Research Guides: Equipment Collections at the Robert W. Woodruff Library: Online Viewing & Listening

Online Viewing

Currently, the library provides access to over 25,000 streaming videos, most of which are searchable in Library Seach. They include a mix of
feature films, documentaries, performing arts and instructional videos. Our primary focus is on academic use, which can encompass popular titles as well.

Please bear in mind that many popular feature films (i.e. Hollywood movies) are not currently available for streaming to the academic market. They are only available on physical media such as DVDs. The Music and Media Library holds over 28,000 DVDs, the majority of which are available for students to check out overnight through our DVD-LEND program.

Video Streaming Collections:

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentary films and newsreel footage on topics related to American history. In class viewing and embedding of video in websites or Emory course-related access points is permitted.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Stream performances by well-known musicians. Includes temporary on demand performances and a permanently accessible catalogue. Genres include concerts, opera, educational programs, master classes, competitions, artist portraits, and dance. The emphasis is on western art music. An app is available for phones and other digital devices.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Stream performances from the Metropolitan Opera House in video and audio. Includes the Live in HD series, broadcasts on public television (1977–2003), and radio performances dating back to 1936.

Journal of Visualized Experiments
Started in 2006, JoVE has produced over 5,500 videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories at top research institutions. Each video is accompanied by a peer-reviewed article.
Kanopy Streaming
A rich collection of documentaries, independent films and world cinema. Highlights include the famed Criterion Collection/Janus Films and PBS.
Naxos Video Library
An extensive streaming library of over 2,700 videos, including mainly opera, classical music performances, ballet, and live concerts; also includes some theater and documentaries.
World History in Video
A wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides streaming access to feature films for research and teaching at Emory. These films may only be viewed through the Swank Digital Campus platform.