Hein Online: The Law Journal Library includes journals in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Find titles on law and economics and international law. Hein also has the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, which indexes journal articles from other countries by subject (including Economic Policy, Economic Planning and Integration, International Development Banks, and Foreign Aid) and and country. Articles available in Hein Online are linked, while other articles link to the catalog to find availability in other databases.
Westlaw and Lexis also have journals in their collections on law and economics and on international law.
Elgar Encyclopedia of International Economic Law by
The Encyclopedia presents international economic law in its broadest, real-world context. Organized thematically rather than alphabetically, the subject is split into four principal sections: the foundations and architecture of international economic law, its principles, its main regulatory areas, and the future challenges that it faces. Comprising over 250 entries written by leading scholars and practitioners, traditional international economic law subject matter is supplemented by coverage of newly developing areas. Entries include the concepts and rules of trade, investment, finance and international tax law, the relationship of international economic law with environmental protection, social standards, development, and human rights. The concise entries present an accessible and condensed overview of each topic within its legal context. Selected references follow each entry, suggesting directions for further detailed exploration of the topic.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Law and Economics, Second Edition
The Encyclopedia of Law and Economics presents an overview of the literature in the area of law and economics. The series comprises twelve volumes in the subject areas of criminal law, regulation, methodology of law, property law, intellectual property law, contract law, tort law, labor and employment law, antitrust law, corporate law, procedural law, and the production of legal rules. Chapters include numerous citations to primary authority and secondary sources.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Law and Development by
Bringing together more than 80 entries, the Encyclopedia spans a variety of approaches, contextualised histories, recent developments and forward-looking insights into the role of law in development. Entries cover the social, economic and environmental aspects of sustainable development, and offer a conceptual and contextualised perspective on key topics and terms. Key features: More than 80 entries Organised alphabetically for ease of reference Entries by both leading scholars and up-and-coming voices. Each entry features selected references for further study. Up-to-date outlook linked to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and Sustainable Development Goals.
Library Search
The best place to begin searching for research resources is through the Emory University library catalog Library Search. You can use Library Search to locate books, e-books, journals, videos, microfilms, government documents, etc.
Library Search User Guide The user guide provides hints for searching the Emory Libraries Catalog.
Subject areas to search include Law and Economic Development, Law Reform, and International Economic Relations.
Titles of interest include:
Law and Development by
This book examines the concept of 'development' from alternative perspectives and analyzes how different approaches influence law. 'Sustainable development' focuses on balancing economic progress, environmental protection, individual rights, and collective interests. This research examines how different approaches to 'development' and their impact on law can coexist in pluralistic and multicultural societies, and how to evaluate their legitimacy, analyzing the problem from an overarching theoretical perspective. It also discusses case studies stemming from different branches of law.
Law and Development by
Law and Development offers an assessment of the role of legal systems in development by extending the analytical framework of New Institutional Economics (NIE). Using empirical tests to critique Legal Origin Theory, and assess the role of culture in the formation of the legal environment, this book proposes that cultural factors are much more significant than allowed for by previous frameworks.
World Scientific Studies in International Economics Trade Law, Domestic Regulation and Development by
Trade Law, Domestic Regulation and Development is about the relationship between trade, regulation and development. By combining law and economics perspectives on the international trading system, Trachtman takes an interdisciplinary approach in analyzing the topic of globalization and economic development.Finding the right balance between market access and regulation is the subject of analysis in this collected volume of 16 papers.
Natural Resource Sovereignty and the Right to Development in Africa by
This book explores the nexus between natural resources ownership and the right to development in Africa. The right to sovereignty over natural resources and the right to development are recognised and protected in an extensive framework of international, regional and domestic instruments. This book articulates the central argument that to achieve the right to development in Africa requires appropriate governance of the continent's natural resources to which the people of Africa are guaranteed sovereign ownership. With case study illustrations from Zimbabwe, Ghana, Ethiopia and the Democratic Republic of Congo, chapters explore the normative measures, specific guarantees and community entitlements to natural resources for the realisation of the right to development.
Governance As Responsibility by
This book undertakes a specialised analysis of a topic that is highly significant both theoretically and practically. At the theoretical level, it discusses questions that have remained insufficiently answered in the fields of international human rights and institutional law. Notably, it clarifies how international human rights law conditions member states' governance role within international financial institutions and how this role is to be accommodated in the regime of international responsibility. Furthermore, the book's thorough discussion of member states' human rights due diligence duties offers a practical contribution to the understanding of what tools may be used by states to secure their human rights obligations when participating in international financial institutions. Its practical significance also relates to the examination of the various elements that must be demonstrated by an individual wishing to invoke member State responsibility for alleged human rights violations in the context of international financial institution operations.
Emerging Powers, Global Justice and International Economic Law by
The book assesses emerging powers' influence on international economic law and analyses whether their rhetoric of reforming this 'unjust' order translates into concrete reforms. The questions at the heart of the book surround the extent to which Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa individually and as a bloc (BRICS) provide alternative regulatory ideas to those of 'Western' States and whether they are able to convert their increased power into influence on global regulation. To do so, the book investigates two broader case studies, namely, the reform of international investment agreements and WTO reform negotiations since the start of the Doha Development Round. Emerging powers provide for some alternative regulatory ideas, already leading to a diversification of international economic law. As a general rule, they tend to support norms that allow host States much policy space which could be used to protect and fulfil socio-economic human rights, especially - but not only - in the Global South.
