Modern Politics

Includes three scrapbooks of (primarily) newspaper clippings; one is a collection of Adams' "Stories of Old Putnam" columns and two others relate to Georgia history news items (1926-1940) from the Eatonton Messenger and the Atlanta Journal and Constitution.

He moved to Rome, Georgia (1851) to practice law; became city alderman; was elected to the Georgia Senate (1865); and became mayor of Rome (1868). After 1877, he lived near Cartersville, Georgia, but served as vice-president of the Rome Exposition (1888). He began writing under the name Bill Arp in 1861, and published more than 2,000 "Bill Arp letters" for which he became famous; the columns (letters) appeared in more than 700 weekly newspapers during the height of his popularity. He published seven books (1866-1903), including a textbook history of Georgia.

Correspondence primarily documents Bernd's professional activities as a literary editor and writer for The Macon Telegraph as well as his freelance literary endeavors. A large collection of personal letters from scholar and educator John Donald Wade concern faculty tenure negotiations at the University of Georgia in the 1920s. The correspondence also includes letters to and from Walter F. White of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1924-1934 concerning racial prejudice in the South, lynching, and contemporary literature.

Paul E.X. Brown was an African American radio broadcaster and businessman from Atlanta, Georgia. The papers are entirely comprised of materials relating to organizations in which Paul Brown was an active member. The collection includes conference programs, correspondence, minutes, financial records, reports, notes, speeches, and photographs related to the African American fraternal order Ancient Egyptian Arabic Order of the Noble Mystic Shrine, the Atlanta chapter of the African American service club Frontiers of America, and the National Association of Market Developers, an organization focused on marketing goods and services to minority and urban populations. The collection also contains small amounts of printed materials from the Lincoln University journalism program, the Atlanta Life Insurance Company, the YWCA, and other Atlanta organizations. This last section of the collection also includes reports and conference programs related to Paul Brown's work in the public relations department of the Coca-Cola Company.

He was also associated with Soochow University Bible School as principal and as secretary of the Board of Trustees. He retired (1937) to Macon, Georgia, but returned to Sungkiang, China (1938), to do relief work and he was imprisoned by the Japanese. He was released (1943) and returned to the United States. His last years were spent as a lecturer on conditions in China and as the assistant pastor of Mulberry Street Methodist Church in Macon. The collection includes articles written by William Blount for the North China Daily News and by James Burke, a photographer-journalist, for Time-Life in the Far East.

The papers include correspondence with the Newsweek Bureau, subject files relating to New Learning and other topics, and writings. The collection also contains a substantial number of notebooks that Cumming kept beginning in 1964 through 1998, which include diary entries, poetry, story notes, and other observations about his life and work.

The collection includes correspondence, photographs, manuscripts, printed materials, and a will. Letters, greeting cards, and photographs (1914-1973) are to Frank Daniel from friends in the fields of literature, music, and theater. Original and typescript manuscripts are by Daniel, Byron Herbert Reece, Marion Montgomery, and Frances Newman. Printed materials include clippings and newspaper columns. Clippings are about Daniel, the Atlanta Book Fair, or his source materials. Newspaper columns and the will (1978) are written by Frank Daniel.

The papers include notes, printed material, and audio and videotapes documenting the Popham Seminars from 1997-2000.

The collection also includes photographs, clippings, memorabilia, news releases, and awards.

In the early 1950s Emerson wrote for Collier's magazine. From 1953-1961, Emerson was the chief of Newsweek's Atlanta Bureau, and from 1965-1969 he served as the editor of The Saturday Evening Post. Emerson also wrote The Jesus Story, published in 1971. Emerson often wrote under the byline Bill Emerson.
The papers consist of correspondence, writings, newspaper clippings, printed material, and artwork. The correspondence concerns Emerson's work as a journalist for Collier's and Newsweek, in addition to his tenure as editor of The Saturday Evening Post. the collection also includes some of Emerson's personal correspondence, which documents his other activities, including his work with charity and church organizations. Writings include drafts of essays and columns that later appeared in print, in addition to notes for his speeches. The majority of the newspaper clippings are of Bill Emerson's columns and articles. The collection also includes an original watercolor cartoon of William A. Emerson by political cartoonist, Robert Ariail.

