Modern Politics

The collection consists of materials relating to Frederick Allen’s book, Secret Formula. The materials include manuscript and typescript drafts, research materials and notes, reviews and publicity materials, and printed material relating to the history of the Coca-Cola Company.

The collection consists of the papers of Marvin S. Arrington from 1980-2004. The papers include writings and speeches delivered by Marvin Arrington, writings about Marvin Arrington, materials relating to Arrington's role as president of the Atlanta City Council, correspondence, photographs, audio-visual material and collected material. Writings and speeches by and about Marvin Arrington discuss issues about the Atlanta City Council, Georgia and Atlanta politics, minority education, race relations in Atlanta, and minority lawyers.

The collection consists of materials relating to the Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching, Atlanta Urban League, Commission of Interracial Cooperation, Georgia Committee, Fulton-DeKalb Committee on Interracial Cooperation, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and the Greater Atlanta Council on Human Relations.

Bradley's papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts of Bradley's short stories and an unpublished autobiography; also includes photographs, clippings, and mementos. The collection also contains sketches and miscellaneous materials of her husband, Horace James Bradley, an artist who was chief of the Fine Arts Department of the Cotton States International Exposition, held in Atlanta in 1895.

The collection contains primarily files relating to Bradley’s service on the Atlanta City Council, as well as some personal and campaign materials. Papers relate to various aspects of city government, particularly to transportation, housing, zoning, and law enforcement.

Boozer (1918-1989) was a scholar and teacher of religion. He was a graduate of Emory University, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Religion at Emory, a published author and lecturer, and an activist in civic and social movements. His papers include notes, research materials, manuscripts, published articles, correspondence, and administrative and printed material. Notes, research materials, manuscripts, and published articles reflect Boozer's research and writing on Paul Tillich, Rudolph Otto, the Holocaust, and ethical issues. Correspondence and administrative and printed materials relate primarily to Emory University, faculty committees, student groups, his musical interests, and his involvement with the Druid Hills Civic Association.

The collection consists of 36 Civil War letters and other items, including a deed to a lot in Atlanta. A scrapbook contains clippings from Atlanta newspapers from 22 Jun 1890 to 4 Mar 1908 and is concerned with the political career of Brotherton, particularly with the affairs of the Atlanta police commission.

The collection includes writings, speeches, correspondence (both personal and professional), minutes, genealogical information, scrapbooks and photographs.

The papers contain general correspondence, subject files, writings, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, reports, photographs and other items.

The collection contains business papers relating to Candler’s various business and real estate ventures including materials regarding Coca-Cola Company, Emory University, Ansley Hotel, Forsyth Building, and other properties and corporations in Atlanta in which Candler had an interest. The collection also contains material relating to the land development of Druid Hills, including the original land grant, 1821; Druid Hills Corporation Records,1908-1913; and the original plan of Druid Hills, 1905; along with other plans, deeds, charters, and contracts. The collection includes some family correspondence, speeches, photographs, and clippings.

The collection includes correspondence, sermons, articles, reports, clippings, and photographs, relating to his association with the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Emory College and Emory University as well as other political, social, and personal concerns. Principal subjects covered include Methodist missions in Cuba, the establishment of the Wesley Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, the controversy concerning Vanderbilt University and the church, Methodist unification, the founding of Emory University and its further development. Also included are the manuscripts of Candler’s biographies of Young John Allen and Bishop Charles Betts Galloway.

The collection includes correspondence, speeches, legal documents, financial documents, clippings, photographs, and memorabilia regarding Carmichael’s business and political careers, his service on various committees and advisory councils, as well as some personal and family material. The collection also includes material on the Atlanta Art School and the Atlanta Arts Alliance.

The collection consists of correspondence, speeches, writings, printed material, scrapbooks, photographs, clippings, and memorabilia. They document Jim Cherry's career as superintendent of schools, his civic activities, his broad interest in education, and honors and awards he received.

The collection contains personal correspondence as well as correspondence relating to Emory and Fernbank. It also includes memorabilia such as plaques, certificates, diplomas, photographs and Agnes Scott College yearbooks (1914-1917).

From 1964-1975, she was Southern Field Representative of the American Friends Service Committee. In 1975, she became Director of the Office of Human Services for the City of Atlanta. Her book, Silver Rights, won the 1996 Lillian Smith Award for non-fiction and recounts the story of one rural Mississippi family's struggle for education and for civil rights during the 1960's. Curry's papers include materials relating to her Civil Rights activities, personal papers, and printed material.

The collection consists of correspondence, diaries, clippings and photographs.

The collection includes correspondence, photographs, biographical information, speeches, and writings including typescripts of his book Doctors and Dogs Don’t Count. The collection also includes materials relating to Albert Schweitzer, the Red Cross in Russia, 1919-1920, the Active Voters League of Atlanta, and various medical topics, particularly allergies and professional organizations.

