Skip to Main Content

Judicial Clerkships Research

Federal Judges

‚ÄčIf you are seeking information on judges within the federal circuit, the following resources can get you started.  Don't forget to also check each federal court's individual website, some of which will contain further information about a particular judge's case rulings.

Almanac of the Federal Judiciary (Wolters Kluwer)
The Almanac of the Federal Judiciary provides balanced, responsible judicial profiles of every federal judge and key bankruptcy judges and magistrate judges based on reliable inside information sourced from interviews with lawyers who have argued cases before the federal judiciary.  Includes: 

  • Each judge's academic and professional background, experience on the bench, noteworthy rulings, and media coverage,
  • Candid, revealing commentary by lawyers, based on first-hand experiences before their local federal judges,
  • Helpful tips for your litigating team in shaping case strategy,
  • Important insights into each judge's style, demeanor, knowledge, and management of courtroom proceedings, and
  • Continuing in-depth research, with semiannual updates.

Court Listener (Free Law Project)
A non-profit website that contains a searchable database with information about thousands of judges from federal and state courts, including their biographical and educational background, judicial and non-judicial positions held, political affiliations, American Bar Association ratings, campaign finance data, and opinions authored.

Federal Court Locator (Villanova Law Library) 
Research guide created by Villanova University, which contains links to federal judiciaries and opinions of federal courts. Some links include judges contact information as well.

History of the Federal Judiciary (Federal Judicial Center)
The Federal Judicial Center provides historical biographical information and professional resumes of federal judges since 1789. Also provides information on other selective judicial topics such as notable records of judicial service and judicial impeachments. Federal Judicial Center main website contains other useful content related to judges.

Judges of the United States, 2d ed. (HeinOnline)
Biographical information on all federal judges from 1789 to 1981. It contains indexes by appointing president and year of appointment.

Biographical Dictionary of the Federal Judiciary 1789-2000 (available in print only)
(Law Library Book Stacks, 4th Floor: KF8700 .A19 B48 2001).  Includes brief biographical sketches of all federal judges from 1789 to 2000. An appendix lists judges by appointing president from Washington to Nixon.

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

For all library questions, please contact us via the following forms:

     Faculty Research Questions?
     Please complete our Faculty
     Request
form.

     Student Research Questions?
     Please complete our Student
     Research Request
Form

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services (May 8, 2023 - July 28, 2023):

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 8, 2023 - July 28, 2023):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: 12 pm - 6pm

Hybrid Reference Desk:

Monday: 1pm - 3pm 
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm
Thursday: 10:30am - 12pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday: Closed 
Sunday: Closed 
 

Virtual Reference Desk:
Monday: Closed 
Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday: 1pm - 3pm
Thursday: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: Closed
Saturday: Closed 
Sunday: Closed
 

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:

Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services