Modern Politics

This collection documents his career, particularly his work on human and civil rights. It includes materials about President Lyndon Baines Johnson's 1966 White House Conference "To Fulfill These Rights," which discussed the way to translate racial equality into economic, housing, and education issues as well as material related to Abram's involvment with the United Nation's Subcommission on the Prevention of Discrimination and Protection of Minorities. Restriction: Portions of the collection are restricted and cannot be used without permission of the donor.

The strength of the collection resides in the 1970s when the Hollywood studios attempted to reach out to African American audiences with the controversial "Blaxploitation" genre.

The collection consists of the papers of Marvin S. Arrington from 1980-2004. The papers include writings and speeches delivered by Marvin Arrington, writings about Marvin Arrington, materials relating to Arrington's role as president of the Atlanta City Council, correspondence, photographs, audio-visual material and collected material. Writings and speeches by and about Marvin Arrington discuss issues about the Atlanta City Council, Georgia and Atlanta politics, minority education, race relations in Atlanta, and minority lawyers.

The collection consists of the papers of Jean B. Bergmark from 1982-2005. The papers include material related to the research, writing, and publication of Grace Towns Hamilton and the Politics of Social Change, such as correspondence, publicity material, reviews and photographs. The correspondence is primarily between Bergmark and her co-author, Lorraine Nelson Spitzer, but also includes other correspondence related to the research and publication of the book. The biography was published by the University of Georgia Press in 1997 and commended in a resolution of the Georgia General Assembly in 1998. The photographs depict the authors at several book tour and signing events during these years. The collection also includes material from the "Women and the Constitution: A Bicentennial Perspective" symposium, which Bergmark helped to plan, including correspondence, program material, printed material, and the transcript of a speech by United States Supreme Court Justice, Sandra Day O'Connor.

The Camille Billops and James Hatch Archives at Emory University consists of materials relating to African American culture and art. The collection includes a large selection of published and unpublished play scripts written mostly by African American playwrights. Of particular interest are the oral history interviews conducted by Billops and Hatch for inclusion in Artist and Influence; as well as additional oral history interviews relate to the publication of Jim Hatch's Sorrow Is the Only Faithful One: The Life of Owen Dodson. The collected papers series contains materials relating to Langston Hughes, Paul Robeson, Glenngo A. King, and John S. Griffin. The printed ephemera contain posters, postcards, and calendars. There are also materials relating to African American theater including records of the Karamu Theater (Cleveland, Ohio) and writings and printed material relating to dance. The photograph series contains images of African Americans in movies and plays; as well as individual publicity shots of African American actors and images of African American singers and bands.

The Civil Rights materials in the collection include newsletters, leaflets, and brochures from organizations like the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), and Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).

Elaine Brown is an African American activist and past leader of the Black Panther Party. The papers include correspondence, video recordings, printed material, and manuscripts of her writings. The papers primarily concern Brown's writings and activism during the 1990s and contain almost no information concerning her involvement with the Black Panther Party apart from brief recollections in her correspondence.

For the first decade he was at the paper, Churchwell typed his stories at home and dropped them off to his editor each day. He did not have a desk in the newsroom because the Banner was segregated just like the rest of Nashville and the South. Churchwell's pioneering status earned him the nickname, "the Jackie Robinson of Journalism." Although Churchwell covered the Civil Rights Movement during the 1960s, his editors rarely printed the stories. Churchwell won awards for his education reporting in the 1970s and ended his career at the Banner as a columnist. The papers include writings by Churchwell including newspaper columns and articles, speeches, and an incomplete copy of his autobiography, What's That Nigger's Name?

The collection includes minutes, reports, correspondence, administrative, and subject files. These materials relate to the Council's work on social concerns such as poverty, drug abuse, daycare, recreation, employment, housing, and aging in the Atlanta area.

When his political career failed to take off, Craig returned to the Klan in the 1970s. The collection contains Klan broadsides, brochures, certificates, press releases, membership cards, meeting minutes, and correspondence.

From 1964-1975, she was Southern Field Representative of the American Friends Service Committee. In 1975, she became Director of the Office of Human Services for the City of Atlanta. Her book, Silver Rights, won the 1996 Lillian Smith Award for non-fiction and recounts the story of one rural Mississippi family's struggle for education and for civil rights during the 1960's. Curry's papers include materials relating to her Civil Rights activities, personal papers, and printed material.

