Research Guides: Emory Law Archives and Manuscripts Research: Visiting the Emory Law Archives

Visiting the Archives

Getting Started:

Hours: The Emory Law Archives is open by appointment only Monday through Friday from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM.
Make a Request with the Archivist: If you have a question for the archives, please complete this form to schedule a research appointment.
Arrival: When you arrive at the law library, you will be asked to show a photo ID and sign our register so that we have a record of your visit.

Emory Student - Archive Checklist

Archival Research Checklist for Students

*Complete these steps before making an appointment with the archivist.*

Review the Emory Law Archives (ELA) LibGuide to learn about archival research and the ELA archive.
Read the "Archival Research Skills" tab to learn how to use finding aids to search the ELA archive.
Conduct a search for your topic of interest on ArchivesSpace, the Emory Libraries finding aids database. See all finding aids related to Emory Law’s materials here.
Make a list of archival material you would like to view, including the box number and folder number for each item.
Review the "Visiting the Archives" tab for available hours and archive visiting procedures
Make a request for an appointment with the archivist using the student research consultation form

Archive Room Policy

Archives Room Policies:

Archival materials cannot be checked out. Instead, you may use them at the large table located within the Archives Room.
Only materials directly related to the research project at hand and to note-taking are permitted near archival materials. Permitted items include laptops, tablets, paper, and pencils (no ink pens).
Cases, bags, backpacks, purses, umbrellas, food, or beverages (including water) are not permitted - these personal items must be left with the staff behind the Circulation Desk.
Archival materials may not be removed from the first floor of the law library for any reason. Staff members may be able to scan a limited amount of some materials upon request. Also, you may be able to use a personal camera to take pictures of the materials you are using. Please ask the staff member assisting you about using a personal camera and requesting scanning.

Reprographic Services

Reprographic Services:

Researchers may request reproductions of materials in collections for use in personal research. Emory Law Archives will not scan materials if doing so would violate copyright law or donor restrictions, or if scanning risks damaging the materials. We will only scan items measuring 11x17 inches or less. We also reserve the right to set limits on the amount of scanning we will undertake. There is a photocopy limit of 500 pages per year, per researcher; our year runs from September 1 - August 31. Fees for reproductions are charged to offset the cost of producing the images. We are currently unable to make video or audio recordings of audio/visual materials.

Requests for reprographic services should be made through the Special Collections Request System.

Photocopies Fees

Requests for photocopies: $0.50 per page for manuscripts; $0.75 per page for books.
Additional charge per 100 pages: $5.00.
Price per page increases to $.75/page when more than 200 pages are requested in a six-month period.

Photocopy requests will be sent digitally as PDFs through your Special Collections Request System account. If you would prefer physical photocopies, shipping and handling charges will be assessed: $5.00 (minimum) or actual cost.

Digital Images Fees

Per image fee for medium-resolution digital images (PowerPoint or web quality, 200 dpi): $5.00.
Per image fee for high-resolution digital images (Publication quality, 400 dpi): $10.00.

Emory Libraries Archives

Emory Law Archives and Manuscripts
The Emory Law Archives acquires, preserves, and makes available to researchers materials of permanent historical and research value. The archives’ holdings span the 14th through the 21st centuries and support research in many areas of law and policy.
Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, & Rare Book Library collects and connects stories of human experience, promotes access and learning, and offers opportunities for dialogue for all wise hearts who seek knowledge.
Emory Oxford Library Archives
Search detailed descriptions of the archive and manuscript collections of Oxford College and the other Emory Libraries.
Pitts Theology Library Archives & Manuscripts
Located within Special Collections, the holdings include a large selection of Reformation-era manuscripts, including a significant number of books of hours and other illuminated manuscripts.
Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library Historical Collections
The collection contains records, artifacts, and printed material related to the Emory medical schools and health sciences, the history of medicine & nursing, and the history of the health sciences in Georgia and the broader southeastern United States.

Library Hours

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 12, 2025 - August 18, 2025)*:

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
*Closed May 26, June 19, and July 4, 2025

Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 1pm - 3pm (Virtual only)
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm (Virtual only)
Friday: Closed
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services