He arrived in Atlanta in 1961 to work there as Southern bureau chief for ABC News. During his time as Southern bureau chief, Good traveled throughout the South covering the civil rights movement. The papers consist of audio recordings. The recordings include speeches; reports from marches, rallies, and clashes over school integration; and interviews of civil rights leaders such as Andrew Young, Martin Luther King, Jr., John Lewis and of Klan Wizard Robert Shelton. The tapes document events in Atlanta, Georgia, Notasulga, Alabama, St. Augustine, Florida, Philadelphia, Mississippi, and Jackson, Mississippi.

While part owner and managing editor of the Atlanta Constitution (1880-1889), he delivered his "New South" speech (1886) which established his reputation as a distinguished orator.
Includes correspondence, legal papers, account books, diaries, drawings, photographs, and bound volumes created or collected by the Grady family; reprints and manuscripts of Grady speeches and a biography of Grady. Correspondence is by Grady to family members, by Grady's father, William Sammons Grady, and by other family members; correspondents include Andrew Carnegie and Cyrus Field. Original manuscript material includes Telamon Cuyler's diary of a trip to Texas with Henry Grady (1888), two Grady diaries, and the manuscript of Raymond B. Nixon's biography, Henry W. Grady: Spokesman of the New South. Bound volumes contain material documenting Grady's activities and writings (1869-1887), his death, Julia King's childhood, and contributions to the Grady Monument Fund. Photographs and drawings depict the Grady family, friends, and homes, Grady himself, and the unveiling of the Grady Monument.

Hall was a government employee (1951-1957), editorial director on the New York Metropolitan Region Study (1957-1960), social science editor at Harvard University Press (1960-1973), and editorial advisor to the faculty of Harvard Business School (1973-1979). He continues to do freelance writing and editing. Hall wrote Harvard University Press: a History (1986) and An Embarrassment of Misprints (1995).
The papers consist mainly of correspondence discussing Hall's experience as a sports writer for the Atlanta Constitution and experiences at Emory University.

During the Civil War he was a surgeon with the 4th Battalion, Georgia Infantry. He transferred to the 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry, but resigned in December 1862. After the war, he moved to Washington, D.C., was chosen clerk of the House Committee on Ways and Means (1876), but resigned due to controversy.
Letters written to Hambleton (1857-1893) concern politics, Reconstruction, economic conditions, Jefferson Davis' release, Hambleton's resignation from the House Ways and Means Committee, newly settled areas of the United States, and southern claims against the government for confiscated cotton. Family correspondence includes letters to Hambleton from his sons Poindexter, and Benjamin, a Deputy Collector of Customs in Arizona. Clippings concern politics; an article by Hambleton is about an 1810 Christmas dinner in Virginia.

Lundy Harris died in 1910, and Corra Harris moved to a farm she called "In the Valley," where her literary career began in earnest. Before her death of a heart attack, she had published articles, editorials, book reviews, newspaper columns, and serialized stories in many periodicals including The Saturday Evening Post, Ladies Home Journal, Harper’s Pictorial Review, and the Atlanta Journal.
Includes correspondence, literary manuscripts, photographs, and clippings of or relating to Corra Harris. Most letters are written by Corra Harris to her friend Marjorie McClain and concern Harris's daily activities, her health, visitors, and travel. Clippings are about Harris and literary manuscripts are by Harris or based on her work.

Papers pertain to the writing of his Uncle Remus books and characters depicted therein, his home, Wren's Nest, his family life, discussions of the publishing business, and national affairs at the turn of the century. Correspondents include Samuel Clemens, James Whitcomb Riley, Theodore Roosevelt, Walter Hines Page, Corra Harris, Andrew Carnegie, George Washington Cable, Arthur Burdett Frost, Hamlin Garland, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas E. Watson, and Charles Scribner.
As an author and a newspaperman, Joel Chandler Harris wrote books, poems, short stories and essays, book reviews, introductions to other people’s works, letters to editors, editorials, newspaper columns and a play. The writings series of the collection contains examples of each, either in Harris’s handwriting, type, or copies from newspapers and magazines. From 1862 to 1900, Harris was in the newspaper business and the newspaper columns include articles Harris wrote for the Savannah Morning News and the Atlanta Constitution. The majority of original materials in the collection are available on microfilm.

The collection contains personal and business correspondence, writings, printed material, legal and financial records, and photographs documenting Harrison's work in rural and progressive education, in outdoor and industrial schools, in environmental protection, with Fernbank Forest in Atlanta and with the American Red Cross in Czechoslovakia. The papers also contain materials concerning her various travels in the U.S. and Europe.

