Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Judicial Clerkships - Researching Judges Workshop - Jan. 30, 2020: U.S. Supreme Court Justices

U.S. Supreme Court Justices

Looking for more information on a member of the United States Supreme Court?  We recommend beginning at the Supreme Court's website: www.supremecourt.gov for all things related to the Supreme Court. 

For biographies of the individual justices, look here: Biographies of Current Justices (official site of the Supreme Court of the United States that contains brief biographies of current members of the Court.)

The MacMillan Law Library also has historical biographical dictionaries and illustrated biographies of U.S. Supreme Court Justices in our print collection:

The Supreme Court Justices: A Biographical Dictionary, 2d ed.
(Available at Law Library Book Stacks, 3rd and 4th Floor KF8744 .H35 2001).
Contains biographies in alphabetical order of all Supreme Court justices from 1789 to 2000, focusing on how their pre-judicial careers may have influenced their judicial tenure. In addition to biographical information, the book also contains a detailed bibliography at the end of each article.

The Supreme Court Justices: Illustrated Biographies 1789-2012, 3d ed.
(Available at Law Library Book Stacks, 3rd and 4th Floor KF8744 .S86 2013).
Contains biographies in chronological order on all Supreme Court justices from 1789 to 2012. Includes information such as reasons for justice’s appointment, the justice's educational background, the major constitutional issues addressed during the justice's tenure, and a brief description of each of the justice's major opinions. A selective bibliography on the history of the Supreme Court and on each of the justices is also included.