Modern Politics

The collection consists of materials relating to the Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching, Atlanta Urban League, Commission of Interracial Cooperation, Georgia Committee, Fulton-DeKalb Committee on Interracial Cooperation, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and the Greater Atlanta Council on Human Relations.

She continued to work in human relations and anti-poverty programs throughout the 1960s and helped organize the Federation of Southern Cooperatives. Materials in this collection consist of correspondence, writings, and other materials pertaining mostly to her involvement in the civil rights movement in Georgia.

From 1964-1975, she was Southern Field Representative of the American Friends Service Committee. In 1975, she became Director of the Office of Human Services for the City of Atlanta. Her book, Silver Rights, won the 1996 Lillian Smith Award for non-fiction and recounts the story of one rural Mississippi family's struggle for education and for civil rights during the 1960's. Curry's papers include materials relating to her Civil Rights activities, personal papers, and printed material.

The collection consists of correspondence, diaries, clippings and photographs.

Derby worked principally in Mississippi and she was a co-founder of the Free Southern Theater. The collection includes correspondence, printed material, and photographs.

This collection consists of the personal papers of Pearlie Craft Dove, educator and Cluster Coordinator for The Atlanta Project which was a community-based project to improve neighborhood schools. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, her vita, speeches, writings, oral history interviews, black history calendars and records relating to The Atlanta Project. The materials relating to The Atlanta Project (1992-1996) consist of minutes, newsletters, proposals, strategic plans, reports, and information on programs and projects sponsored by the project. Also, the collection contains a videotape from the Washington Cluster of The Atlanta Project.

Her involvements included the Eagle Forum, the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Republican Party and the Stop ERA Committee of Georgia. The papers include correspondence, subject files and printed materials.

Alice Roberta Parks Ellison was a resident of Atlanta, Georgia, in the West End district, during the first half of the twentieth century. The papers consist of material collected by Ellison, mostly documenting her participation in African American social and religious organizations in Atlanta, Georgia. They include scrapbooks, photographs, a small amount of correspondence, church bulletins, and programs from events in Atlanta, Georgia. They include scrapbooks, photographs, a small amount of correspondence, church bulletins, and programs from events in Atlanta, Georgia. The scrapbooks, programs, and bulletins form the bulk of the collection. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings and invitations, programs, and other printed material from and about the many African American social and religious organizations in Atlanta, Georgia, from 1935 to 1960. Programs and bulletins in the collection include the Shiloh Baptist Church, Atlanta Negro Music Club, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, American Woodmen, the Atlanta Public Schools, Morris Brown College, and a number of local clubs such as the Hi Hi Social Club and the Smart Set Club. There is also a small amount of personal correspondence and photographs, mostly unidentified.

Her papers include correspondence (both business and family), cards, clippings, pictures, mementoes, printed materials, and scrapbooks.

The FAA has addressed such issues as female political advocacy and candidacy; equal access to employment and economic opportunities; the crime of rape and the treatment of rape victims in the criminal justice system; and family issues. The collection includes organizational records including correspondence, minutes, membership records, publications, committee working files, funding proposals, public relations materials, newsletters, and program materials.

She was also involved in local politics. The collection includes correspondence, printed materials, audiocassettes and videocassettes, speeches and reports.

The bulk of the collection falls in the1930-1956 time period and includes correspondence, reports, minutes, financial and membership records, printed materials and memorabilia.

A nonpartisan political organization, it encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government and influences public policy through education and advocacy. The collection consists of papers of the League of Women Voters of DeKalb County (Ga.) from 1943-[ongoing]. The papers include annual reports, correspondence, financial records, minutes, photographs, printed material, and subject files. There are correspondence, reports, printed material, and newsletters about keeping public schools open in Georgia, Atlanta, and DeKalb County. There is also material about the desegregation of the University of Georgia.

In the late 1950s Lomax became active in the Civil Rights Movements and travelled to the South as a reporter for the Tribune. Lomas also published articles, short sotires, and novellas in other publications such as The Nation.
The collection consists of the papers of Almena Davis Lomax, including writings, correspondence, printed material, and audiovisual material. Writings include manuscript and typescript drafts of published and unpublished articles, short stories, and novels. One unpublished work, "Of Masters and Sons," is a novelized depiction of the history of the Texas branch of the Lomax family. Other works include The Women of Montgomery, Ten Most Wanted White Men, and a short story entitled "Milledgeville." Printed material includes clippings from the Los Angeles Tribune, in addition to photocopies of articles by Lomax in other publications.