Among his many administrative positions, he was a trustee of Emory College and of Grady Hospital, a president and organizer of three banking associations, and vice president and director of the Cotton States International Exposition (1895).
The collection contains clippings, speeches, and photocopies of letters relating to the activities of William Arnold Hemphill. Biographical material is both typed and photocopied.

He served as a Georgia legislator 1885-1891 (Speaker 1891), 1900-1906. He was chairman of three national commissions, a trustee of University of Georgia (1896-1927); wrote History of Georgia (1926) and helped the Constitution win the 1931 Pulitzer Prize by exposing Atlanta city graft.
Materials relate to Howell's life, career, and travels and to the Howell family; scrapbooks contain clippings, postcards, and obituaries which are of Howell, his father Evan, his mother Julia, his children Rosalie and Hugh M. Comer Howell.

Four scrapbooks contain photographs, clippings, poems, a biography, correspondence, and articles. The materials relate to Eatonton, Georgia, to Joel Chandler Harris (who was from Eatonton) and the Harris family, to Georgia history, to Social Circle, Georgia, and Putnam County, Georgia, to African American servants, to Leverette's travel in the Western United States, to the Leverette family, and to her career as a teacher in Thomson, Georgia.

He is the author of numerous articles and many books, including Ralph McGill, Reporter (1973), for which he won the Georgia Writers Club Author of the Year Award, 1973.
The collection contains Martin’s personal and professional correspondence (1965-1969); other correspondence (1969-1971), sound recordings, notes, photographs, drafts, and reviews relate mainly to Martin's books Starlifter (1972), Three Strong Pillars, Story of the Trust Co. of Georgia (1974), Ralph McGill, Reporter (1973), William Berry Hartsfield (1978), and Georgia, A Bicentennial History (1977) and two unpublished biographies of Robert W. Woodruff and Charles Palmer. Also includes articles by Martin for the Saturday Evening Post.

He retired to Jasper, Georgia, in 1954, and received the Burt Williams award (1955) for distinguished service to photography.
Letters, articles, and clippings pertain to Mathewson or his work as a still and motion picture photographer; photographs are originals and copies of Mathewson's photographs and newsreel stills of the Atlanta fire (1917), scenes from the Spanish-American War, both World Wars, hunting dogs (which became a specialty), Mathewson himself, and other persons, including sports figures, politicians, and Georgia Tech football teams and coaches. Also includes manuscripts of stories and reminiscences written by Mathewson.

The collection consists of family and general correspondence, committee records and correspondence, writings, financial papers and subject files, photographs, scrapbooks, memorabilia, and audiovisual materials. Letters include correspondence with persons involved in the Civil Rights Movement. Topics covered in the subject files include race relations and integration; local, state and national politics, 1948-1968; education and the public schools in the South and Atlanta; the church and the race issue; the Ku Klux Klan and Columbians in Georgia in the 1930s and early 1940s. The collection also includes information on organizations such as the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, the Southern Regional Council, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, and segregationist organizations.

After a short stint as an editorial cartoonist at The Atlanta Journal, he began working as a graphic designer and printing executive, retiring from the Stein Printing Company in 1995. McKenzie also freelanced as a graphic designer and calligrapher.
The papers include sketches, newspaper columns,, writings, awards, and photographs. Original editorial cartoon sketches concern topics such as postwar housing, the Ku Klux Klan, Herman Talmadge, M. E. Thompson, the Columbians, (a post-World War II hate group), Atlanta highway construction, the Atlanta Community Chest, and Stone Mountain. The collection also contains Christmas cards designed by McKenzie, columns written for the Emory Wheel while he was a student and copies of columns written for The Georgia Printer, drawings for The Southern COach and Athlete, and calligraphy samples.

