Modern Politics

This collection documents his career, particularly his work on human and civil rights. It includes materials about President Lyndon Baines Johnson's 1966 White House Conference "To Fulfill These Rights," which discussed the way to translate racial equality into economic, housing, and education issues as well as material related to Abram's involvment with the United Nation's Subcommission on the Prevention of Discrimination and Protection of Minorities. Restriction: Portions of the collection are restricted and cannot be used without permission of the donor.

For each interview, there is an original audiocassette tape and a use copy and a project file. The project file consists of a typed transcript of the interview, a signed release form, any related correspondence or research material, and in most cases, a resume or similar biographical information. Interviewees include Angelo Fuster, David Gambrell, Leroy Johnson, Michael Lomax, Ruth Scott Simmons, and Herman and Tyler Talmadge.

His papers contain files on segregation and the materials also detail efforts to maintain segregation in public schools in Georgia.

The collection consists of the research files of Theodore Draper from 1919 to 1990. The collection is comprised mostly of subject files and recorded interviews Draper collected during the course of his research on the history of American Communism, primarily those collected for the projected third volume, never completed, covering the period since 1930. The materials in this collection document the history of the American Communist Party, 1930-1945, and, to a lesser extent, American Communism from 1919-1929, as well as the individuals (primarily Earl Browder, General Secretary of the Communist Party, 1930-1945) who were active in party affairs, particularly for the later period.

ames attended Vanderbilt Univeristy School of Law where she received her J.D. in 1961. After graduating, she worked with Fisher and Phillips in Atlanta on labor-management relations. She left the firm in 1968 ans the following year began volunteer work for the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, a Ford Foundation project that worked to provent confrontations between Civil Rights demonstrators and police. She openedher own firm in 1971. Hames actively engaged cases involving abortion rights, women's rights, school desegregation, employment discrimination, worker's compensation, personal injury, social security, domestic relations, criminal defense, medical malpractice, defense, educational rights for gifted and disabled children, and general civil litigation.
The papers consist of subject files and legal case files. The subject files contain extensive research on legal issues linked to Margie Pitts Hames's major cases, information on her professional life, personal information, and material from her unsuccessful campaign for Georgia Supreme Court Justice in 1982. The series also contains material from Cynthia McKinney's campaign for the House of Representatives in 1992-1993, miscellaneous correspondence, and many materials dealing with the American Civil Liberties Union. The case files include primarily legal documents, depositions, transcripts, correspondence, notes, and evidence. The files provide much information on Equal Employment Opportunity Commission cases, abortion clinics, civil rights in Atlanta, and family law.

He was a member of the Georgia State Legislature (1951-1952, 1955-1964) and represented Georgia in the U.S. House of Representatives (1965-1967). He later practiced law in Decatur, Georgia. The correspondence and other records focus on the passage of the Traffic Safety Act of 1966, which passed inspite of opposition from the White House, and which established the National Traffic Safety Agency.

For each interview, there is an original audiocassette tape and a use copy and a project file. The project file consists of a typed transcript of the interview, a signed release form, any related correspondence or research material, and in most cases, a resume or similar biographical information. Some access restrictions apply. Please contact MARBL for more information.

The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence (1960-1970) between Parks and U.S. Senator Richard B. Russell on matters of patronage. The photographs include one group depicting conditions on Okinawa (ca. 1945) during World War II and a group including photographs of Parks, Richard B. Russell, and Ralph McGill.

Patricia Sullivan has served as a member of the history faculty at Emory University and as director of the Center for the Study of Civil Rights at the Carter G. Woodson Institute for Afro-American and African Studies, Charlottesville, Virginia. The collection consists of oral history interviews with persons involved in the 1948 Progressive Party campaign in the South conducted by Patricia Sullivan from 1975-1982. Interviewees include John Abt, Randolph Blackwell, William Holmes Borders, James Dombrowski, Virginia Durr, Floyd Hunter, Curtis MacDougall, Claude Pepper, John Popham, Glenn Rainey, Pete Seeger, Studs Terkel, Strom Thurmond, and F. Palmer Weber. The collection also includes transcripts of portions of the interviews.