This collection consists of the personal papers of Pearlie Craft Dove, educator and Cluster Coordinator for The Atlanta Project which was a community-based project to improve neighborhood schools. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, her vita, speeches, writings, oral history interviews, black history calendars and records relating to The Atlanta Project. The materials relating to The Atlanta Project (1992-1996) consist of minutes, newsletters, proposals, strategic plans, reports, and information on programs and projects sponsored by the project. Also, the collection contains a videotape from the Washington Cluster of The Atlanta Project.

Dunbar published five books on social welfare, minorities, and liberalism. The collection includes professional and personal correspondence, lectures, articles, speeches, book reviews, audio recordings of interviews and speeches, typescripts of books, holographs, as well as thirteen issues of "New South," a Southern Regional Council publication.

The collection includes correspondence, estate papers, scrapbooks and memorabilia relating to his military career and his memberships in various Atlanta civic and social clubs. Some papers of his wife, Harriet, are also included.

Alice Roberta Parks Ellison was a resident of Atlanta, Georgia, in the West End district, during the first half of the twentieth century. The papers consist of material collected by Ellison, mostly documenting her participation in African American social and religious organizations in Atlanta, Georgia. They include scrapbooks, photographs, a small amount of correspondence, church bulletins, and programs from events in Atlanta, Georgia. They include scrapbooks, photographs, a small amount of correspondence, church bulletins, and programs from events in Atlanta, Georgia. The scrapbooks, programs, and bulletins form the bulk of the collection. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings and invitations, programs, and other printed material from and about the many African American social and religious organizations in Atlanta, Georgia, from 1935 to 1960. Programs and bulletins in the collection include the Shiloh Baptist Church, Atlanta Negro Music Club, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, American Woodmen, the Atlanta Public Schools, Morris Brown College, and a number of local clubs such as the Hi Hi Social Club and the Smart Set Club. There is also a small amount of personal correspondence and photographs, mostly unidentified.

The collection includes a scrapbook containing newspaper clippings, magazine articles, and other material relating to DeKalb County between 1960 and 1964. The clippings concern government, history, planning and zoning, businesses, community services, public safety, construction, public works, finances, education, industry and advertising.

Her papers include correspondence (both business and family), cards, clippings, pictures, mementoes, printed materials, and scrapbooks.

She was also involved in local politics. The collection includes correspondence, printed materials, audiocassettes and videocassettes, speeches and reports.

The collection includes correspondence, literary manuscripts, articles, speeches, clippings, printed material, and scrapbook relating to Gosnell's career, particularly the Institute of Citizenship, the publication of his books, his Wofford College associations, the establishment of a book fund in his name in the Emory Library, and to his political interests, especially his fight against the county unit system.

The collection consists of legal documents from the files of Cleburne E. Gregory pertaining to Georgia court cases regarding the 1946 two governor controversy and the legality of the county unit system from1946-1947. Includes briefs and research notes prepared by attorneys involved in the cases, reports of fees and expenses, affidavits, general correspondence, and masterfiles of all papers submitted to the courts.

In 1964, Griffin worked as deputy director of the U.S. Department of Justice, Community Relations Service. As deputy director, he helped mediate conflicts in Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Between 1965 and 1978, Griffin served as the director of the Southern Education Foundation, a foundation dedicated to equal educational opportunities for African Americans in the American South. This collection consists of the personal papers of John A. Griffin. It includes correspondence, reports, audiovisual items, and other material documenting Griffin's work with the Southern Regional Council and the Southern Education Foundation as well as his career as an arbitrator.

Materials in the collection relate to Be Haas's career and include correspondence, clippings, photographs, and printed materials.

ames attended Vanderbilt Univeristy School of Law where she received her J.D. in 1961. After graduating, she worked with Fisher and Phillips in Atlanta on labor-management relations. She left the firm in 1968 ans the following year began volunteer work for the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, a Ford Foundation project that worked to provent confrontations between Civil Rights demonstrators and police. She openedher own firm in 1971. Hames actively engaged cases involving abortion rights, women's rights, school desegregation, employment discrimination, worker's compensation, personal injury, social security, domestic relations, criminal defense, medical malpractice, defense, educational rights for gifted and disabled children, and general civil litigation.
The papers consist of subject files and legal case files. The subject files contain extensive research on legal issues linked to Margie Pitts Hames's major cases, information on her professional life, personal information, and material from her unsuccessful campaign for Georgia Supreme Court Justice in 1982. The series also contains material from Cynthia McKinney's campaign for the House of Representatives in 1992-1993, miscellaneous correspondence, and many materials dealing with the American Civil Liberties Union. The case files include primarily legal documents, depositions, transcripts, correspondence, notes, and evidence. The files provide much information on Equal Employment Opportunity Commission cases, abortion clinics, civil rights in Atlanta, and family law.