The papers contain correspondence, writings, subject files, printed material, photographs and other papers, and the papers of his wife Annie Mae Miller. The correspondence includes incoming and outgoing letters regarding article submissions and academic appointments. Correspondence from civic groups to which he belonged and personal correspondence from family and acquaintances is also included. The writings by Miller include manuscript and typescript copies of article drafts, outlines, poetry, speeches from 1916-1939. Topics of the writings include constitutional law, analysis of the 14th, 15th, and 18th amendments, prohibition, lynching and mob violence, the New Deal, presidential policy analysis, African-Americans and communism, race relations, the Republican Party, African American colleges and universities, and Howard University. Writings by others consist of articles, speeches, and one radio transcript, which discusses James Bland, an African American musician whom Kelly Miller researched. The subject files consist of records from institutions and associations to which Miller belonged and include reports, reviews, and meeting minutes. The subject files also contain records kept by Miller during his tenure as dean at Howard University, such as meeting minutes and reports from the Board of Trustees, the committee on salaries, the alumni association, among others between 1922 and 1935. The printed material series is divided into printed material about Miller, printed material by Miller, and general printed material which he collected. In addition, a set of scrapbooks contains articles by and about Miller. Photographs and other papers include portraits and candid shots of Miller as well as a photo album of Miller with Howard University alumni and family.

Her papers include correspondence, reports, printed materials and subject files.

Notable in the correspondence are letters from the King family, including Martin Luther King, Jr. The printed material, which consists of mostly newspaper clippings, documents education, segregation and the Civil Rights Movement among others. Also in the collection are a small number of photographs, Sara Mitchell Parsons's diaries from 1964 and 1970 and a scrapbook from her 1961 campaign for election to Atlanta Board of Education.

The collection includes files from Paschall's tenure as executive director of the GACHR (1961-1967), and from the Community Relations Commission (1967-1968). The collection includes correspondence, minutes, inter-office memoranda, reports, press releases, and clippings as well as materials relating to the League of Women Voters, National Organization for Women, and other organizations.

The collection includes correspondence concerning the film on the Negro in American life to have been made in the Soviet Union in 1932, and records of the Sojourners for Truth and Justice, a national black women's organization co-founded with Beah Richards. Emory also holds the personal library of Louise Thompson Patterson.

The collection includes correspondence, reports, clippings, printed material and collected data which document Pauley's work in the areas of school desegregation, Civil Rights and poverty.

In addition to her journalistic endeavors, Pendergrast worked for Planned Parenthood Atlanta, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and Atlantans for Peace. The collection consists of correspondence, mainly with prominent political and media figures, and photocopies of Mrs. Pendergrast's scrapbooks.

They were a large, active family whose interests ranged from woman suffrage to politics to socialism. The collection contains letters, journals, writings, photographs, financial and legal records, clippings, printed materials and memorabilia. Also includes papers of Eleonore Raoul, suffrage leader and civic worker.

She was also active in the Georgia Interracial Committee, Atlanta Urban League, Georgia Conference on Social Work, the Fellowship of the Concerned, and President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights. The collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, biographical information, copies of records of the Committee on Civil Rights, and a scrapbook and record books for the Women's Missionary Society of the Methodist Church.

Alice Walker is an African American poet, novelist, and activist. The collection documents the development of Walker's writing career, her interest in political activism, and her personal relationships with friends and family. The collection also contains material about Walker's many interests, including civil rights, Zora Neale Hurston, female genital mutilation, Bessie Head, Cuba, Mumia Abu-Jamal, and women's rights. The papers include correspondence (1958-2007); drafts of poetry, novels, essays, and other writings (1961-2006); writings by other authors; subject files (1968-2006); printed material (1961-2007); publishing files and appearance files (1966-2009); audiovisual materials (1962-2007); photographs (circa 1930s-2006); scrapbooks (1959-1996); personal files (1958-2006); and journals. Significant correspondents include Barbara Christian, Angela Davis, Joanne Edgar, John Ferrone, bell hooks, Langston Hughes, June Jordan, Susan Kirshner, Mel Leventhal, Audre Lorde, Marilyn Lowen, Wilma Mankiller, Charles Merrill, Tillie Olsen, Gloria Steinem, Wendy Weil, and Howard Zinn.

The collection includes correspondence, minutes, subject files, reports, financial records, press releases, clippings, photographs and other items documenting Wilkins' roles in various organizations.

She also participated in other civic, cultural, and women's organizations. The collection includes correspondence, manuscript articles and addresses, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, and biographical material.

The Phyllis Wheatley branch, established in 1919 to serve black women, is the source of much material in this collection. It includes minute books, administrative and subject files, correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, and other materials.