China Data Lab
The China Data Lab has focused on research related to the outbreak in China, but the site has added data from the U.S. and data on global policy measures in response to outbreaks, including various datasets on mobility and social distancing from sources including Google, Apple, and Foursquare. The non-China-related data are not always updated on a regular basis.
Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic
The U.S. Census Bureau has been conducting regular surveys on the economic and social impacts of the pandemic, including data on business formations, conditions for small businesses, personal health, mental health, and modeled estimates of "community resilience." The data are available in the form of tables, larger datasets, and via the Bureau's COVID-19 Data Hub.
COVID-19 Community Mobility Reports
Google's Community Mobility Reports "aim to provide insights into what has changed in response to policies aimed at combating COVID-19. The reports chart movement trends over time by geography, across different categories of places such as retail and recreation, groceries and pharmacies, parks, transit stations, workplaces, and residential." The reports and data are available by country and by state and county for the United States.
COVID-19 Mobility Trends Report
Apple is making available data measuring the "relative volume of directions requests per country/region, sub-region or city compared to a baseline volume on January 13th, 2020." The reports break mobility down by driving, transit, and walking, and the data that make up the reports are available for download.
Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)
The Pew Research Center provides excellent research and analysis into a myriad of topics, including the effects of COVID-19 in terms of public opinion, governments' responses, and economic fall-out. See https://www.pewresearch.org/download-datasets/ for access to survey datasets that the Center makes available - note that Pew often temporarily embargoes datasets before making them public.
COVID-19 Public Opinion Data Support
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research has been adding results and datasets from COVID-19-related surveys to its holdings. Many of the datasets are open to the public. For full access to Roper's data sources, go to Databases at Emory. Access to datasets requires registration with an Emory e-mail address.
COVID-19 Public Opinion Research
The World Association for Public Opinion Research is compiling a list of links to COVID-19-related opinion surveys in different countries. Note that the links are to summary results and not necessary respondent-level datasets. Also note that the summary results will generally be in national languages.
Coronavirus Tweet IDs
"The repository contains an ongoing collection of tweets IDs associated with the novel coronavirus COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2), which commenced on January 28, 2020. We used the Twitter’s search API to gather historical Tweets from the preceding 7 days, leading to the first Tweets in our dataset dating back to January 21, 2020. We leveraged Twitter’s streaming API to follow specified accounts and also collect in real-time tweets that mention specific keywords. To comply with Twitter’s Terms of Service, we are only publicly releasing the Tweet IDs of the collected Tweets."On a related note, the "Resources for Text and Data Mining" guide includes a tab about using Twitter data for research purposes. For additional collections of COVID-19-related tweet IDs, see Documenting the Now's catalog of Twitter datasets.
COVID-19 Twitter Dataset
"The current dataset contains 237M Tweet IDs for Twitter posts that mentioned "COVID" as a keyword or as part of a hashtag (e.g., COVID-19, COVID19) between March and July of 2020." Note the authors' suggestions for combining these data with other collections of tweet IDs to increase the amount of available data.
DFP Covid-19 Response Weekly Tracking Poll
"This is data from weekly tracking polls being conducted in collaboration with Data for Progress to track how Americans are evaluating the government's response to the COVID-19 pandemic and economic crisis. The Data for Progress COVID-19 tracking poll is fielded each week using respondents recruited via Lucid. Each week's survey includes interviews with approximately 900 - 1000 respondents."
Federal Reserve Bank of Dalls Mobility and Engagement Index
"The Dallas Fed Mobility and Engagement Index (MEI) summarizes the information in seven different variables based on geolocation data collected from a large sample of mobile devices to gain insight into the economic impact of the pandemic. The MEI measures the deviation from normal mobility behaviors induced by COVID-19." The index values are relative to a baseline of average mobility across the months of January and February. Data are weekly and are available for states, counties, metropolian areas, and the United States as a whole.
SafeGraph COVID-19 Data Consortium
Societal Experts Action Network (SEAN) COVID-19 Survey Archive
"[T]his open-access archive houses probability-based survey data and reports measuring public attitudes, behavior and experiences related to the pandemic." The surveys are a mix of U.S. and international surveys. The available materials will vary from survey to survey; respondent-level datasets are available in many instances.
Understanding America Study: Understanding Coronavirus in Amerca
"The USC Center for Economic and Social Research's Understanding Coronavirus in America tracking survey is updated daily with the responses of members of our population-representative Understanding America Study." This site provides graphs and aggregated data for responses to questions on topics such as symptoms, knowledge about and perceptions of the virus, personal behaviors, and economic insecurity. See the "Detailed Data" tab at the top for information about how to register for access to microdata from the survey.
University of Maryland COVID-19 Impact Analysis Platform
This project provides visualizations of state- and county-level data for the U.S on a variety of metrics for 4 different categories: Mobility and Social Distancing, COVID and Health, Economic Impact, and Vulnerable Population. The data are a mix of publicly-available data and estimated calculated by the project. See https://data.covid.umd.edu/about/index.html for a complete list of available indicators and for how to request access to the data for those indicators. See "Replication Data for: Quantifying Human Mobility Behavior Changes During the COVID-19 Outbreak in the United States" for a replication dataset making use of some data from this project.