and country and regional information. 

World Bank Open Data collects data on global development. Browse by country or indicator. Datasets include universal health coverage, external debt, and GovTech. The Data Catalog is searchable and includes datasets and featured publications and reports. 

Use the Where We Work section to find information by region, country group, or individual country, including research reports, in-depth studies, news, blogs, and data.