Modern Politics

The Camille Billops and James Hatch Archives at Emory University consists of materials relating to African American culture and art. The collection includes a large selection of published and unpublished play scripts written mostly by African American playwrights. Of particular interest are the oral history interviews conducted by Billops and Hatch for inclusion in Artist and Influence; as well as additional oral history interviews relate to the publication of Jim Hatch's Sorrow Is the Only Faithful One: The Life of Owen Dodson. The collected papers series contains materials relating to Langston Hughes, Paul Robeson, Glenngo A. King, and John S. Griffin. The printed ephemera contain posters, postcards, and calendars. There are also materials relating to African American theater including records of the Karamu Theater (Cleveland, Ohio) and writings and printed material relating to dance. The photograph series contains images of African Americans in movies and plays; as well as individual publicity shots of African American actors and images of African American singers and bands.

Born in Anniston, AL, he migrated to Oakland with his family in 1911. His wife Evelyn (1889-1972) was born in San Francisco. The couple married in 1929 and lived in Berkeley throughout their married life. The collection includes books, periodicals, pamphlets, broadsides, and programs documenting Matt Crawford's involvement in the CIO Minority Commission; Negro Commission/Communist Party USA; National Negro Congress; Civil Rights Congress, International Labor Defense, National Negro Labor Council, and other political groups. It also contains extensive correspondence with intimate friends Langston Hughes, Louise Thompson Patterson, and William L. Patterson. A list of books originally found in the Crawford family library is available.

Materials in this collection include an extensive collection of African-American newspapers and periodicals, pamphlets, posters, reports on left wing organizations, and materials on African-American publishers. There are also 2,000 ephemeral pieces related to political activism, radicalism, and bookstore promotions.
Access titles via Emory’s online catalog EUCLID at http://marbl.library.emory.edu/. On the opening search screen, select browse, enter “Crawford, William H.” and click on author. From the browse list, select “Crawford, William H. former owner” to retrieve a list of titles cataloged to date. Please note that this collection is not fully processed and cataloged.

His papers contain files on segregation and the materials also detail efforts to maintain segregation in public schools in Georgia.

The collection consists of the research files of Theodore Draper from 1919 to 1990. The collection is comprised mostly of subject files and recorded interviews Draper collected during the course of his research on the history of American Communism, primarily those collected for the projected third volume, never completed, covering the period since 1930. The materials in this collection document the history of the American Communist Party, 1930-1945, and, to a lesser extent, American Communism from 1919-1929, as well as the individuals (primarily Earl Browder, General Secretary of the Communist Party, 1930-1945) who were active in party affairs, particularly for the later period.

The papers include Epstein's writings, research, books and other printed materials, much of it pertaining to Marxism, Communism, and related topics. The papers also include photographs, memoirs, and correspondence relating to the publication of his writings and to personal matters, particularly his involvement in activities concerning the welfare of Jews in America.

These materials document Jaffe's career as editor of China Today and Amerasia; his friendship with important figures in American Communist Party; litigation in which Jaffe and others were arrested and charged with conspiracy against the U.S.; and his interest in communism in East Asia, including Japan, Korea, India, and especially China. The papers also include published and unpublished reports (1937-1950) from China by Chinese and western observers, translated copies of early speeches and works of Mao Tse-tung, notebooks from Jaffe's interviews with Mao, Chou En-lai, and others, at Yenan (1937), and photos taken in China during a trip (1937) by Jaffe and others. Persons represented by correspondence or writings include Koji Ariyoshi, Norman Bethune, Earl Browder, Chi Ch’ao-ting, Hugh Deane, Ruth Fischer, Joseph Freeman, Mark Gayn, Manuel Gomez, Alfred Kohlberg, Owen Lattimore, E. Herbert Norman, Andrew Roth, Agnes Smedley, Edgar Snow, Joseph R. Starobin, Anna Louise Strong, and Eugen Varga.

Special restrictions apply: Greensboro (N.C.) Case Files (Series 3) closed indefinitely to all researchers except donor without express permission of donor. All records related to this case are under court seal. Some restrictions on reproductions also apply.

In the early 1920s he returned to Russia to cover the civil war as a correspondent for American newspapers. In the late 1920s and during the 1930s, Levine became well known as a columnist for the Hearst newspapers. After World War II, he became editor of Plain Talk, an anti-communist monthly. In the early 1950s, Levine was active in forming the American Committee for the Liberation of the Peoples of Russia, organized in Munich, West Germany, with the objective of seeking the overthrow of the Soviet regime. The collection documents Levine's interest in the Russian Revolution; the anti-communist movements in the United States, particularly anti-Soviet and anti-Chinese; the defection of various individuals from the Soviet Union; and the careers and lives of the Romonov Imperial family, Trotsky, Gorky, and Stalin.

The papers contain correspondence, writings, subject files, printed material, photographs and other papers, and the papers of his wife Annie Mae Miller. The correspondence includes incoming and outgoing letters regarding article submissions and academic appointments. Correspondence from civic groups to which he belonged and personal correspondence from family and acquaintances is also included. The writings by Miller include manuscript and typescript copies of article drafts, outlines, poetry, speeches from 1916-1939. Topics of the writings include constitutional law, analysis of the 14th, 15th, and 18th amendments, prohibition, lynching and mob violence, the New Deal, presidential policy analysis, African-Americans and communism, race relations, the Republican Party, African American colleges and universities, and Howard University. Writings by others consist of articles, speeches, and one radio transcript, which discusses James Bland, an African American musician whom Kelly Miller researched. The subject files consist of records from institutions and associations to which Miller belonged and include reports, reviews, and meeting minutes. The subject files also contain records kept by Miller during his tenure as dean at Howard University, such as meeting minutes and reports from the Board of Trustees, the committee on salaries, the alumni association, among others between 1922 and 1935. The printed material series is divided into printed material about Miller, printed material by Miller, and general printed material which he collected. In addition, a set of scrapbooks contains articles by and about Miller. Photographs and other papers include portraits and candid shots of Miller as well as a photo album of Miller with Howard University alumni and family.

The collection includes correspondence concerning the film on the Negro in American life to have been made in the Soviet Union in 1932, and records of the Sojourners for Truth and Justice, a national black women's organization co-founded with Beah Richards. Emory also holds the personal library of Louise Thompson Patterson.

The collection contains the personal and professional papers of sociologist Wilson Record, including correspondence, research files, manuscripts, and printed material. Correspondents include scholars and political leaders involved with issues of race, such as Horace Cayton, Ralph Bunche, C. Eric Lincoln, A. Philip Randolph, Victor Riesel, Roi Ottley and others. The collection provides extensive documentation on the emergence of the Black Studies movement and black and white women's caucuses.