This artificially created collection includes printed material and unpublished writings. The bulk of the collection consists of fliers, newsletters, and other printed material created by committees such as the National United Committee to Free Angela Davis organized to advocate for Davis following her arrest in 1970. The printed material also includes newspaper and magazine articles about Davis and campaign material related to her run for Vice President in 1980 and 1984. The unpublished writings in this collection include speeches by Davis to the National Alliance Against Racist and Political Oppression.

The collection contains material collected by journalist, poet, playwright, and novelist Thulani Davis from 1967-1997, including correspondence, subject files, writings, photographs, and printed material. Of particular interest are a number of fliers and posters documenting performances, exhibits, lectures, and other events related to African American history and culture in New York City. The collection also includes recordings of interviews Davis conducted with Jesse Jackson during his presidential campaign in 1987-1988, and other individuals including Marion Barry, Andrew Young, Paul Carter Harrison, Roger Wilkins, Ron Walters, Tom Cavenaugh, Kenny Cockerel, and Coleman Young.

Derby worked principally in Mississippi and she was a co-founder of the Free Southern Theater. The collection includes correspondence, printed material, and photographs.

This collection consists of the personal papers of Pearlie Craft Dove, educator and Cluster Coordinator for The Atlanta Project which was a community-based project to improve neighborhood schools. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, her vita, speeches, writings, oral history interviews, black history calendars and records relating to The Atlanta Project. The materials relating to The Atlanta Project (1992-1996) consist of minutes, newsletters, proposals, strategic plans, reports, and information on programs and projects sponsored by the project. Also, the collection contains a videotape from the Washington Cluster of The Atlanta Project.

Frady began his writing career in 1966 as a journalist, working in Atlanta and Los Angeles bureaus of Newsweek. He later wrote for the Saturday Evening Post, Harper's, and Life magazines. In 1969 Frady published Wallace, a biography of the Alabama governor and presidential candidate. In the late 1970s, Frady moved to television journalism, and was chief writer and host of Closeup from 1979-1986. Frady wrote several more biographies, including Billy Graham: A Parable of American Righteousness (1979), Jesse: The Life and Pilgrimage of Jesse Jackson (1996), and Martin Luther King, Jr. (2002). He was working on a biography of Fidel Castro when he died on March 9, 2004 in Greenville, South Carolina. The collection consists of the papers of Marshall Frady from 1950-2004, including correspondence, writings, research files, audiovisual materials, and printed material. Writings include notes and drafts of nearly all of his published works, in addition to drafts of several unpublished articles, books, and screenplays.

In 1964, Griffin worked as deputy director of the U.S. Department of Justice, Community Relations Service. As deputy director, he helped mediate conflicts in Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Between 1965 and 1978, Griffin served as the director of the Southern Education Foundation, a foundation dedicated to equal educational opportunities for African Americans in the American South. This collection consists of the personal papers of John A. Griffin. It includes correspondence, reports, audiovisual items, and other material documenting Griffin's work with the Southern Regional Council and the Southern Education Foundation as well as his career as an arbitrator.

ames attended Vanderbilt Univeristy School of Law where she received her J.D. in 1961. After graduating, she worked with Fisher and Phillips in Atlanta on labor-management relations. She left the firm in 1968 ans the following year began volunteer work for the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, a Ford Foundation project that worked to provent confrontations between Civil Rights demonstrators and police. She openedher own firm in 1971. Hames actively engaged cases involving abortion rights, women's rights, school desegregation, employment discrimination, worker's compensation, personal injury, social security, domestic relations, criminal defense, medical malpractice, defense, educational rights for gifted and disabled children, and general civil litigation.
The papers consist of subject files and legal case files. The subject files contain extensive research on legal issues linked to Margie Pitts Hames's major cases, information on her professional life, personal information, and material from her unsuccessful campaign for Georgia Supreme Court Justice in 1982. The series also contains material from Cynthia McKinney's campaign for the House of Representatives in 1992-1993, miscellaneous correspondence, and many materials dealing with the American Civil Liberties Union. The case files include primarily legal documents, depositions, transcripts, correspondence, notes, and evidence. The files provide much information on Equal Employment Opportunity Commission cases, abortion clinics, civil rights in Atlanta, and family law.

Herbers joined The New York Times in 1964 and worked there until his retirement in 1987. The collection consists of materials from Herbers' years at The New York Times Washington Bureau. It includes material about the civil rights movement and the Nixon presidency.

The collection includes files from Paschall's tenure as executive director of the GACHR (1961-1967), and from the Community Relations Commission (1967-1968). The collection includes correspondence, minutes, inter-office memoranda, reports, press releases, and clippings as well as materials relating to the League of Women Voters, National Organization for Women, and other organizations.

