Skip to Main Content

Equipment Collections at the Robert W. Woodruff Library

The Audio/Visuals Collection at the Robert W. Woodruff Library is a pool of audio visuals equipment, readily available for the Emory community.

Equipment Collection Scope and Use

  • The equipment collection is focused on providing access to the following types of equipment: Chromebook laptops, cameras, projectors, microphones, audio recorders, calculators, flash drives, webcams, wireless presenters, disc drives, tripods, headphones, charging cables, audio adapters, and portable turntables. 

  • The equipment collection is intended for individual use. To provide priority access and use for Emory students, we are unable to loan equipment to support the technology needs for events or conferences. For Emory University faculty and staff, please contact your school or department for technology and equipment needs.

Borrowing Privileges

Borrowing Equipment 

  • Equipment in the collection only circulates for individual use to active Emory faculty, staff, and students.
  • Patrons may borrow only one of each type of equipment at a time and may borrow up to 3 pieces of equipment at a time.
  • Loan periods vary from 3 hours up to 1 week and are non-renewable.
  • EXCEPTION: Library-use only items needed to access Audio/Visual items in the media collection can be checked out by all patrons, including visitors. This includes:
    • Headphones
    • Headphone Adapters
    • Remote Controls

Returning Equipment 

  • All items must be returned directly to the Woodruff Library Service Desk on Level 2 of the Robert W. Woodruff Library. Outside of Library Service Desk hours, please return items to the Entrance Desk on Level 2.
  • Patrons must wait 24 hours after returning equipment from the 3-day or 1-week loan collections before checking out another item of the same type.
  • Patrons must wait 1 hour after returning equipment from the 3-hour collections before checking out another of the same type.For more detailed information, please see the library borrowing policies page.

Loan Periods / Overdue Fees

  • Course Reserve 3-day loans: $1.00 per hour
  • 3-hour, library-use only loans: $1.00 per hour
    • Cell Phone Chargers, HDMI Cables, Headphones, Headphone Adapters, Laptop Chargers, Remote Controls, TI-84 Calculators, and Wall Adapters
  • 3-day loans: $5.00 per day
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​TI-36 calculators, Flash Drives, MediaLab external hard drives
  • 1-week equipment loans: $10.00 per day
    • Apple Adapters, Digital Audio Recorders, DSLR Cameras, HD Camcorders, HDMI Cables, GPS Units, Laptops, Microphones, Tripods, VGA Cables, VGA to HDMI Converter Boxes, SD Cards, Webcams, and Wireless Presenters

Lost / Replacement Fees

  • The replacement fees that are charged when an item is lost, irreparably damaged, or stolen cover not only the replacement of the piece of equipment itself, but all parts, accessories, and labor costs associated with the replacement of the item. These replacement fees are subject to change depending on the costs at point of replacement.
  • There is a minimum $100.00 replacement fee for ANY lost, damaged, or stolen piece of equipment.
  • Below is a list of items whose replacement fee is higher than $100.00.
  • Apple 45W MagSafe2 Power Adapter (MacBook Air): $105.00
  • Apple 60W MagSafe Power Adapter (MacBook Pro): $105.00
  • Apple 30W USB-C Power Adapter (12" MacBook / 13" MacBook Air): $105.00
  • Chromebook: $300.00
  • Data Projector: $1000.00
  • Digitial Audio Recorder (Marantz): $650.00
  • Digital Audio Recorder (Zoom): $125.00
  • DSLR Camera: $700.00
  • GPS Unit: $365.00
  • HD Camcorder: $460.00 Webcam: $115.00
  • Microphone (Azden Wireless): $175.00
  • Microphone (PZM soundgrabber): $145.00
  • Microphone (RevoLabs Wireless USB): $225.00
  • Microphone (Shure SM58+XLR Cable): $130.00
  • Microphone (Snowball USB): $100.00
  • TI-84 Graphing Calculator: $130.00