Collier on Bankruptcy: 16th edition at KF1524 .C634. Chapters are arranged by code section or by rule. The library also has earlier sets, including the 15th edition Revised at KF1524 .C633. Collier on Bankruptcy is on Lexis+. An ebook version is available in Lexis Digital Library. Some earlier editions are available in The Making of Modern Law (3rd through 13th editions) and in Hein Online's History of Bankruptcy database (1st through 13th editions).
Norton Bankruptcy Law and Practice: 3d edition, available online via Westlaw. Norton is also arranged by code section. Westlaw has the Norton Dictionary of Bankruptcy Terms as well.
Bankruptcy Service, Lawyers Edition. Available online via Westlaw. Commentary and bankruptcy decisions by code section.
Practitioner Resources and other handbooks, manuals, and treatises:
Westlaw:
Other Treatises:
Fundamentals of Bankruptcy Law by
Seventh edition (2010) available on Hein Online. Analysis with text of relevant code sections, bankruptcy process for practitioners with alerts to issues.
Bankruptcy and the U. S. Supreme Court by
A comprehensive study of bankruptcy cases in the Supreme Court of the United States with detailed case studies based on the Justices' private papers on the most closely divided cases, statistical analysis of variation among the Justices in their votes for and against effective bankruptcy relief, and new information about the appearance in opinions of citations taken from party and amici briefs.
Law of Bankruptcy by
This comprehensive hornbook provides an exhaustive analysis and discussion of every aspect of bankruptcy law, including an overview of bankruptcy; invoking bankruptcy relief (with a very detailed explanation of the means test); the automatic stay; jurisdiction and procedure; property of the estate; trustee's avoiding powers; payment of claims; executory contracts and unexpired leases; exemptions; discharge; reorganization under Chapter 11; debt adjustments under Chapter 13; debt adjustments under Chapter 12; and cross-border cases under Chapter 15. The 2005 BAPCPA amendments and the extensive case law thereunder are explained and critiqued. All legislation through the spring of 2020 is discussed, including the 2019 SBRA and the 2020 CARES Act. All relevant Supreme Court cases through the 2020 Term are discussed in depth.
Strategies for Creditors in Bankruptcy Proceedings by
Strategies for Creditors in Bankruptcy Proceedings helps you answer the question, "What should I do?". Strategies is not a treatise. This book explains how to play on your client's behalf and win in accord with the rules. Each of 12 chapters is devoted to the representation of one of three client types--unsecured creditor, secured creditor, or lessor--under one of three chapters of the bankruptcy code--7, 11, or 13--or in the period before bankruptcy. For a creditor in a particular context, Strategies explains what courses of action should be considered and on what basis to make the decisions. It identifies potential problems and possible solutions. Some of the strategies are proactive, others are reactive. There is also a chapter devoted to representation of an unsecured creditors' committee (see Chapter 11). With annual updates, Strategies for Creditors in Bankruptcy Proceedings provides a unique way to keep abreast of these developments, and strategies for using them to your advantage.
Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal: PDF issues on Hein Online; also available via Westlaw
American Bankruptcy Law Journal (National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges)
ABI Law Review (St. John's University)
ABI Journal: current issues related to bankruptcy. Available on Westlaw, Bloomberg Law, and the ABI website
Norton Annual Survey of Bankruptcy Law: Available online via Westlaw
Commercial Law World (Commercial Law League of America)
Westlaw: Law Reviews & Journals in Bankruptcy>Secondary Sources.
Lexis+: Bankruptcy Law Reviews and Journals
Hein Online's Law Journal Library: Includes a Citation Navigator to find articles by citation. Hein Online's History of Bankruptcy includes scholarly articles on bankruptcy reform legislation and history
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books: Includes legal treatises as well as journal articles. Field searching including by subject, court case, and statute.
Current Index to Legal Periodicals: Find new articles by journal or subject, including bankruptcy.
Emory A-Z Databases: Find journals in Emory databases by subject, including Business, Economics, and Statistics and Demography. Get links to databases with full text journals, including JSTOR, Proquest, and EBSCO journals. You can also search for databases with terms in the database name or description.
Emory eJournals: Find online sources for specific journals by title.
Subscription databases with newsletters for tracking issues in bankruptcy law and related subjects.
Bloomberg Bankruptcy Law Newsletter: Includes cases, new filings, and proposed bills. The Bankruptcy Law Practice Center has a Bloomberg News feed with bankruptcy stories and recent significant filings, and the company information section includes Bankruptcy Rumors and Distressed Company Screener. US Law Week and Supreme Court Today have news on US Supreme Court and significant appellate cases. News items on cases include some dockets and case documents.
American Bankruptcy Institute's Newsroom has sections with news on bankruptcy law, plus the ABI Journal. The ABI Journal includes brief articles with bankruptcy law developments and analysis by experts. Rochelle's Daily Wire covers significant bankruptcy cases in the Circuit Courts and Supreme Court, including potential and current circuit splits. To see password-protected sections of the website, Emory Law students can get updates by email with a discounted student membership. The ABI Journal is also available on Bloomberg Law and Westlaw.
Lexis has a Bankruptcy Practice Area page with Law360 for bankruptcy news stories and Troubled Company Reporter, a daily newsletter of developments in large companies involved in restructuring or that are experiencing financial strains, including companies in Chapter 11. The Business News section includes stories from the Daily Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. Law360 is also available in a separate web version, with a bankruptcy section for news on bankruptcy cases. Articles have attached documents including orders, motions, complaints, and petitions.
Westlaw Practice Area for Bankruptcy includes Westlaw Today News, Bankruptcy Daily Briefing, and Practitioner Insights from Practical Law. Westlaw also has Reuters News and Insight.
Get instructions for Emory access to the online versions of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal using our guides.
Legal blogs can be a good free resource for finding news and developments in bankruptcy law. Most are written by bankruptcy attorneys or law school professors. Search for bankruptcy blogs, or find blog posts by category(including bankruptcy), using Justia Blawgsearch.
Useful blogs for finding bankruptcy and related news include:
Reports from government agencies can give you background on bankruptcy legislation, the courts, government operations, and the economy.
GAO Reports: The GAO investigates federal spending. Find reports and testimony by topic or agency, including on topics like foreclosures, federal spending and debt, and federal employees.
CRS Reports: The Congressional Research Service prepares reports for Congress on legislative topics, including bankruptcy, finance, and economic policy. Find CRS reports in:
Hein Online's Judges and the Judiciary library: Federal Judicial Center publications, legislative histories on organization of the courts, and selected law review articles.
Federal Judicial Center: Reports, studies, and guides on the federal courts. Search filters include bankruptcy as a subject.
Have a question for the Law Library? Reach out to us via one of our question forms:
Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):
Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Reference Desk:*
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
*Closed July 15 - August 9, 2024
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