The collection includes correspondence concerning the film on the Negro in American life to have been made in the Soviet Union in 1932, and records of the Sojourners for Truth and Justice, a national black women's organization co-founded with Beah Richards. Emory also holds the personal library of Louise Thompson Patterson.

The collection includes correspondence, reports, clippings, printed material and collected data which document Pauley's work in the areas of school desegregation, Civil Rights and poverty.

In addition to her journalistic endeavors, Pendergrast worked for Planned Parenthood Atlanta, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and Atlantans for Peace. The collection consists of correspondence, mainly with prominent political and media figures, and photocopies of Mrs. Pendergrast's scrapbooks.

Both of these families produced future mayors of Atlanta: Ivan Allen, Jr., who was the only southern politician to go to Washington, D.C. to speak in favor of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, and Maynard H. Jackson, the first African American mayor of a Southern city. This collection consists of materials relating to Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn: A Saga of Race and Family. It includes interviews, interview transcripts, research materials, notebooks and audio materials relating to the history of the Allen and Dobbs families as well as the history of modern Atlanta. Of particular interest are the interviews and interview transcripts, which recount the racial, political, economic and social life of 20th century Atlanta.

Reverdy C. Ransom, 48th Bishop of the African Methodist Episcopal Church from 1924-1952, served as a pastor in numerous AME congregations across Pennsylvania, Ohio, New York, and Illinois. He also served as an editor of the AME Church Review and chairman of the Board of Trustees of Wilberforce University from 1932-1952. The collection contains printed minutes and conference material related to the African Methodist Episcopal Church, particularly in Ohio and New England, reports and minutes from Wilberforce University, and a small amount of correspondence, photographs, and collected material.

Material in the collection documents the nonviolent direct action initiatives of the organization, including boycotts, marches, rallies, protests, hearings, and other programs designed to secure and protect civil rights in America. The records reflect not only the day to day administration of the organization, but also the planning and management of special programming and events, and the involvement of individual leaders in thw wider religious, political, and civil rights communities.
Materials reveal SCLC's major activities from the 1970s through the 2000s, including publishing and public relations; national conventions; interactions with local chapters and membership; engagement of youth in the Civil Rights Movement; various marches and rallies throughout America; and major programs such as the Citizenship Education Program, Poor People's Campaign, Operation Breadbasket, the Ministers Leadership Training Program, the Alabama Tri-County Project, the Crisis in Health Care for Black and Poor Americans hearings, the Wings of Hope Anti-Drug Programs, and the Stop the Killing, End the Violence campaign. The records of the "Martin Luther King Speaks" radio program feature transcripts of speeches and interviews with major figures of the Civil Rights Movement, Women's Movement, Student Movement, and artistic community.
The records of the Southern Christian Leadership Foundation (SCLF), a separate nonprofit organization founded in 1966 to raise money for SCLC, are also included in the collection. In conjunction with the SCLC's own financial records, they reveal much about the organization's fiscal life, including both donations to SCLC and SCLF's own charitable work.

While other civil rights documentaries concentrate on national leaders and national organizations, "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" focuses on "the essential local character of the places and people who collectively became the Movement." In order to capture the undocumented side of the movement, the producers conducted over a hundred of original interviews with civil rights activists and combed through archives all across the country for oral histories and other materials. "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" aired on Public Radio International (PRI) affiliates across the country in 1997, and it won a prestigious George Foster Peabody Award the same year.
The "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" program files consist of interview transcripts, audiovisual materials, scripts, program research files, and production files. The largest part of the collection is made up of materials related to the interviews, including tapes and transcripts of interviews conducted by the SRC as well as transcripts and tapes from other archival repositories. The program research files consist of inventories of archival collections, correspondence with archival repositories as well as historical materials, including biographical sketches, chronologies, notes, newspaper clippings, articles, excerpts from books, and guides for each city. The production files relate to the production and administration of documentary. Of particular interest in this series are the comments from listeners about the documentary as well as the station carriage lists, which list the stations that carried "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" in the United States.

Until its division in 1981, the "old" 5th Circuit had jurisdiction over the six states in the South. The 5th Circuit served as the federal appellate court one level below the Supreme Court, and it comprised the country's largest and busiest Constitutional court during the civil rights movements. The Tuttle judicial papers include correspondence, docket books, records relating to court administration, case files and opinions, and a small number of personal papers. The majority of the case files begin in 1965-1966. However, there are some case files from earlier civil rights cases such as Meredith v. Fair and Armstrong et al. v. Board of Education of the City of Birmingham.