Visit Rose Library
Want to visit Rose Library or see a collection?
Rose Library is Open: Monday-Friday, 10:00-4:00
Visit the Using Rose Library page to find out how to make a research appointment, register and request materials. Please note that some Rose Library collections are stored offsite, and make take up to 48 hours for retrieval. If you have any questions about setting up a research appointment, please email rose.library@emory.edu.
LGBTQ Collections
Rose Library's LGBT political collections document the work of activists, organizations, and trailblazing political figures to achieve equality. The social and cultural collections include the personal papers of artists and writers as well as the records of social organizations and businesses. It also includes rare books, pamphlets, and periodicals written by and for the LGBT community.
LGBTQ Collections
- American Music ShowVideo recordings of American Music Show, an Atlanta, Georgia, public access television program.
- Atlanta Gay Men's ChorusRecords of the Atlanta Gay Men's Chorus, including administrative records, performance and event files, printed material, photographs, audiovisual material, and born digital material.
- Fernandes, Hugo, photographsPhotographic prints from photographer Hugo Fernandes’s portrait series Intimate Portraits II.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender CollectionArtificially created collection of materials relating to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people in Atlanta, Georgia.
- McCord, ScottAtlanta LGBT memorabilia and publications collected by McCord from the mid 1980s through the mid 1990s. Includes gay publications, advertisements, clippings, postcards, and other related material dealing with Atlanta gay news, politics, culture, and nightlife as well as HIV/AIDS.
- Network QRecords of Network Q, a public television program concerning gay and lesbian issues, from 1992-1996, including correspondence, production files, marketing material, press clippings, memorabilia, and video recordings.
- Ranson, RebeccaPapers of playwright Rebecca Ranson including subject files, writings, journals, audiovisual material, born digital material, correspondence, printed material, and photographs that document her career as a playwright, author, and activist.
- Soble, Alli Royce, photographsPhotographs taken by Atlanta, Georgia, photographer Alli Royce Soble documenting the city's lesbian and arts communities.
- Southeastern Arts, Media, & Education Project (SAME)Records of the Atlanta, Georgia, LGBT arts organization Southeastern Arts, Media & Education Project including financial records, meeting minutes, internal communications and mailings, membership records, the records of the journal Amethyst, production files for plays produced by the organization, and event files.
- Southeastern Arts, Media, & Education Project collectionCollection of materials relating to the Southeastern Arts, Media, and Education project including plays, promotional material, administrative records of the organization, photographs, and video recordings collected by participant, Frances Pici.
- Campus social and political action collectionCollection collocates fliers, publications, and ephemera from social and political movements on Emory University’s campus, including the anti-war, conservative, women's, LGBT, and environmental movements.
- Garner, BrucePapers of Emory Alumn and LGBT and HIV/AIDS activist Bruce Garner including subject files, printed material, and audiovisual material.
- Harley, William M., Jr.The collection contains a large bound volume of lectures notes, a clinic day program, and an Air Force briefing regarding the formation of a board to handle discharge preceedings involving "Homosexual Acts or Tendencies."
- Office of Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender LifeThe Office of Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender (LGBT) Life records contain files that were created by the Office and by Emory LGBT student groups from 1979 to 2012 documenting campus protests and controversies, as well as campaigns for policy changes related to discrimination and harassment prevention and same-sex partner benefits.
- President's Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender ConcernsRecords of the President's Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Concerns, an advisory body to the President of Emory University, include meeting minutes, correspondence, publicity, notes, and clippings related to the work of the Commission
- Stansell, Ed W.Papers of Ed W. Stansell, assistant dean at Emory University and gay rights activist, including posters, organizational records, and ephemera.
- Whose Beloved Community? Black Civil and LGBT RightsVideo consists of recordings from the Whose Beloved Community? conference hosted at Emory University and primarily sponsored by the James Weldon Johnson Institute for the Study of Race and Difference and the Emory Center for Women.
- Garner, BrucePapers of Emory Alumn and LGBT and HIV/AIDS activist Bruce Garner including subject files, printed material, and audiovisual material.
- Howard, Billy, photographsThis collection consists of photographs, press clippings, correspondence, subject files, negatives and audiovisual material primarily related to Howard's project, Epitaphs of the Living, dating from 1987-2016.
- McCord, ScottAtlanta LGBT memorabilia and publications collected by McCord from the mid 1980s through the mid 1990s. Includes gay publications, advertisements, clippings, postcards, and other related material dealing with Atlanta gay news, politics, culture, and nightlife as well as HIV/AIDS.
- Peel, Jesse R.Papers of Atlanta physician and LGBTQ activist Jesse Peel, including correspondence, subject files, journals, manuscripts, and audiovisual materials.
- Southeastern Arts, Media & Education Project (SAME)Records of the Atlanta, Georgia, LGBT arts organization Southeastern Arts, Media & Education Project including financial records, meeting minutes, internal communications and mailings, membership records, the records of the journal Amethyst, production files for plays produced by the organization, and event files.
- Garner, BrucePapers of Emory Alumn and LGBT and HIV/AIDS activist Bruce Garner including subject files, printed material, and audiovisual material.
- Lowe, David A.Papers of David A. Lowe, a lawyer, gay rights activist, and graduate of Emory University. The papers mainly concern his activism in Atlanta, Georgia.
- McCord, ScottAtlanta LGBT memorabilia and publications collected by McCord from the mid 1980s through the mid 1990s. Includes gay publications, advertisements, clippings, postcards, and other related material dealing with Atlanta gay news, politics, culture, and nightlife as well as HIV/AIDS.
- National Association of Black and White Men TogetherOrganizational records and newsletters related to the National Association of Black and White Men Together, a gay multiracial social organization.
- Neighbor's Network recordsRecords of community organization Neighbor's Network including administrative records, subject files, printed material and photographs that document the group's efforts to monitor and counteract hate group activity in Atlanta, Georgia and surrounding localities.
- Ranson, RebeccaPapers of playwright Rebecca Ranson including subject files, writings, journals, audiovisual material, born digital material, correspondence, printed material, and photographs that document her career as a playwright, author, and activist.
- Stansell, Ed W.Papers of Ed W. Stansell, assistant dean at Emory University and gay rights activist, including posters, organizational records, and ephemera.
All of Rose Library's print materials are cataloged and available in discoverE.
In order to limit your search to only those materials held in Rose Library, start with a simple search and then choose "Rose Library (MARBL)" from the "Library" list on the left side of the screen.
LGBTQ materials are cataloged with a variety of subject headings. For a list of common subject headings, please see the LGBT Library of Congress Subject Headings Guide.
For general tips on finding LGBTQ resources, please see the LGBT Research Guide.
For general tips on using discoverE, please see the Search Strategies LibGuide.