Skip to main content

Anthropology How To

A guide for undergraduates undertaking an in-depth anthropological research project

Collecting Data

If have not already made significant progress on your literature review, STOP! Start searching the literature and reading as soon as possible. More than one student has neglected their literature review until after collecting data only to learn that they have made a mistake and it is too late to start over. Don't let this happen to you.

This is also a good time to think about how to organize and manage your data. The Research Data Management site offers a comprehensive guide to services and tools available at Emory.

IRB at Emory

If you are conducting research that involves "human subjects" then your project might need to go through the IRB process. The Emory IRB website has several resources to help you complete and submit applications, including tutorials, instructional videos, webinars, help clinics, and more. Here are a few helpful pages for general information about requirements and the review process:

 

Quant/Qual Resources

To find additional texts and resources available through the library, search discoverE or a relevant database.

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS) offers a variety of workshops and expertise related to GIS and mapping, statistical, network and text analysis, multimedia production, and more. Check the ECDS calendar for upcoming workshops. Typical semester offerings include workshops on coding in R, ArcGIS, Network Visualization, and Data Cleaning.

The American Anthropological Association (AAA) links to a variety of tutorials and resources on research design, data collection methods, data analysis, and analysis tools. There are some good resources here, but several of the links are broken or outdated.

Qualitative Methods

This Qualitative Research Guide highlights key methods texts and electronic resources on qualitative methods in general, as well as autoethnography, case study, content analysis, focus groups, interviewing, participant-observation, and mixed methods research. You will also find information on finding qualitative datasets, software and equipment resources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online includes a few articles on qualitative methods. Try these two as a place to start:

The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) maintains a list of conferences workshops and training opportunities in data collection and analysis. Several of the opportunities take place at Emory and many others are online workshops. Some workshops require a fee.

Quantitative Methods

The Institute for Quantitative Theory and Methods (QTM) offers a variety of resources in support of quantitative methods across disciplines. See their webpage for course offerings, events, and other programming. The Resources page highlights quantitative tools, software, and a few tutorials.

Data Resources for SARS-CoV-2

Data resources for SARS-CoV-2 compiled by Dr. Rob O'Reilly. From his description:

"This guide is a compilation of sources for data on Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) and COVID-19. The guide includes links to data on different facets of the virus and the disease it causes: cases, deaths, testing, projections, policy responses, public opinion and reactions, economic consequences, and some tools for working with data in different statistical applications. The focus is on data that are directly about the virus and the disease it causes or have been re-framed to focus on some aspect of their effects. It is something of a work in progress in that we hope to update the guide on a regular basis as we encounter additional data about the virus."

Business databases of particular interest

  • GlobalData Medical Devices - Source of global market research and data on the market devices sector, both pipeline and marketed products; covers manufacturers, suppliers, and distributors. Includes: market and competitive intelligence; strategic planning; deals/M&A; innovation and R&D; marketing, monetization, and more. Special coverage of COVID-19 response. NOTE: May require VPN for remote access.
  • GlobalData: Pharmaceutical - Coverage includes: 1) Sales data for pipeline and marketed drugs, including analyst sales consensus and forecasts; 2) Regulatory Milestones Tracker for drug expires and review designations; 3) Trials; 4) Clinical Investigators; 5) In-depth disease analysis and forecasts for 120+ disease markets; and 6) Analysis of disease populations, annualized forecasts of incidence and/or prevalent cases. Special dossier and coverage of COVID-19 response. NOTE: May require VPN for remote access.