The collection includes personal papers and organizational records spanning the work of Atlanta 2000 and Hanie’s association with the organization from1973-1979.

This collection covers the years Harding was with Mennonite House, Spelman College, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Documentation Project, and the Institute of the Black World. The collection includes correspondence and a number of black-published periodicals.

He managed George Busbee's gubernatorial campaigns in 1974 and 1978, sponsored legislation creating MARTA, and was instrumental in the founding of the Fernbank Science Center. He was the great-grandson of author Joel Chandler Harris. The collection includes correspondence, printed material, reports, and subject files related to Harris' career, primarily in the Georgia legislature.

The collection contains materials relating to race relations and the early civil rights movement in Atlanta.

Among his many administrative positions, he was a trustee of Emory College and of Grady Hospital, a president and organizer of three banking associations, and vice president and director of the Cotton States International Exposition (1895).
The collection contains clippings, speeches, and photocopies of letters relating to the activities of William Arnold Hemphill. Biographical material is both typed and photocopied.

He served as a Georgia legislator 1885-1891 (Speaker 1891), 1900-1906. He was chairman of three national commissions, a trustee of University of Georgia (1896-1927); wrote History of Georgia (1926) and helped the Constitution win the 1931 Pulitzer Prize by exposing Atlanta city graft.
Materials relate to Howell's life, career, and travels and to the Howell family; scrapbooks contain clippings, postcards, and obituaries which are of Howell, his father Evan, his mother Julia, his children Rosalie and Hugh M. Comer Howell.

While it did not overtly identify the business elite of Atlanta, it was based on them. Hunter wrote other books and articles and taught at several universities. The collection includes correspondence, writings (both published and unpublished), notes, source materials, speeches, lectures and working papers.

He and his wife, Muriel Ann Mattson Lokey, continue to reside in Atlanta. The collection consists of correspondence, typescript drafts of Lokey's book, The Low Key Life of Ham Lokey, (Athens, Ga.: Agee Publishers, 1991), speeches and other writings.

He was a member of the Georgia State Legislature (1951-1952, 1955-1964) and represented Georgia in the U.S. House of Representatives (1965-1967). He later practiced law in Decatur, Georgia. The correspondence and other records focus on the passage of the Traffic Safety Act of 1966, which passed inspite of opposition from the White House, and which established the National Traffic Safety Agency.

The collection consists of family and general correspondence, committee records and correspondence, writings, financial papers and subject files, photographs, scrapbooks, memorabilia, and audiovisual materials. Letters include correspondence with persons involved in the Civil Rights Movement. Topics covered in the subject files include race relations and integration; local, state and national politics, 1948-1968; education and the public schools in the South and Atlanta; the church and the race issue; the Ku Klux Klan and Columbians in Georgia in the 1930s and early 1940s. The collection also includes information on organizations such as the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, the Southern Regional Council, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, and segregationist organizations.

Her papers include correspondence, reports, printed materials and subject files.

He also served as vice-president of the the Atlanta Historical Society, as a member of the Housing Resources Executive Committee for the Atlanta Housing Authority, and as an organizer and member of the Georgia World Congress Ad Hoc Committee. The collection includes correspondence, reports, manuscripts, speeches, and diaries. Also includes photographs of public housing and urban redevelopment projects in the United States (especially those in Atlanta), Europe, and the Third World from 1934 to 1952. A significant amount of material about Atlanta is included.

Notable in the correspondence are letters from the King family, including Martin Luther King, Jr. The printed material, which consists of mostly newspaper clippings, documents education, segregation and the Civil Rights Movement among others. Also in the collection are a small number of photographs, Sara Mitchell Parsons's diaries from 1964 and 1970 and a scrapbook from her 1961 campaign for election to Atlanta Board of Education.

The collection includes files from Paschall's tenure as executive director of the GACHR (1961-1967), and from the Community Relations Commission (1967-1968). The collection includes correspondence, minutes, inter-office memoranda, reports, press releases, and clippings as well as materials relating to the League of Women Voters, National Organization for Women, and other organizations.

The collection includes correspondence, reports, clippings, printed material and collected data which document Pauley's work in the areas of school desegregation, Civil Rights and poverty.

In addition to her journalistic endeavors, Pendergrast worked for Planned Parenthood Atlanta, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and Atlantans for Peace. The collection consists of correspondence, mainly with prominent political and media figures, and photocopies of Mrs. Pendergrast's scrapbooks.

He was involved in many political, social, civic and professional organizations, including the Georgia Commission on Interracial Cooperation, the Committee for Georgia of the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, and the Southern Regional Council. The collection consists mainly of correspondence dealing with Rainey's organizational activities.