The book was made into a film (1939) which premiered in Atlanta, Georgia.
The collection includes correspondence, photogrpahs, printed material, memorabilia, sheet music, motion picture and sound recordings. Letters (1936-1943; 1978-1980) are written from Margaret Mitchell and John Marsh to friends and acquaintences, including other authors and journalists; from John Marsh to Sara and Athos Menboni, and Emily Woodward; and from Alicia Rhett to Bill Baxter. Clippings (1950-1989) and magazine articles (1936- ) are about Mitchell, Gone with the Wind (book and movie), the book's proposed sequel, and the book Road to Tara. Photographs include candid snapshots of Mitchell and her friends, stars of the film, the Loew's Grand Fire (1978), and production scenes of Harold Rome's musical based on Mitchell's book. Sheet music is also from the musical adaptation. Pamphlets and printed forms pertain to World War II; printed material includes the Margaret Mitchell memorial issue of the Atlanta Journal Magazine. The motion picture, "Peggy of Peachtree" and sound recordings are interviews with Stephens Mitchell and Olivia de Havilland' one documents Mitchell's Shining Light Award. Gone with the Wind memorabilia (invitations, the Margaret Mitchell postage stamp, and the Georgia Governor's proclamation for the golden jubilee (1986) of the publication of the book) is also included. Special restrictions apply: Requests to publish original Margaret Mitchell material must be directed to GWTW Literary Rights, Suite 1580, One Georgia Center, 600 W. Peachtree Street., N.W., Atlanta, Georgia 30308-3603. The bulk of Margaret Mitchell's papers are located at the Margrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia. Other papers are located in the Special Collections Department, Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library.

The collection includes correspondence, writings, printed material, photogrpahs, and memorabilia. Writings include Moody's articles, poems, and short stories; some are in manuscript form. Printed material includes clippings and reviews. Correspondents include O. B. and Eleanor Keeler, Angus and Medora Field Perkerson, Ralph McGill, and John Paschal. Photographs are of Moody.

From 1919 until his retirement in 1960 he owned the Banner Press in Atlanta, Georgia.
The papers include copies of publications edited by Neff (1897-1916) prior to founding Banner Press; books, pamphlets and periodicals published by Banner Press while owned and operated by Neff (1919-1960); correspondence and time cards pertaining to Banner Press; poems and epigrams, sermons written by Neff; clippings related to his career as editor; and lists of Banner Press publications.

The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence (1960-1970) between Parks and U.S. Senator Richard B. Russell on matters of patronage. The photographs include one group depicting conditions on Okinawa (ca. 1945) during World War II and a group including photographs of Parks, Richard B. Russell, and Ralph McGill.

She also wrote two mysteries which were eventually made into motion pictures: Who Killed Aunt Maggie? (1939) and Blood on Her Shoe (1942). She also wrote White Columns in Georgia (1952), a non-fiction, historical work. She was president of the Georgia Chapter of the National League of American Pen Women and of the Atlanta Women's Press Club and served as president of the board of Atlanta Child Welfare Association.
The collection includes Perkerson's correspondence with her publishers and other authors; some pertains to civic organizations she worked with. Also included is a master's thesis by Dorothy G. Boyer about Perkerson A Study and Evaluation of the Contributions of Medora Field Perkerson to the Newspaper and Book Worlds (University of Georgia, 1965); and a manuscript for Perkerson's White Columns in Georgia. Also contains scrapbooks documenting the writing and publication of her books; the serialization of Aunt Maggie by the Associated Press; and the making of the two novels into movies. The scrapbooks also document Perkerson's friendship with Margaret Mitchell. Photographs are of persons Perkerson interviewed (including "Wrong Way" Corrigan), her friends, and other authors and journalists (including Margaret Mitchell and Angus Perkerson). Also includes clippings of articles by or about Perkerson. The collection also includes a screenplay (shooting script) for the film version of Who Killed Aunt Maggie? and an original manuscript of White Columns in Georgia.

The bulk of the collection consists of manuscripts of Reeves' writings, both published and unpublished, including poems, addresses to various civic clubs and schools, scripts of plays, short stories and other works of prose, program materials for Atlanta (Ga.) radio station WAGA; and Lions Club materials pertaining to a newsletter he edited. Also includes photographs, biographical notes, clippings related to his writing career, particularly his column in the Atlanta Constitution, several books and magazines in which his writing appeared; and correspondence, some relating to his efforts to have his poetry published (1936-1947) in such periodicals as Saturday Evening Post and other letters (1938-1961) pertaining to his efforts to encourage the writing of other poets.

