Research Guides: Emory Law Archives and Manuscripts Research: Remote Emory Archive Access

Accessing the Archives from Off-Campus

Emory Law Archives Access - In-Person Only

Emory Law Archives: The ELA acquires, preserves, and makes available to researchers materials of permanent historical and research value. At this point, the ELA does not offer digital materials for remote access. Researchers may search the finding aids to learn about the collection and compile a list of resources to examine when visiting the archives in person.

To search only ELA materials, see all Emory Law Archives finding aids here.

For instructions on how to use a finding aid, please read the "Archival Research Skills" tab.

Emory University Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library - Online Access

Emory Rose Library - The Rose Library offers online Web Archives, which include websites produced by Emory's administrative offices, schools, departments, institutes, centers, and programs, as well as its faculty, student, and alumni organizations. With this web archiving initiative, the Emory University Archives seeks to expand on preexisting holdings as well as document previously underrepresented areas and constituencies.

To contact the Rose Library, email their team at rose.library@emory.edu, or visit the services page for more information.

Emory Archive - Database Subscriptions

Emory Libraries subscribes to various archive databases to support your archive research from afar. Please check our selection for the most widely used archive databases from the Emory subscriptions.

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Topically-focused collections of historical documents that support research and study. Materials range across area studies and disciplinary fields.
Collections vary widely by subject and include the following: Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 Federal Response to Radicalism James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848 Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949 Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
A point of entry to worldwide archival holdings. Search for and view archival manuscript collection descriptions, locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Access primary sources for a wide variety of themes and topics. Materials concentrate on English language archival documents from the UK and the U.S.

Emory Law - History

Emory Law Archives

The Emory Law Librarians and Emory Law Archivist created a commemorative Emory Law Centennial guide to get a high-level overview of the history of Emory Law. This guide was created in 2016 specifically for Emory Law’s Centennial celebration and includes a complied history of Emory University School of Law.

MacMillan Law Library

Within the MacMillan Law Library collection, there are compiled histories of Emory University, which you may search for on Emory's Library Search catalog. To start, here is a list of books and articles about the history of Emory University to consider:

BULLOCK, HENRY M., A HISTORY OF EMORY UNIVERSITY (1936).
ENGLISH, THOMAS H., EMORY UNIVERSITY 1915-1965: A SEMICENTENNIAL HISTORY (1966).
HAUK, GARY S., A LEGACY OF HEART AND MIND: EMORY SINCE 1836 (1999).
William B. Turner, The Ultimate Victory of a Productive Life: Ben F. Johnson, Jr., and African Americans at Emory Law School, 1961-72, 58 J. Legal Educ. 563 (2008).
Marc Miller, Georgia’s Historic Law Schools, Part III – Emory: The Creation of a National Law School, 27 Ga. St. B. J. 88 (1990-1991).

Rose Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Book Library

The Rose Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Book Library (part of Woodruff libraries) offers a variety of digital resources, including a searchable web collection and past issues of Emory University's newspaper, the Emory Wheel (1919-2009). This newspaper is searchable and available remotely using an Emory ID and Password. The Rose Library also has a page dedicated to its remote resources.

Emory Archives

Emory Law Archives and Manuscripts
The Emory Law Archives acquires, preserves, and makes available to researchers materials of permanent historical and research value. The archives’ holdings span the 14th through the 21st centuries and support research in many areas of law and policy.
Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, & Rare Book Library collects and connects stories of human experience, promotes access and learning, and offers opportunities for dialogue for all wise hearts who seek knowledge.
Emory Oxford Library Archives
Search detailed descriptions of the archive and manuscript collections of Oxford College and the other Emory Libraries.
Pitts Theology Library Archives & Manuscripts
Located within Special Collections, the holdings include a large selection of Reformation-era manuscripts, including a significant number of books of hours and other illuminated manuscripts.
Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library Historical Collections
The collection contains records, artifacts, and printed material related to the Emory medical schools and health sciences, the history of medicine & nursing, and the history of the health sciences in Georgia and the broader southeastern United States.

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

Have a research question for the library?

Students, please submit your question(s) here: https://library.law.emory.edu/research/student-research.html

Faculty, please submit your question(s) here: https://library.law.emory.edu/research/faculty-research.html

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 6 - April 4):

Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight

Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services