They were a large, active family whose interests ranged from woman suffrage to politics to socialism. The collection contains letters, journals, writings, photographs, financial and legal records, clippings, printed materials and memorabilia. Also includes papers of Eleonore Raoul, suffrage leader and civic worker.

He started working at Rich's in 1924 and he served as chairman of the Board from 1961 until 1972. His papers include material related to race relations in Atlanta and how the civil rights movement affected polices at Rich's. For example, the company's employee magazines reflect changing societal attitudes about segregation and race relations in the workplace. There are also materials relating to sit-ins and other protests from 1958-1961.

The Sibley Commission sought a way to keep Georgia's public schools open after the U.S. Supreme Court's Brown v. Board of Education decision. The collection includes Sibley's personal and professional files, including correspondence, speeches, legal and financial records, photos, and printed items.

In 1965 he became director of the Southern Student Human Relations Project, U.S. National Student Association. The collection consists of pamphlets, newspaper clippings, news bulletins, periodicals, and handbills related to the anti-war and civil rights movements as well as the war of poverty.

The collection includes materials relating to his service as Executive Secretary to Mayor Asa Candler.

She was also active in the Georgia Interracial Committee, Atlanta Urban League, Georgia Conference on Social Work, the Fellowship of the Concerned, and President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights. The collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, biographical information, copies of records of the Committee on Civil Rights, and a scrapbook and record books for the Women's Missionary Society of the Methodist Church.

The collection includes correspondence, minutes, subject files, reports, financial records, press releases, clippings, photographs and other items documenting Wilkins' roles in various organizations.

The collection includes some correspondence, clippings, awards, photographs, and other memorabilia documenting Woodruff's nursing career and her interest in nursing. It also contains materials regarding Emory University's Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing.

Woodruff (1889-1985) was a primary benefactor of Emory University. In 1912, he joined his father's business, Atlantic Ice and Coal Company, serving as the purchasing agent until he joined the White Motor Company. At White Motor, he ascended to vice-president and general manager and when White died in 1929, Woodruff became president of the company. In the meantime his father purchased the Coca-Cola Company in 1919. Woodruff left White Motor in 1923 and served as president of Coca-Cola from 1923-1939 and 1945-1946. He then served in other capacities including the Board of Directors until 1984. As a philanthropist, Woodruff gave to many causes including parks, the arts in Atlanta, universities and colleges, and organizations. He was also an avid sportsman and owned a ranch, TE, in Cody, Wyoming and a plantation, Ichauway, located in South Georgia. The papers include personal and business correspondence; personal files; photographs and photograph albums; scrapbooks; audio-visual materials; certificates; honors, awards, plaques, and commemorative items; special occasion files; architectural drawings, blueprints, and maps; date and appointment books, genealogical material; files relating to legal matters handled by King & Spalding; memorabilia; printed materials; personal business and financial files; and papers of Ernest Woodruff, Henry Woodruff, and Nell Hodgson Woodruff. The collection documents the activities of Robert W. Woodruff including his involvement with White Motor Company and the Coca-Cola Company, his philanthropic endeavors, and his personal pursuits including his Baker County (Ga.) plantation, Ichauway and the TE Ranch in Cody (Wym.)
Related collections in MARBL: Carolyn Atkins papers, Sanford Atwood papers, Asa Griggs Candler papers, Coca-Cola collection, Rose Davis papers, Richard C. Gresham papers, William Hartsfield papers, Boisfeuillet Jones papers, Bobby Jones papers, Ralph McGill papers, and Nell Hodgson Woodruff papers.
Related materials located in other repositories: Coca-Cola Company Archives, Atlanta, Georgia.

Woodward (1874-1960) graduated from Emory College (1900); taught in south Georgia; went to Texas as a Methodist minister; attended the University of Chicago (M.A. 1916, B.D. 1917); and taught sociology at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, until 1924 when he became Dean of Men at Emory University. He helped the state of Georgia set up the State Department of Welfare (1928), and served on the boards of the Family Welfare Society and the Georgia Conference of Social Workers for which he received an honorary Phi Beta Kappa Key from the Emory Chapter and an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree from Birmingham Southern College (1932). His papers consist of clippings, certificates, correspondence, files, reports, programs, medals, and photographs. A bound volume contains letters of appreciation written by friends, colleagues, and former students upon Woodward's retirement. Other letters are to Woodward from Warren A. Candler (1911), Lucian Lamar Knight (1899), and to Margaret and John Ladson from Woodward (1946-1960). Subject files include reports and printed materials relating to Woodward's professional activities including the Atlanta League of Women Voters (1920-1932), the Georgia Conference of Social Work (1929-1940), and the Georgia Department of Public Welfare (1928-1934). Commencement and banquet programs are from Emory College; certificates are Woodward's deacon (1903) and elder (1905) certificates; photographs depict Woodward's life at Emory University.