He was also the author of two books, Old Hokum Bucket (1949), and Peachtree Parade (1965). The latter is a compilation of pieces from the newspaper column by the same name Rogers began in 1943 and continued to write three times weekly after his retirement in 1962.
The collection includes correspondence, biographical information, writings, scrapbooks, a diary (1918-1919), newspaper columns (1945-1967), photographs, book illustrations, notebooks, sound recordings, minutes, and memorabilia. Correspondence is Rogers's and his father's (Methodist clergyman, Dr. Wallace Rogers). Writings include Rogers's musical compositions and short stories, the manuscript, galley proofs, and four of the original illustrations by the Atlanta Journal cartoonist Eric for Peachtree Parade; the diary/journal is Rogers's; scrapbooks were compiled by Rogers and by his parents; newspaper columns are Rogers's from the Atlanta Journal; memorabilia includes various awards and certificates; photographs are of Rogers, his birthday celebrations, O.B. Keeler, and Col. James S. Childers; notebooks contain speeches, columns, expense lists, information on WSB Radio and Atlanta personalities; minutes are of the Breakfast Club, an organization of Atlanta businessmen to which Rogers belonged; sound recordings relate to Rogers's birthday parties, his radio show (1952), a baptismal ceremony performed by his father, Emory University, Bobby Jones, and a James Whitcomb Riley story.

Also includes papers of her aunt, Lamar Rutherford Lipscomb (d. 1957), who was active in Democratic politics in the 1920s and 1930s, and her great-aunt, Mildred Lewis Rutherford (1852-1928), director of Lucy Cobb Institute in Athens, Ga., and author of essays on Southern history and literature. Topics include Seydell's investigation of crime and criminal rehabilitation in U.S. and Europe, publication of her book Secret Fathers (1930), a novel about eugenic babies, visits to Hollywood in the 1930s, National Woman's Party, and various business and professional women's organizations.
Correspondents include Ellis Gibbs Arnall, Alben William Barkley, Martha Berry, William F. Bigelow, Gutzon Borglum, Arthur Brisbane, Bennett Cerf, Clarence Darrow, Walter F. George, Grover C. Hall, William Berry Hartsfield, William Randolph Hearst, Alma Lutz, Robert Foster Maddox, Avery Means (describing a soldier's life in New Guinea during World War II), H.L. Mencken, Margaret Mitchell, Passie Fenton Ottley, Ruth Bryan Owen, Alice Paul, Julia Mood Peterkin, Micheline Resco (concerning Gen. John J. Pershing), Richard B. Russell, John M. Slaton, Eugene Talmadge, Herman E. Talmadge, Walter Winchell, Nell Hodgson Woodruff, Robert W. Woodruff, and Emily Woodward.

The Sibley Commission sought a way to keep Georgia's public schools open after the U.S. Supreme Court's Brown v. Board of Education decision. The collection includes Sibley's personal and professional files, including correspondence, speeches, legal and financial records, photos, and printed items.

Harris encouraged Stanton to write, and he quickly became a feature writer for the News. Stanton eventually followed Harris to Atlanta to work on the Atlanta Constitution. His column, “Just from Georgia,” soon became famous. A compilation of poems, short stories, and philosophical advice, the column was one of the first of its kind in the United States. Stanton also published his poetry, starting with Songs of a Day and Songs of the Soil published in 1892. The collection consists of correspondence, handwritten and printed materials, scrapbooks, photographs, broadsides, cartoons, biographical notes, and short stories.

She is the author of five books and several articles and won the Georgia Writers Association award (1962) for her novel Refuge in Avalon.
The collection includes clippings, correspondence, photographs, typescript and galley proofs. Typescript and galley proofs are for Steedman's novel, Refuge in Avalon; clippings are of her articles and poems.

In 1881, he moved to Texas where he edited the Weatherford Constitution. He lived there until his death, except during the period he edited the Birmingham Herald (1888-1889).
Correspondence includes letters concerning Styles's routine business matters, letters of the Styles family, and letters of Emory University professor Raymond B. Nixon with Styles's grandson, Upshur Vincent, and with Texas journalists concerning Nixon's research on Styles (1944-1945). Photographs are of family members and unidentified persons; histories are of the Atlanta Constitution and family; printed material includes articles, clippings, and newspapers related to Styles's career.

The collection consists of personal and professional papers of Pat Wattersand includes correspondence, subject files, awards, book reviews, and an unpublished manuscript "Add Obits."

She also participated in other civic, cultural, and women's organizations. The collection includes correspondence, manuscript articles and addresses, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, and biographical material.