Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Emory Law Archives and Manuscripts Research: Introduction

Emory Law Archives COVID-19 Announcement

In response to the COVID-19 virus and in accordance with Emory University Libraries, the Emory Law Archives will be closed to visitors beginning on Wednesday, March 18, 2020. During this period of closure, the ELA will continue to provide limited remote services, as we are able, including responding to research queries and holding research appointments remotely, but reproduction services will be limited and reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

Unprecedented: Pandemic Edition

Unprecedented: Pandemic Edition

In an effort to preserve the Emory Law community’s experiences during 2020, the Emory Law Archive invites you to donate to the community archiving project. The Emory Law Archive is accepting submissions from Emory Law Students, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff related to the COVID-19 Pandemic and their experiences at Emory Law. Share your 2020 experience with the future of Emory Law.

Our first submission topic and date range will be the following:

Emory Law: Reacting to COVID and Transitioning to Remote Learning

February 1, 2020 – May 11, 2020

Be part of Emory Law's history. Preserve your story in the Emory Law Archives.

Submit your story today!

Emory Law Archive

Do You Have A Question for the Law Archives?

If you have a question for the archives, please complete this form to schedule a research appointment. 

Emory Law Archives

The Emory Law Archives acquires, preserves, and makes available to researchers materials of permanent historical and research value. The archives’ holdings span the 14th through the 21st centuries and support research in many areas of law and policy.

Subject areas include:

  • Civil and Human Rights
  • Feminist Jurisprudence
  • History of Emory Law School
  • Law and Religion
  • Transactional Law

The Archives Room is located on the first floor of MacMillan Law Library in room M118. Manuscript and archival collections held include the records of the Feminism and Legal Theory Project and the papers of Martha Albertson Fineman, Harold J. Berman, and Catherine G. Roraback, as well as historical records of Emory Law School

Emory Law Archives Access

Emory Law Archives Access

Emory Law Archives: The Emory Law Archives acquires, preserves, and makes available to researchers materials of permanent historical and research value.

To Search Only Emory Law Materials, click on “Find Manuscripts & Archives” then “See all EmoryFindingAids related to Law materials.”

To Complete an Advanced Search by Keyword, click on Advanced Search, and limit the Repository to either the “Emory University Archives” or “Emory Law Archives, Hugh F. MacMillan Law Library.”

For Instructions on How to Use a Finding Aid, please read the "Searching the Archives" tab. 

Student Archive Research - Checklist

Archival Research Checklist for Students

*Complete these steps before making an appointment with the archivist.*

1. Review the Emory Law Archives (ELA) LibGuide to learn about archival research and the ELA archive. 

2. Read the "Searching the Archives" tab to learn how to use finding aids to search the ELA archive.

3. Conduct a search for your topic of interest on the ELA finding aid website.

4. Make a list of archival material you would like to view, including permanent URL, box number and folder number for each item. 

5. Review the "Visiting the Archives" tab for available hours and archive visiting procedures

6. Make a request for an appointment with the archivist using the student research consultation form

Guide Authorship and Currency

Originally published in April 2020 by Erin Grimes.

Last updated on February 16, 2021 by Erin Grimes.

Subject Guide

Emory Libraries Archives