Judicial Clerkships Research

These are the "major hitters" when it comes to researching judges' information online. Remember, you will need your individual login and passwords to the respective subscription databases to access them. Please view the separate tabs for Bloomberg Analytics, Lexis Advance Litigation Profile, and Westlaw Profiler for additional details on how to navigate and conduct a search on a particular judge.

• Bloomberg Law Litigation Analytics. Use the "People" search function for biographical profiles of current state and federal judges, as well as recent news items. Use the “Litigation Analytics” function for current U.S. District Court judges, with profiles and analysis of opinions and orders, frequently-cited opinions, and motion and appeal outcomes.
• Lexis Advance Litigation Profile. Litigation Profile Suite (linked from the Lexis Advance drop-down research menu) includes biographical profiles of federal and state judges, as well as links to opinions, court filings, ruling history, and secondary sources.
• Westlaw Profiler: Profiles of Attorneys & Judges. Includes more than 1,000,000 biographical profiles and reports of law firms, courts, judges, and lawyers from U.S. as well as international jurisdictions. Contains information such as Litigation History, Judicial Reversal, and Expert Challenge.
• TracFed – requires login and password- please ask a librarian for access. Contains judges’ reports and modules, data on federal District Court judges, searchable by nature of suit and other criteria.

For additional information, check out this helpful guide created by Vermont Law School: Vermont Clerkship Guide.  For login information, please contact Rita Sheffey.

Have a question for the Law Library?  Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Reference Desk:*
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
*Closed July 15 - August 9, 2024

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here. 
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services